The Road to Steem Fest | The Thai Life and what to expect

in #roadtosteemfest5 years ago


When I think of the Thai Life, I think of food mostly

My thoughts are only based on things I read or pictures I see by the way, as I never visited Asia before. I've been a horribly difficult eater myself for as long as I can remember, and it's not until quite recently that I started eating some more noodle dishes. But that's prepared at my home, and I know what goes in there, which makes me more confident to try something. I'm not keen at all on trying out new things when it's a dish that I never ate before, and especially not in a restaurant or even another country (continent in this case lol). I would be afraid I hate it and by not eating it insult some locals. So usually I go for safe bets, if I can identify ingredients that I know and am sure that I will eat. I completely understand where my toddler gets her eating habits from, as I was exactly the same when I was a child. At least I learned to eat some more things over the years .. lol... But if I would end up in Thailand (still a big if because of finances), I would definitely try new things and step out of my comfort zone. Probably it will help when there's another person with me explaining what's in the dish. (HELP needed lol)...


I also think about the beautiful beaches when thinking about Thailand

And I would love to visit them, to experience not the touristic beaches but more the ones where locals go, maybe they have these hidden beaches where you can feel totally zen instead of a huge crowd that fills the complete beach. If I was ever to go diving, I would definitely chose to do so in an area like that, I've never done it, but it's on my bucket list.


I expect the people to be very friendly

That's what I've been reading over and over again when people talk about visiting Thailand.. The locals are super friendly and smile a lot.. which I actually love, because where I live that's not the case. Most people don't have that open and friendly appearance, and it will be very welcome to experience something different for a change. And last but not least, I plan to experience some Thai massages when being there, these kind of things, pampering and not even paying that much compared to here in Budapest will be something I enjoy to the fullest.. I imagine sitting there like this:


But let's not forget one thing: culture shock?

One thing I also always notice when seeing Bangkok on tv or pictures, is the crowded streets.. Full of traffic and people everywhere..

This is one of the things I do not look forward to, because although I'm used to living in a city that's always busy when it comes to tourists and mainly traffic, I think experiencing Bangkok will also be a culture shock at first. I expect (maybe exaggerated due to a possible jetlag?) that I will feel super overwhelmed and stressed out if I was dropped in the middle of the busy streets while just arriving in a totally new continent.. So I plan on getting a taxi that drops me off at the hotel immediately, so I hope to avoid that.. But these are just my expectations, and maybe I'm worried for nothing.. We'll see..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14