The Road to Steem Fest: The Thai life and what to expect

in #roadtosteemfest5 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians,

After the H21 and H22 I have been missing quite a fair bit of posts from platforms due to the upgrades and replay; and only today I spotted the #roadtosteemfest challenge with the topic The Thai life and what to expect from @anomadsoul teaming up with @blocktrades

image.png

And so here I am, thinking that after 14 years of my last visit to Bangkok, what would I like to see again?

Yes... it has been THAT long, and I have photos to prove it

So I am going to list it down one by one and see if this could be fulfilled in my bucket list.

1 Looking at how Bangkok rail system has changed

bkk200503.png

This is what I took at the time, with timestamp proof, when I first experienced MRT

At that time, Kuala Lumpur was far from having the improved MRT and LRT in the capital; and most of the time I was commuting the good old slow train rides (like those inter city trains in Sydney back in 2003) and hardly any sky rides.

And to be honest, the first impression I had with Bangkok, besides the super nice clean toilets (yes, KL was a mess at the time), was this elevated walkway and the MRT at the above.

Right now the closest match I could relate to this structure, but in a much smaller scale, would be the Bukit Bintang Time Square Mono rail and connection; that actually has an elevated walkway with the rail elevated.

But to be honest, there is no structure in this stretch in Kuala Lumpur still; so I want to see how advanced the rail public transportation has become.

2 Emulate the 2 nicest pictures I ever took in Bangkok - Alone, 14 years apart

I had some really nice photos with my friends, but since they are not with me for Steemfest, I can't retake the picture with them. Thankfully I had 2 really nice solo photos that can possibly be taken before / after the fest (since we have a day extra) and revisit the temples, but I cannot remember which temple it was... I think there was a jade buddha in it.... @waybeyondpadthai do you remember this one?

Ok... let me show you my "cheeky" little look back in 2005

bkk200501.png

Cheeky me at the door, with my backpack

bkk200502.png

One of the nicest photo I had back in 2005. I was quite camera shy because I don't have nice pictures

Of course, I was a lot slimmer and I am rounder now (especially on the face) and lesser hair, but believe it or not, I still have that pants !

I think... let me sift through my boxes...

I don't think I have that t-shirt anymore but I think I can get a black top to substitute it.

3 Try the authentic Thai Red Ruby (Tub Tim Krob)


Source

The first time I had it in Siam Square, I totally loved it. And ever since then, probably only one shop in Petaling Jaya serves the closest to the Red Ruby resemblance to the Bangkok version (because they literally imported the ingredients straight from Thailand). The texture, the generous (thai?) coconut milk, the Sago .... yummilicious if the weather is as hot as @waybeyondpadthai shared her experience with me earlier.

4 Thai Massage


Source

The first experience in massage for me was in Bangkok, Thailand. I still don't fancy massage all the time, but Thai Massage in Thailand was one of the good experiences I had with an affordable price to have your bones cracked, mussles relaxed and totally loosen when you had a really tiring day.

I need to crack and loosen my body. @elizacheng and @khimgoh will know how much I really need it. haha.

5 Boat Rides (optional)

I think if not mistaken, @roelandp mentioned that one of the venues is located Scala Theaters and it could be obtained through boat rides. I haven't really checked through how to get there with water ways, but hey, if the accommodation area actually could be taken via boat trip, this could be nice.

6 Shopping (optional)

Thailand is often very popular for its shopping paradise, particularly for women, because they could get Wacoal lingerie in a MUCH cheaper price. I think MBK Shopping Center is still very popular with it. Let's see the @steemitmamas (@kaerpediem , @khimgoh and @elizacheng ) wants to check that out or not. I am fine with that. lol. but it's a nice place to cool down in a very hot Bangkok

7 Authentic Boat Noodles (if enough time)


Source
Yes, the first boat noodle experience I had was there, and that was the first time I mixed super hot chilli paste, sugar and roasted peanuts together on a noodle.
The last time I had was in Chinatown. I am not certain which one is the best now.

8 Giant Pocky


Random Source

The first time I saw them was at a random Watson's shop in Bangkok, and instantly I loved it. It's very expensive in Malaysia but you can get it in a better rate there (if that's still the case)

And it is also a great souvenir for my colleagues for helping me men the fort of the office while I'm away.

9 Fried bugs

I am not as fancy as @bitrocker2020 about fried bugs.... but maybe... JUST maybe if they are really deeply fried and crispy I might attempt it again...

So there you go! My tiny little wishes when I am in Bangkok

emojijesshelpsteemfest.png

But...

Because in the race of time and the hike of ticket (+ some unforseen circumstances from home), I am still short quite a bit of expenses to #sf4 so if you would like to help, and get something home for your own, I am actually offering sales for fully customised greeting cards for steemians attending (or by proxy order) Steemfest 4 in order to cover a little more of the costs that has left a big hole in my wallet.


Your face can be in the templates I made with Mirror app and manual edit

These are just samples that I am making but I will do more tonight now that I have a new diecut plate arrived today! Check out my old lost and found account @craftsofluv to see my designs; and the earlier attendees order, the sooner I can make, and there's also a "special homemade surprise" available those who ordered by October 1

There's 1 month for me to prepare... because yes, it takes time.

Because it takes patience for some to do.

ps: This is also part of the exercise I want to encourage SME or startup entrepreneurs to avail their non virtual products and services payable in steem / sbd

And I am trying my utmost ability not to power down to fund this trip.

Until then

mini-jess-smile-128.png
Thank You for Your Time

Sort:  

You are on your own with the bugs
But I can record you for your vlog though :D

LOL. Not crunchy, not eating 😆

I believe there are some crunchy ones :D

Haha.... Gotta be SUPER crunchy 🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

👍
~Smartsteem Curation Team

Hi @littlenewthings!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.042 which ranks you at #3853 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 134 contributions, your post is ranked at #41.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I tried a lot of fried bugs - they are all mushy, not crispy like I hoped. It's a big yuck of slime for me.

🙈🙈🙈🙈 Urgh... Yes the horror.... I remembered I accidentally ate one without realising it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83