Sunset storm along the "Loneliest Road in America"

in #roadtrip5 years ago

I'm on my way to RENO area to photograph a wedding.
You get to see a beautiful sunset a beautiful storm a beautiful truck and a beautiful airstream.

I usually drive the I80 westward from Utah toward Reno... but this time I had a couple days so I took Route 50... in fact i'm still on it... sitting in the airstream with some nice sunny weather doing some work and editing pictures from last night.

THE LONLIEST ROAD

While there are other roads in the country with even less traffic this is perhaps the LONGEST important highway in america to have this little traffic. I have been on it for 2 days now and there are times when I don't see another car for 1-2 hours.

image.png


Many times i'd just park in the middle of the highway to take pictures but I did park OFF the highway while I took pictures of this storm at sunset... good thing because while i was there for about an hour there were 2-3 cards that came by.

KEEP ON MOVING: A photography lesson


I just couldn't believe my luck to get this amazing isolated storm cell right at sunset... but then again i believe it because I kept on moving. I had places i thought about stopping for sunset and hoping for the best but I kept going and basically stumbled into an amazing opportunity.
AKA don't wait for opportunities to come to you... go keep looking for them.


I'm also testing out an 8-15mm lens


I just kept on taking pictures as the sky changed constantly... this is one of the first shots as I first got to the location.


This was one of the last shots as the storm passed by and the sunset subsided and worst of all the mosquitoes came out in FORCE. Like I went RUNNING for the truck... it was horrible. haha

In any case I'll be heading up to visit @scottshots near Lake Tahoe then doing the wedding on Saturday in Virginia City, Nevada.

Sort:  

Too freakin' rad.

I know you are... but what am i?

the sky looks WOW

It certainly was... I was pretty happy during the moment

All the pictures are amazing, but the second one is breathtakingly beautiful!

Posted using Partiko iOS

It certainly felt that way in person

Pretty much every road through Nevada is the loneliest road, besides I-80. I did HWY 93 to HWY 6 last year to Yosemite and it was very similar, wouldn't see another car for hours.

Yep it's true!
I am in Reno trying to think of another route back that could be interesting.

Gorgeous shots. Those mosquitoes sound scary!!!

J

Posted using Partiko iOS

It was gross... but luckily it happened after the colors were all gone.

Looking forward to your visit! And great shots. Sunset was meh last night but sunrise was a good one up here this morning. Safe travels!

I slept in haha

But i'm gonna visit a friend in Carson City first... so i may be pulling in late. BTW

No worries. See you when you get here!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi @jarvie!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.659 which ranks you at #531 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 20 places in the last three days (old rank 551).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 180 contributions, your post is ranked at #38.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Whoa wow and oh my goodness the sky is exploding with beauty!
Glad you kept going @jarvie! :-) Outstanding photographs!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80