The Road to Steemfest | The Actual RoadsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #roadtosteemfest5 years ago (edited)

Nimetön.png

Even though Steemfest is thousands of kilometers away from my home, Finland, my actual road to Steemfest is going to be surprisingly simple: I have a direct flight from Helsinki to Bangkok, and my dad will drive me to the airport that is only about 30 minutes or so away from where I live. That also allows me to leave him my warm clothes needed in Finland, so that I don't have to drag 'em to Bangkok or trash them somewhere so, quite convenient.

In Bangkok I need to get myself to the hostel I'm staying, which shouldn't be a problem since there seems to be a train that goes from the airport to the downtown. Another task is to find myself a mobile data Sim-card and money exchange to get some bahts.

bangkok.png

I'm staying in Everyday Bangkok Hostel, I talked to @anomadsoul, and I'm assuming he's going to book in the same hostel with his brother, @zlatanspielberg. If some other budget traveler has yet to book accommodation, you can come to the 8 bed dorm in Everyday Hostel and find us there. Talking of price: I went with the particular hostel, first, because it's cheap (got 8 nights for 57€), and second, it's located very well considering the venues: Warehouse 30 is just a 1,5 kilometer walk away, and the Kamthieng House Museum is right next to the metro line which is only 5 minute walk away from the hostel. Should make things easier to get to the conferences in time after too little sleep and alcoholic drinks the night before. Some brain damage is sort of a guarantee during the week, but if you wanna sleep enough, you're probably gonna have to miss out on late night action. This is the problem: don't sleep enough and risk ruining the following day, but sleep enough and you risk suffering from FOMO for life. Choices...

I'm going to be an early bird in Bangkok and arriving on 3rd day already to get accustomed to local timezone, not that it really matters though, because sleep's gonna get messed up anyway. But at least I'll have time to just chill and load my batteries beforehand.

Sort:  

Totally wish I was going! It’s killing me to hear all the plans falling into place. I will set my sights on 2020, and meanwhile will live vicariously through the reports of those attending.

Steemfest 5 in America perhaps? :D

Posted using Partiko Android

I personally love that idea! I’m not sure if it will fly, but we shall see. 😁

Living vicariously through everyone going... so envious!!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Ahh... Well I might have to taste the vicarious experience next year, not sure if I will be able to attend then because of studies.

Posted using Partiko Android

Can we do an Edward Snowden type thing where you bring a robot to Bangkok and I’m moving around there with my face love streaming from the robot? Please? I’m assuming it would get as much or even more talk than the Dried Fruit Stunt you did last year, so win for you and win for me! :D

Posted using Partiko iOS

Lol, that's an awesome idea! :D

I was considering fixing 'love streaming' to the intended 'live streaming' but decided in this case it is more or less the same thing :D

Googles Edward Snowden type robot

Ha ha ha! That’s an awesome image.

How I can't wait for Steemfest Africa and have all of you come over for some hot ugali, greens and beef or fish then some cold Tuskers!

Enjoy Bangkok! Thailand is a place I plan on visiting :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Steemfest Africa would be interesting!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.489 which ranks you at #2182 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 87 contributions, your post is ranked at #7.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16