Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - An Artistic Agate?

in #rockhound5 years ago

It's been a while and I miss sharing my rocks! I've been getting more and more motivated to make a rock post but life has gotten pretty hectic. I am still doing my best to curate #rockhound so if I've missed any of your posts my apologies! Feel free to tag me on your #rockhound posts so I get a gina alert! Would also like to tell you about @nat-expressions #fridaysrock! Aslong as I have an easier week where I am not so tired after work, I should be able to share more rocks with you!


Lights Off

If you can actually confirm to me what this or if it is indeed an artistic agate I would be greatful! I am not quite sure what it is, but my friend and I determined that it is an artistic agate. I'm not going to lie -- there have been many rocks that I have called agates in the past that probably aren't (besides the obvious ones with bands) but I still think they are. This one is no different, but I am skeptical. It doesn't glow very well, but it's still a sweet lookin rock!

DSC_0004scaled.JPG
You can click on the images to view full screen!!
DSC_0008scaled.JPG

Through the 60mm Macro Lens

This one doesn't glow too much because of how big it is, but it definitely glows! If there was a strong enough light it would, but all I could get was the edges as you can see. Of course, this is just to show you that because it can glow, that it is a type of gemstone. There's not much to see with the lights off! What kind though? I have seen other artistic agates but they aren't quite like this, so I am still mostly unsure as to what it is.

DSC_0013crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!

No Shine

I found a rock like this one about two years ago but much smaller. It was more of a perfect little square about the size of my thumb with all the spots. Only difference was the obvious size and the colors were darker. It reminded me of a Rubik's Cube. We were putting our agates in a Red Solo Cup and when we were leaving, I placed the cup on the roof of the car and forgot about it. We drove off and probably went at least 100 yards before I heard a bunch of rocks rolling off the roof of the car. "What was that?" I said, as I realized that I left the cup on the roof. I lost that agate but we were able to recover some of them, so I am happy to have found one like it but much bigger.

DSC_0014crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0017crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0018crop.JPG

Through the 60mm Macro Lens

Even without the shine, the macro shots are incredible! There is so much detail, I could have easily provided more pictures! I love all the spots, detail and colours in this thing! Whatever this is, I very rarely find them. There have been a few others not including the small one I lost.

DSC_0020crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0028crop1.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0028crop2.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0033crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0034crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0037crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0044crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0049crop.JPG

Shine

All the spots really pop out when it shines. I found this one this year but I am not sure when. I would like to say sometime around March or April, but definitely before I started this new job. It is becoming more permanent than I ever imagined now that I am doing important behind the scenes tasks. I am basically half the brains of the company which I share with someone else and the boss be the legs. Legs don't like to think, they just like to do the running. It's kept me busy but the financial freedom is feeling great. I have found a few agates at the job sites and I still find it hard to not stare at the ground instead of working, but I haven't found any super good ones. I'd say I'll have more luck going to the shore...will have to do that sometime this week before the shores get covered with snow.

DSC_0061scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0064scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0066scaled.JPG

Through the 60mm Macro Lens

The shining macro shots go for a while....there's quite a few that I couldn't help but share so enjoy the show! Which one is your favourite?

DSC_0068crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0070crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0072crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0075crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0090crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0094crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0097crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0097crop2.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0099crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0107crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0112crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0112crop2.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0121crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0126crop.JPG

How Big is it?

DSC_002scaled.JPG
Precious Metal to go with Precious Rock! Nothing too fancy, just a copper penny!

Flashlight SettingsISO 100 35 mm f/4.5 1/100 sec
Settings both Lights Off & OnISO 800 55 mm f/5.6 1/50 sec
CameraNikon D3400 24 MP
LensAF-P DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
LensAF-S Micro NIKKOR 60mm 1:2.8 G ED
LocationSuperior, WI

Fun Fact: I took a total of 129 pictures of this rock bring you the best quality! It takes me about 45 minutes to take the pictures, another 45 minutes to pick the best ones and re-scale them, plus another 20-30 minutes to make the post!

Been a while since I did this! I am glad that I did! It took me a little bit to get reacquainted with the settings and I had to use the table above to remind myself what the best settings were. I am also having to take pictures in a different area of the house which changes the lighting I am used to. Nothing I couldn't overcome!

Thanks for stopping by! God Bless!

@bitfiend

Older than 7 days

good for viewing, not for voting!
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - 17 Bulls Eyes in One!
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - The One Eyed Agate
Rockhounding at work this past week
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Bands All Around
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Macro Bands
Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Little Bubble Agate

May

[Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - May Rocks](https://steemit.com/rocks/@bitfiend/lake-superior-rocks-and-gems-may-rocks

April

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - April Rocks

March

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - March Rocks

February

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - February Rocks

January and Beyond

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - January Rocks [and 2017]

When I joined Steemit I made the decision to always Power-Up my earnings. For now, payouts are set to 50/50 but you bet I will convert & Power Up! Besides internal transfers, I have never cashed out and don't plan on it! Power-Up only!

power-up.jpg

Please Consider @comedyopenmic for witness!

