Trip down memory lane, Steem Fest Edition

in #roadtosteemfest5 years ago (edited)

I am loving the idea of @anomadsoul and @blocktrades to sike people up already for upcoming Steemfest edition!! Half of the fun of actually going to Steemfest is getting to know the people that are also there. And the funny thing is when meeting these people, people understand your sikedness around blockchain technology and don't look at you like you are a conspirer against humanity :))




The idea of going to Thailand makes a super happy and into a big vacation vibe. I haven't booked any tickets or anything as yet, but I have organized my time off, the most important thing on my behalf, because that was exactly what went wrong last year. Arriving on Friday evening and missing loads of stuff, but on the otherhand falling into a warm nest of warm people welcoming me along the way.


And that to me was the main summary or Steemfest 3...meeting like minded people, whether it were developers, users, bloggers or investers...everybody had their story to tell!



steemfest image.jpeg

This pic says it all.. @blewitt @meno @abh12345 and yours truly while having heavy talks about the blockchain (or maybe we were just talking crap and drinking beer...you decide )


As I was the lazy one not being at the actual presentations, I only had the social stuff. The afterchill on Monday with @soyrosa and amigo @hashcash , the busride with @revisesociology @gmuxx and @rhondak , beers with @twinner and @toocurious along with the #beersaturday guru @detlev . Should I continue in tagfest or just give you the reassurance that it was super fun, and you are really missing out on something of you don't attend in November?



The lovely @el-cr and his by now seriousy pregnant wife @evecab took this cool shot of me with @luzcypher @guchtere and one of the @travelfeed guys (I'm sooooo sorry I forgot your name!!)


I was also super surprised who much quality that we had gotten for the price of the ticket I had payed the 222 option for the ticket, and if you see what you got for that amount of cash (yes I realize that it still is a crap load of money) . Food, drinks, all of the talks, boattrips, bus rides to everywhere, to me this was a super good deal! I don't know how @roelandp pulled that off, but he did and that is why I am expecting #SF4 also to be an awesome deal.


But it's the same as Steem itself: You come for the $$, you stay fo the community....You come to Steemfest for the tech, and you return for the awesomeness!

Sort:  

@karinxxl, yes! That bus ride! That was one of the highlights of my trip, actually. It was just so nice getting to sit with you and @revisesociology and chat and hang out in person.

I'm struggling with the idea of Bangkok, to be honest. I may end up going, but Thailand is one of the countries that participated in the dog meat trade until Soi Dog pushed some legislation through very recently. However, it's common knowledge that dog meat is still heavily trafficked in the back alleys and countrysides. Worse, the local belief that death by torture makes the meat taste better only adds to my aversion to this region of the world. I'm saddened that Steemfest organizers were unaware of this very dark and very disgusting practice so engrained in the culture of a locality that will benefit from tourism dollars spent by Steemians.

I'm sure I'll post more about this as time goes by. In the meanwhile, here's a link to a BBC article about the Asian dog meat trade. Thailand is still listed in this 2017 article as one of the countries guilty of this horrific practice.

While not widespread, [The Humane Society International] says the practice is most common in China, South Korea, The Philippines, Thailand, Laos, Vietnam, Cambodia and the region of Nagaland in India.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/newsbeat/article/39577557/the-countries-where-people-still-eat-cats-and-dogs-for-dinner

The work Soi Dog has done in Thailand is the ONLY reason I would even consider traveling to that country. I'm still on the fence, though. Lots of research in my future.
https://www.soidog.org/content/ending-dog-meat-trade

Yes it is grim the dog meat situation in Thailand. I would have thought Malaysia as a better choice.

I understand your reluctance to come but it would be good to see you there again!

Combining it with a visit to some animal welfare charities/ people in Thailand cld be an option?

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, it could be an option. I also think that if Thailand is cooperating with Soi Dog on a national level, then that's a move to be rewarded by tourism support. So I haven't made a hard decision yet. I'm torn, and need to do more research. I do agree, though, that it would be great to see you again and catch up. So many things have happened since last November!

exactly, combining and expressing and making it a more usefull trip next to having a fun time, seems like a good way to go actually!

