The Actual Road to Steemfest

in #roadtosteemfest4 years ago

Thailand isn't too far from the Philippines. It will only take 4 hours via plane. If you are staying outside the airport's city, add at least 2 more hours to beat Manila's unbearable traffic.

Although flights from Manila are shorter than maybe half Steemians attending the Steemfest, flights aren't cheap. I have booked really low fare flights to other Asian countries but flights to Bangkok have always been expensive. So when Cebu Pacific, our popular budget airline, went on seat sale in June, I immediately booked my November flight to Bangkok.

I currently stay in Makati's Central Business District so it will just take me an hour or so (unpredictable because of Manila traffic) to the airport. However, I have given up the place I'm renting here to temporarily stay in the Mountain Province for 3 weeks. By next week, I will take an overnight bus to Banaue, about an hour jeepney or tricycle ride to Batad and 2 hours hike down to my inn in Batad where I will wake up each morning with a view of the over 2000 years old rice terraces. This should be worth it!

640px-Batad_Rice_Terraces.jpg

Batad Rice Terraces image by M0N FEDERE MD source Wikimedia Commons

From the Rice Terraces of the Philippines to Bangkok

This means that before I get to my Bangkok flight, I will take the reverse - hike for 2 hours to the main Batad road, take a jeepney or tricycle to Banaue and get to an overnight bus to Manila. From the Manila bus station, I'll take a Grabshare (carpool) to the room I'll be renting near the airport. I take Grab (although I prefer Uber but they left the PH :( ) in Manila because there's no way I'll ride a jeepney in this city. I would enjoy the jeepney's access to fresh air in the provinces but it will be a toxic ride in the metro.

For a few days, I'll stay in Manila near the airport to ensure I don't miss my early morning flight. It will be too much risk if I don't give a few days allowance coming from the Mountain Province going to the airport.

I haven't really planned my life yet from Steemfest, I will just go with the flow and join my Steemian friends.

See you in SF4!

Cheers,
wandeREIN (formerly @wanderlass)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78