My Road to Steemfest: Pulling Off the On-Call Switch'a'Roo!

road2steemfest.jpg

Recently, I had been fortunate enough to be gifted a SteemFest ticket in a recent contest. Seems like a great opportunity to finally meet many of my long-time Steem peeps and also maybe some professional networking.

More importantly, it will be excellent to represent what we all have worked together to build with @steemflagrewards and build relationships that could enable us to do more. There's nothing like establishing good ol' face to face rapport with people I find.

The Situation

I had begun making preparations but something dawned on me that I would later realize may be an obstacle to getting to Bangkok. It just so happens that my job has a rotating on-call duty for after-hours support. You basically are given a phone and other equipment to be available to assist the customer should something come up during off hours.

With that duty, there is always a lingering possibility of having to come in to the office but most of the issues are able to be resolved remotely from the comfort of my home. This means when I end up on call that I will be unable to leave the immediate area.

A quick review of my text messages resulted in a somewhat sinking feeling in my stomach. My on-call was scheduled for the week of November 4th which includes the dates I would be attending SteemFest. That is a bit of a dilemma...

But it's not a deal-breaker!

So, what's the plan?

My plan is to ask the people who have their on-call week adjacent to mine to switch. If there are no takers, I will then offer up a little something extra for doing me a solid. My finances are a bit overextended at the moment due to a recent trip for job training. That being said, thinking I can afford to offer a small "bribe" in the amount of...



...minus $999,899 give or take.

Hopefully, this won't be an issue but I am holding off on pulling the trigger on my flight / hotel accommodations until it is sorted out. I will be pinging my colleagues tomorrow to make it happen. Wish me luck!

The other more minor issue is finally obtaining my passport which is something I have put off for ages. To be on the safe side, plan to schedule an appointment and pay($60 USD) for expedited processing. Turnaround time is about 2 weeks for that. When these two checks are in the box, all that is left is to finalize my flight / hotel, hop on a bird and be on my way.

As for this post, whatever rewards yall are so generous enough to allocate from the reward pool will be used to help me cover these expenses. As I stated, I looked into itinerary and have found a $1400 flight hotel package that seemed like the best bet. My wallet may hurt for a little while but that's a small price to be part of this unique and memorable opportunity that I am sure it will be.

You may event catch a sighting of the elusive dancing dad.

image.png

Thank you @anomadsoul and @blocktrades for sponsoring the #roadtosteemfest initiative. Hopefully, my contribution isn't too late! 😬 Also, kudos to @roelandp for his work in organizing SteemFest.

If for whatever reason I am not able to make it, liquid rewards on this post will go to @steem.dao to fund proposals. Thank you!

Sort:  

Hope you get there mate as it is great to meet the peeps of Steem.

Thanks, gonna work on finalizing the flight in the morning. Looking forward to the good times! 😃

Get your passport sorted like ASAP! Will be great to meet you, wish there were more westerners attending but it's a great chance to forge some links with peeps from the far east. There will be many of those.

Apparently, I have to wait until 21 days prior until scheduling my passport appointment and then I get to drive to Houston.(Doesn't look like they have an office in San Antonio surprisingly)

It's all good as gives me a reason to see my family and friend in the area. I'm gonna be all over the place in late Oct / early November!

Passport appointment? Why do you need one for a mere passport?

Here it's get a form, fill it in, send it to the passport office along with some cash, wait 2 weeks, receive passport in mail.

I think I was able to get you to the corner...lol, check you wallet.

Thank you so much. That's awful kind of you. 😀 Just pinged my coworker yesterday and should know if the switch is a go today!Hopefully good news.

In the scheme of things in this world that bit may not mean much here but there it could be a bit more. Maybe a drink or at least half the price of one...lol. Good Luck.

You post has been manually curated by BDvoter Team! To know more about us please visit our website or join our Discord.

BDvoter Team

Hope that works out.

I guess we’ll hold the fort while you are going through this process.

Oh, and read your messages.

Thanks, Leonis. Without your help, things would have been in a much more precarious place... Well then we are already..

Hopefully, I'll be able to find solid support for the SFR SPS.

Actually, wouldn't be a bad idea to time the SPS dropping while at SteemFest and maybe even do a T-shirt thing for promo. Big brain time! 🧠

Do what you can, don't overexert yourself.

Hi @anthonyadavisii!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.411 which ranks you at #676 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 87 contributions, your post is ranked at #38.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @anthonyadavisii!

You just got a 14.2% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

You have received a @buildawhale manual curation vote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88