Well, I dont really think that one thing that is happening in a country has to exclude going there, AND it might be a perfect moment to ventilate you opinion about it there as well (for instance...i hate guns and carrot-like politicians but I still visit the US :D, catch my drift)
It would be a pity to not meet up because of that reason, even though I fully understand your averse against what happens with our pooches :(

I am putting in a 'see you there'already...just to be sure :D

I'm almost positive that Thailand has taken an official position against the dog meat trade, and if that's the case, I will most likely attend. I plan to contact Soi Dog and base my final decision on their response, since they are the ones who work so closely with those nations on this issue. Other countries that celebrate the torture and brutal death of sensient animals, however...well, not a chance I would spend a dime of tourism money within their borders to help finance that practice. For me, it's less of a comparison with guns and embarrassing leaders and more like the way I'd react to Mexico if suddenly their government endorsed the celebration of face peeling and other forms of torture by the cartels.

nice comparison on the mexican you have there... contacting Soi Dog seems like a usefull thing to do, and please let me know on this as well..

Would be a good thing to make a donate-steem-to-fund-soi-dog thing there at steemfest?

That travelfeed guy you mention is Franck or better known as @goodwithtravels here on Steem😎

Good to read your motivating all the peeps lurking and replying around here.

Need to ask one favor if I can’t make it will you continue the DZ taste experience for all those unknowing Steemians out there?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha an honorary TravelFeed member I hope! 😉

Sorry have been distracted away from Steemit @guchtere while I’ve been travelling the Stans... what a journey it’s been.

Just finishing up in Uzbekistan over this next week, then home in 3... then the fun of all the editing begins!

Posted using Partiko iOS

wow you're almost heading home...😱 Must be a crazy feeling knowing the end is getting near from the amazing journey?
How many SD cards left to fill with cool shots?

:DDDDD

Is this even a question??? well I DO have to get my stash in Holland then before I go, but I will make it happen hehehe

(ps...you will be there...)

I hope one day i will come to Steemfest!
One of my to do list for sure.

Posted using Partiko Android

put it higher!!! it is really worth the effort of going and you will not regret it!

I still remember our chance meeting when you first got in...outside the bathroom. Lol

'random' he still says :D

yeah yeah we all know better you good ol'lurker!

Oh we all like a tagfest come on!

It was a bargain that holiday, funny how now SF4 doesn't seem that expensive now either!

Hopefully yr going?

Posted using Partiko Android

well I have already took my days off but still looking on flights from when and where to combine it with some vacation...i dont see why NOT to go :D

Good to hear. Good to get in early, my return flight was insanely cheap, same with the hotel.

i have seen SO many cheap option on as well flights as on hotels that this should a breeze ... tickets almost as cheap as mine to krakow last year..weird right?

The prices do seem quite similar. I guess it's just the advantage of getting in early!

I'm no expert on travel prices - I don't get out much.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @karinxxl!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.623 which ranks you at #1728 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 1730).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 180 contributions, your post is ranked at #25.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Ha, yes nothing but good memories about those days and beer nights :). I really hope to go to Thailand and I am trying to cook something up to make it a reality.

Posted using Partiko Android

yeah that would be an awesome meetup again! bring the miss and minis, as I am most likely bringing my dude as well! :D

That's part of the plan ;) I'll keep you posted.

SteemFest is always epic!

That spirit and the people is something we carry a long time in our heart and it makes me smile!

It is in some way as well steem.

Posted using Partiko iOS

its true.....steem has loads of good people on it which we some times forget due to all the crap around, but the general vibe and opinion that everybody has wanting to move forward is in some way kind of unique

He he, I'm massively jealous of all your pics with peeps! I don't have any. Lol, I'm not sure if that's because I'm a grumpy old man or just a half-assed blogger ;-) Whoever heard of a blogger who doesn't take pictures 😆

Nice memories Karin :)

hahaha but but but...i have seen pictures of you somewhere! you were surely on pics from others in the 'mansion'

and honestly...these are also not my own pics....because same as you...i didnt make any :DDD

Aha! So now I've finally seen your face.. I mean, I've seen pictures of you from behind (lol) but never your actual face I think.. So that's cool to see these pictures.. they all look great, and we must have a drink in Thailand!

we MUST!!! its gonna happen there hehehe...i was talking about it today with the mister and all is a go! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88