Acidyo Roadmap 2018 and thoughts about Steem

in #roadmap5 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone!

Some people have been asking me lately what I think about the Hardfork and what I am working on currently. Unfortunately a lot of the things I'm working on are things I can't really talk about openly cause there is a lot of competition going around, which on its own is a good thing, but I'd like my ideas not to get stolen before they see the light of day. It is great to see the Steem blockchain innovating and new projects popping up constantly even though we might be at the bottom of the bear market currently, its a great sign for the future. As I remember in the past a lot more projects popped up and "announced" themselves when the prices were sky high thinking they will stay the same way forever and slowly but surely died off. Not all but many. That's why its a lot better seeing them popping up now with a brighter future ahead of us and that hopefully the prices can't get much lower than what they currently are. At the same time these projects will create a bigger demand on price and the teams and projects can grow with them. Same thing with SMT's or the so called "little Steems", they will all be a huge factor in demand for SP in my opinion.

All in all I think the hardfork was quite successful, I know it must've been a bit annoying for small stake users to not be able to use the blockchain the way they always could, but I think its a low cost to make life a lot harder for spammers and especially those who kept abusing account creation will now have almost no incentive to want accounts created that only have delegated RC and no free Steem. I am very excited about the near future of this blockchain and I am hoping the next bull run won't be as speculative as the last one, although its hard to stop dumb money or manipulation in the free market - I hope people have learned their lesson to invest in the ones that have actual potential for mass adoption. I believe Steem is on the forefront of that.

To get back to my personal Roadmap; I've been focusing on growing in SP as much as possible without selling my soul completely. There's been times where I've felt I'm being a really crappy curator for increasing my selfvoting while other times I've also felt that I wish I could take back some votes. That's something we can't have much control over really, who we can trust with stake distribution and who proves to only be in it for the short term, they do reveal themselves over time though and I hope the community will remember and reward those that have stuck to Steem and its best interest. I am also looking forward to more newcomers and what they will have to offer to our blockchain and its development and growth. Thankfully we will still have a couple decades of inflation and a high reward pool which will weed out the weak hands over time.

What I am going to focus on for the rest of the year is to bring back OCD at full swing with curation. Many of you may have heard about OCDB which will be announced next week and I believe it will be a big assistance to our project and quality authors that want to grow together with long term holders and those trying to see the big picture of this platform and ecosystem. Without talking too much about it as the announcement is coming soon, I'll skip to the next step.

As you know I'm also in charge with @ausbitbank to take care of our subreddit r/steemit (please subscribe to it if you haven't yet) and thanks to some wonderful Steemians that have been moderating it, it has already become a much nicer place than it was in the past when it mainly consisted of postpromotion. We are hoping to improve this gateway to newcomers and I plan on using most of my discounted accounts I've been claiming for onboarding of people that hear about Steem through that. There is also another awesome tool that has been created that will go hand in hand with it but I'll let the people that created it announce it first before I spill the beans about it here.

Having been a gamer for over two decades I also want to continue supporting that activity on the blockchain through game related content and streaming. I have been checking out vimm.tv lately and it looks really great considering it is still in alpha, I hope it will be the next big streaming platform to enable any Steemians easy access to streaming. I will also be doubling my delegation to @steemgc (discord link) which has grown to 1000 members on their discord to curate gaming related posts and streams and help them continue to develop on some ideas they have going.

Like I said there are also a couple projects I've been working on on the side which hopefully I will be able to announce and release before newyear. I've met a lot of great Steemians this year and I have faith that they will do a great job with these projects even though they don't have any direct funding, it is amazing to see how many are investing their time into Steem in one way or another as they all believe in the success of the platform and blockchain.

With all that's been said, there will hopefully always be some free voting power left to let me curate accounts manually here and there which I've been doing for over two years now and still love to do. If you have any questions regarding this post, feel free to ask but I may not be able to answer to everything in full detail as it may be things that are still a bit under the hood.

Thanks for reading and sticking with the community thus far. For anyone new reading this, don't give up hope if things are difficult at the beginning, most of us have been there and have found their way to becoming more connected with the communities and people active on the platform. :)

Image Source


Sort:  

Looking forward to what is upcoming.

As nonsense as the execution was, HF20 brings with it so many new opportunities to both advance the blockchain and clean a lot of it up. The difference it makes won't really be felt until the delegation system is in place (hopefully) and communities and projects can both onboard and empower users without opening the chain up to more abuse through spam and rape. That is some time away I guess but it will make a large impression on the ecosystem.

Yeah, I am excited about the mix of delegated RC, communities and SMT's. With all of them being added to Steem hopefully in half a year we won't be an underrated blockchain for too long. Let's see how many others that see this coming will feel the same way.

It is always interesting to me to read what the people near the top of the Steemit "food chain" have to say about the future.

I'm still here, sticking to the business of content creation and curation in the hope that — as you suggest — the future will reward those who stuck it out. Even in the short time since HF.20, I've already noticed far fewer "nice post" type comments, and I take that to be a good sign. Earlier today I even ran across a post with 90+ comments, none of which were spam.

Although I'm not a gamer, I'm excited and hopeful about the impact Steemmonsters could have on Steem; it's one of the few things I've seen that bridges Steem and "the outer world" and perhaps a test to see how something that isn't "Steemit, the social site" will far at bringing new people into our ecosystem.

=^..^=

If in principle I consider that the changes do not favor but now I realize that if they do, since there is a little more commitment for those that in reality we are committed to the platform, so that it remains free of spam. I agree with all the changes, it is a long and exhausting race but only those of us who have resistance and believe in a better future at least for me is like that.
Here I am and here I will continue to contribute my grain of sand.

Greetings @acidyo
Regarding the changes recently implemented to the steemit platform, I have heard many complaints and cries, because according to they can not do anything, although it is true that at first it was complicated, because for a few days nothing could be done, at the moment that the platform stabilized, things began to flow again, and particularly, my activity remains the same, and despite being a small fish. I believe that many of the people who still complain are due to the fact that previously they did not make efficient use of their resources, so now they have to become aware of their activity within the platform, and make appropriate use of their resources. I am here and here I will continue betting on Steemit.
I wish you a happy and blessed start to the week.

Give me your secrets. They’re safe with me.

Posted with Kryptiko

Whatever you decide to work on don’t do too much and get overwhelmed man.

I’m excited to see what happens with SMTs and can’t wait to see growth. The new faces will be brought in when price goes up but the current faces include people that are here for the platform. Not the money.

As difficult as the last period has been with all the issues with the HF and all that, there is a resillience here that brings a lot of value to the ecosystem. I hope we can all feel a bit more connected for going through this togheter.

That's awesome about your delegation and @steemgc... there are so many people putting so much incredible effort into creating and running games on the blockchain... and while they have small but while they've created small but super, super engaged communities, they're not really getting the rewards for their efforts... @steemgc helps.

Unfortunately a lot of the things I'm working on are things I can't really talk about openly

You can trust us... we're not like the others 😆

Okay, I'll write it here but don't tell anyone!

I will admit I miss the days when you used to stop by my posts and give them a big upvote, but I think that was because I was a minnow then and now I'm a big old dolphin.

I certainly do hope that you will be playing Fallout 76 when it comes out. I think it'd be really cool if we could develop a big Steemit base full of Steemit users.

I'm looking forward to that game, as well as Cyberpunk 2077! :)

How much SP does an account need to hold to generate discounted account creation tokens.?

Not 100% sure but I think around 2k SP per account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71