The ArLobby - Risk of Rain

in #risk6 years ago

If you're anything like me, you would consider a different topic to discuss on Steemit, maybe something that will grab more attention, like:

  1. Politics
  2. Industrial development
  3. other non-game topics which are oddly related to roguelikes everytime...

I know, I know, this shouldn't really be happening but I'm still doing it,
Sorry


Risk of Rain, a game I enjoyed as a child and still enjoy as a half-adult. Maybe it was because I really like roguelikes, or maybe it was because it's a wonderful indie game (if anything - I'm probably biased). Whatever the case may be, it's a game I enjoyed primarily because of the co-op experience it provides.

Now before we get started, please do consider supporting the Devs, the game is 75% off for the duration of summer sale:
https://store.steampowered.com/app/248820/Risk_of_Rain/

GamePlay

Risk of Rain provides you with one of the most simple game environments to work with. It's 2D, you have a gun and there are clear, distinct bad guys to kill. In addition to the minimal design, the game offers a set of 12 characters equipped with varying skills and playstyles to keep you entertained.
One of the key features, in my opinion, is the currency you receive while you play. Every time a monster is destroied it drops Moneh which is used to buy items which supplement the character you are playing:

While there is an abundance of items to select, each feels distinct from the other, always fitting a need some character might have. The aim of the developer, in my opinion, was to create a modular system, where everyone can pick items based on their playstyle which also fits the design of their character. Uniquely, all of the above is a simple system to supplement the player and not take away from the core - Co-op.

Playing with Friends

Here is where the game truly shines.

There isn't anything that will hinder your experience for playing alone, many of you probably prefer it, but do note that this game is best played with 1 or more individuals which can provide snacks and drinks.

For me, playing this with my friends was a non-stop circus, it just kept on getting better. Classical to roguelikes, everytime you die = you start from the beginning, so you would think this would ruin the fun, right?

Not quite.

The pacing of the game always made us go back to it, attempting something slightly different, but also maintaining a core strategy. While it might seem like a dull experience, every once and a while we got a new character to play with, allowing for a whole new world to be explored.

Conclusion

Unfortunately, I don't have the time to tell you how great the game actually is and how the designers forgot to implement more interesting maps. All things considered, this game is well worth 1-2 hrs of your time and the tiny price point of £1.74.

Sort:  

@rahov, I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return and possible future votes!

Thank you in advance!

Reading this post makes me remember the dev's new project about making Risk of Rain 3D, which I've forgotten. Have you heard of that?
Anyway, have you joined one of the gaming groups on Steemit? I suggest you do, because this is a good post and it would be better if you can have more viewers, right?
Such as this group: OPG
excited beeping
Well, just a suggestion... :>

Happy to see some activity in the comment section.

Thanks for the info, I didn't know about that group.

I do know about Risk of Rain 2, it got featured in Rock, Paper, Shotgun. Seems to me like it will be an interesting take on roguelikes, especially because most devs in that genre are limited to only 2 dimensions(budget-wise).

I'm sure everyone else who was featured would love to see you in their comments section too! Love'em?

Very long back story. Rant. Feel free to skip

I work in Unity which is a fantastic engine that can go astounding things... and then I see people freaking out about being able to build games that look like mine craft... Ughgh. Just cause the game is fun doesn't mean you have to WANT to make your games look bad just cause THAT game looks bad...

Then I see all the assets being released where the authors are so excited to say their models are only 300 polygons or less and they bucket filled it in Photoshop themselves. This now falls under the heading of "mobile ready"... cause you know, mobile devices have no power at all and anything better than Flappy Bird is a miracle on any modern phone...

Oh and then there is the eternal "Make 'retro' games with my sprite sheet assets" or even tools to turn your proper 3D meshes into voxels and or pixelated art the likes of which would have amazed you to see on an 8bit console.

