Road to Steemfest: Funding my trip, or my life?

in #roadtosteemfest6 years ago

_20180914_111850.JPG

See, the thing is, I don't really need funding for the trip, because I have some money saved in my back pocket. However, I'm looking at things long-term; I need to fund my life. So, while at short-term I have no problems, I don't have any reliable source of income (except potential unemployed benefits from the state, but not right away because I didn't apply to study, I guess I still could during the autumn, to milk the system).

And yeah, I'm living with my parents, because I don't have my shit figured out yet. But only technically, because I'm on my bicycling tour at the moment.

Anyhow, the plan is to live quite modestly and I'm probably going to hitchhike to Krakow as a part of that plan. Also, on my bicycle trip I've been picking mushrooms from the surroundings of my camp site – little knowledge and work can compensate for the lack of money, but not enough to live completely without it. That is where I hope Steem could help at some point, in a few years perhaps – I have long-term in my mind, remember. Hopefully it will work out. If not, well, I can always just live a life in a job while being miserable so, not much to lose.

Long-term thinking is something I've learned and been forced to do on this biking trip; my knee started hurting a while ago so I had to change my technique and grind the hills with smaller gears instead of applying more force.

I am totally clueless, no education has raised my eyebrow (that is why I was talking about "milking the system"). "Attend to school and acquire competence", says one Finnish song. Well, what if the school system doesn't seem enticing for me personally? Or am I not just looking hard enough, perhaps it's just on me. Then of course some relatives put on more pressure with their wishes of me getting an education, which really doesn't help at all. Maybe I should just learn to hunt so I could just live off the land. Though that is probably some real hard work taking a lot of time and effort. At least with mushrooms you really only need to know which ones are edible.

It might seem bit grim for having no clue, but I've never really had personally – people just seem to make into a problem. Things have worked out nonetheless, so I don't really know why should I know where I'll find myself in a year or five.

Now I'm just throwing my thoughts without any kind of structure...

Anyway, I also have two outs where I can potentially win a ticket, the SPL final poker tournament and the The Writers' Block contest, to the latter of which I probably should be trying to finish my story right at this moment, but my writing's going through a deserted period right now – writer's block indeed. There was a time when I thought I'd never experience it again – and probably never would've – but when I "need" to write something... I guess I'm not too good at that. The best things I've produced have happened by a burst of inspiration, at least on the fiction arena. (Didn't you, @tarazkp, have a theory on how inspiration is born?) Probably wouldn't become a good professional writer because of that. Though, never say never, or something like that.

Honestly I feel like the poker tournament is my best bet. I'll try finish my stupid story for the sake of finishing it, but I might have to come up with something really stupid that'll probably go against all the rules of good writing but, who gives a damn when it's basically a free shot? It's already quite stupid one honestly, so how much more stupid can it go anymore?

So, this kind of extremely disorientating write about money, funds, life and stuff. Nothing really makes sense, but they say life can only be understood backwards, so why bother right now?

Sort:  

i know the feeling - what you're talking about here. I'm 19 myself and there are so many things to figure out. And no, the school system doesn't have the answer, although it's a nice fantasy.
Just do what you want, you won't regret it in the end ;)

Good luck with your trip and the contests!

Seems like we're on the same boat then, hope you figure things out too.

Good luck with your trip and the contests!

Usually with contests I consider skill a bigger factor than luck, but with poker it definitely plays a role with individual results 😛

Thank you!

Well I hope you do win that ticket, and that steem does come through for all of us long term

That said, we can't really rely on hope. So you gotta plan and prepare

That said, we can't really rely on hope. So you gotta plan and prepare

You're definitely right. Hope for the best, prepare for the worst.

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.558 which ranks you at #5896 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 4 places in the last three days (old rank 5892).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 499 contributions, your post is ranked at #111.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24