Proudly a part of the #comedyopenmic / #comedyopenmicespanol community! Make people laugh with your original jokes! Curate, Participate, Donate, Delegate!
Click The Banner Below To Vote @ComedyOpenMic For Witness And Disrupt The Steem Blockchain With Laughter!
Support COM Banner

Thank you to @matytan for the great banner

Sort:  

Ok, now I know for sure that steemit is the most awesome place on the internet. I had no idea there were rock hounds on here. I got the bug from my grandfather, and I hoard tons of stuff. I'm going to have to start checking it all out.
What stuff do you guys like to see, we find a little of everything around here. I've found garnets, fairy crosses, amethyst, there are a couple mountains that are almost pure quartz... There are also loads of indian relics arrowheads to pipes and tomahawks.

Wow you have a lot of stuff to hunt for! Where are you located? I think any of that would be good! I dont really have a specific ruleset in place, but something interesting you actually found is always preferred! Indian relics is good too, afterall many of them were made of rocks anyways. Agates and gems were always a preferred rock for flint knapping arrowheads as it made them sharper to use a glass-like stone! Steemit is definitely the most awesome place on the net!

I'm in the mountains of northeast Georgia, about 5 miles from North Carolina. People even find gold on the occasion in spots around here. I'm about 50 minutes from Dahlonega GA, where there were gold mines, and 40 minutes from Copperhill TN.

Very cool! You should definitely share your finds!

It must of been a rock soup long ago wow!
All those little bits of other minerals look so cool!
What a very awesome rock! Great closeups 💎 @bitfiend!

Thanks @shasta! Great way of putting it -- it was definitely a rock soup long ago!

Howdy from Texas sir bitfiend! you have some remarkable photos here! That bottom rock has so many different colors that it's amazing and really are fascinating to see in the macro shots. This post is really good all the way around and very deserving of the curie! great job.
You said you find rocks at work? Where do you work that has rocks?

Mostly construction sites, but really there are rocks all over the place so it isnt very hard to find an agate. Thanks for sharing! Are there any agates in texas? I liked the bottom picture too, I would say it is my favorite. The pictures are all from the same rock!

that's amazing, well that rock has alot of different looks! super nice one. I bet there are places in Texas with agates but I don't think they're in our area of Northeast Texas.

I went ahead and looked it up and seems that Texas is a good spot for rockhounding, depending on where you're at. Taking a quick look at some of the search results, they say east of El Paso and closer to Central Texas and around Rio Grande but I haven't found anything regarding Northeast Texas. There are a lot of nice stones to be found for sure!

howdy today bitfiend! hey I think that would make an excellent excuse to do some road trips! thanks so much for looking into it!

I think the first article I ran across gave enough basics to know where to look. Happy to help! Check it out If you ever do go, be sure to share what you find!

thanks so much bitfiend! Yes it would make a good post!

Hi bitfiend,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Quite amazing to see the detail in such small items. You last rock is spectacular.

I recently ran into someone on you tube (I think) that believes rocks are made from the remains of living creatures and have the signs of life in them - such as cells and things like arteries and veins. Looking at your photos in that light was very interesting :)

That youtuber probably isn't entirely wrong! Many believe that gemstones in particular have different healing properties depending on the type of gemstone! Even the Bible states that the rocks are basically alive, so the notion that its made from remains of living creatures makes sense! Thanks for commenting!

Have you collected all those stones yourself? I like them all but the shiny ones have my preference - you know we girls like it shiny :)

My brother is fascinated by stones to and he has a small collection as well. I'm sure he would envy you the variety that you have :)

You spend quite a lot of time on this post but I think it's not that much considering the quality that you provided :)

Have a nice Sunday!

The pictures from this post are all the same stone, but yes I collect them all myself and have many! The shiny part is my favorite too! I dab some vegetable oil on a q-tip and rub it on the rock! It makes for a great temporary shine! Thanks for stopping by! :)

I'd say it was time well spent either way :) Take care!

Never knew there is so much beauty inside the hard substance on earth. You got a unique taste or love say for these rocks....macro shots are too good

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! I have always liked gemstones but I've never really hunted for them up until about 3 years ago. I never knew how many I could find just laying around! Makes for a peaceful time!

Glad to see that you are back at it! The macro shots on this one are very interesting. I don't think that I have one favorite. I like the ones where it looks like you can see into the rock. You do a great job of showing the details in the rocks that you have and this post does exactly that. Thank you for sharing it. And thank you for including the #fridaysrock tag.

I've been wanting to make a post for a while now. It's just been too long! I would like to do at least one a week. As winter approaches work is starting to slow down a bit so hopefully I won't be too tired! Happy to share to your new tag! Thanks for stopping by! :)

Beautiful Agate, we often do not look what is under our feet, especially many such beauties they are so small in size and only if viewing on light and from certain side you discover that this is not a simple stone but rare germ stone. You presented the stones in such beautiful way, the enlargement let us to see tiny irregularity and hundreds of colors that all together making such amazing surface. I believe children will not pass by, they are so curious that they definitely find such stone. I still have few unusual stones from our beach that we collected with my son, I have no idea what are their names but they are just beauties and are on a special shelf in my son's room :)

Thanks for the comment! Their names are not as important as how beautiful they are, glad you enjoyed the pictures! Steem on!

I'm wondering if it's a jasper agate due to the brecciated make up of it.

The close up photos are amazing. My wife just picked up a new lens for our camera so we'll try taking some shots like this in the future.

Looking forward to the next post!

Hey you might be right about the jasper agate! Great observation! I didn't think of a jasper because the color isn't what I'm used to seeing. Jaspers around here are mostly purplish red, but the fact that we have so much jasper around here tells me you might be right! Thanks for your insight!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71