I have wanted to create something truly spectacular and yet for all the years that I did contract work instead, I just watched the asset store pile up with retro, low poly, mobile ready, Minecraf-esque stuff and it just infuriated me that people who can't or won't even try to do something in 3D when using this powerful 3D engine are now making "retro gaming" and "as bad looking as possible so it can compete with Minecraft" a thing. And that thing is sticking and more and more of those assets are being released daily...

So much so that Unity even built in an entire 2D system into their 3D engine due to demand. Progress backwards is what I see :( Let's all only make Minecraft and Castlevania clones for the next 50 or 80 years... Why not? What ELSE could anyone possibly want to see? Retro is the future of gaming, after all !

I got so fed up looking at content created for the last millennia that I almost never go to the store any more. Being part of the same group of people who do THAT while I am trying to think of something truly innovative and exciting, it just made me totally biased against anything ... well... for lack of a better term "old".

Finally, the point :P

Thanks to my personal hangups I can't bring myself to look at any of the original Legend of Zelda games for instance. Any 2D RPG in the same vein, even with (wait for it...) colour (!). Gasp! :P I know I am wrong in this instance and don't need anyone to point it out for me. I know this...but... I can no longer help it :(

My all time favourite game is a PS1 title that looks absolutely horrible (a cube with what looks like an 8x8 image for a texture to create the hand). I loved BattleToads and when I bought it as part of the Rare Replay product I had to turn off the HD remake and play via the CRT emulator in order to play. I loved Castlevania and Tanks (!) and Elevator Action... So I KNOW very well that games can be fun even if they look terrible... but nevertheless, it is deeply ingrained in me that if it's not in 3D and doesn't use PBR materials at LEAST then I can't give it a second look.

This closes me off to a great many games but my subconscious just won't allow me to like it. So I see this post and I read how much this person loves the game and all I can think to myself is: "I am happy you enjoy this game, mate. I truly am. Me? I will never get to experience it because of my hangups over the graphics. Guess I'll be missing out... :("

So then along comes someone and says "Hey, guess what? I hear this game is getting the letters 3D added to the name" and suddenly I am sitting up straight and paying attention! :D One guy is saying this game is fun without needing graphics and the other is saying "It's getting graphics now!".

Nice! Guess I'll be looking into this after all :)
Thanks for the heads up :)

I've played around in Unity a while ago. During those times I came across so many decent 3D assets there. Most of the assets I found looked perfect for games with isometric view such as RTS and CRPG, and for first/third person view as well if you polish them more. But yeah, once I moved from the 'decent assets' corner to the 'mobile-ready' corner in the asset store, I thought "This is probably why many people think Unity is not a 'spectacular' game engine."

I think I understand your personal hang-ups here. I take it you've tried to accept 2D games before, and still don't like them. And there's nothing wrong with not-liking something, imo. But, the problem would be missing out 2D/pixel-art games that you miiiiight find it awesome. But if you haven't tried it before or want to try to play 2D games again and see if you change your mind, I can name some 2D games with distinctive art-style if you want. But if you don't, as I said earlier, it's fine. Nothing wrong with not liking something.

But don't get too excited for the Risk of Rain 2, because you may still not find it to your liking. And by the way, I don't mind the long reply but, man, this would make a nice post about your view on gaming, you know XD

Last year I got a demo of President of Earth on the WiiU. At first I was hesitant to play it because it was 2D but at least it didn't look too bad so I gave it a shot. The humor in that game was awesome and I ended up buying it.

My wife could not believe that I would take the controller and play till the battery dies then charge and repeat each time I wanted to play. It seems 2D itself is not the problem, "old" looking 2D is the problem. I was surprised myself by how much I liked the game! :D

Let me give you a new definition of the word "irony":
I placed a pre-order for the new Atari VGS 😱

Something more ironic you will never see so I think that can be classified as the new definition lol 🤐 Anyway, I'm derailing this thread now so let me end with this:
I got about half way through President of Earth before I reached a spot in the game where the entire console would simply freeze up. Just my luck, huh? 😱😭😵

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76