Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - Awesome Bullseye

in #rockhound6 years ago

Good Morning Steemians! It's been a long time coming for another agate to share with every #rockhound and the Steemit Community. It would have come sooner but I lost yet again another flashlight, but then I found it. I also remembered buying batteries for it which was greatly needed. It's been quite the start of spring for me already and I haven't even spent any time outside yet. I always stay up late but that's how it is when you're a night owl. I've been craving a good agate hunting day too. This #fitnesschallenge really has me preoccupied but it's all for the better. This month I will most definitely try to bring you more rock posts!


Lights Off

This segment was extremely tedious for me. I couldn't get the rock to stay put on the correct angle and on top of that the light would not go through the red part of the agate. I was fighting with this thing for a good 10 minutes trying to get the perfect angle because it doesn't fully glow. I almost gave up on the jewelers loupe and macro shots and it didn't even come out that great. However; in the process I discovered 2 new possible "thumbnail" or "main" pictures that I liked. These came out a bit blurry, but I can recreate it for the next rock. It's more of a "Target" than a bullseye, and the "white part" of the target glows. I was not expecting this!

DSC_0082scaled.JPG
You can click on the images to view full screen!!
DSC_0105scaled.JPG

Through the 60mm Macro Lens

In order to get the rock to glow, I had to angle the light up and the rock down, so it was like trying to look underneath the rock. It took a bit of trial and error to get a decent angle, but it was by no means easy. Let's just say this agate just didn't want to glow.

DSC_0117crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!

Through a Jewelers Loupe 40X25 mm - Lights Off

I almost gave up for sure with the jewelers loupe on this one because there wasn't enough space between the rock and the flashlight to fight the loupe in there. Had to fight with some adjusting, but I got something out of it!

DSC_0127crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!

No Shine

I can't exactly remember which day I found this rock. Based on it's natural polish, I think I got it at agate beach. Some how I feel like I've already shared it, but it wasn't in my "already shared" pile, so here it is! I just don't think I have, but I feel that I have because I've been meaning to. Just look at the target/bullseye on this thing! I'd love to slice it into multiple pieces but it's too small.

DSC_0141scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!

Through a Jewelers Loupe 40X25 mm - No Shine

I really like the way the quartz looks without the shine closeup so since I don't have a "when I found it" pic I've included this. It looks like broken or cracked glass!

DSC_0152crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0156crop.JPG

Shine

Now to let this thing shine in all its glory! The back is not very detailed so there wasn't much to look at (pictured below) so it was all about the bullseye with this one! Or should I say target? Not a perfectly round target, but I'd use it! Once again I just love how the depth of the crystal just pops out at you once the oil is added. For those of you who may be new to my agate posts, I coat the rock in vegetable oil with a q-tip for a temporary shine. You're supposed to use mineral oil but I guess I don't really need it as I wash the rock off once I'm done.

DSC_0166crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0163crop.JPG

Through the 60mm Macro Lens

Thanks to its flat surface, I was able to get a few good detailed crops out of one picture! Always good when it works out!

DSC_0191crop1.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0191crop2.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0191crop3.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0198crop.JPG

Through a Jewelers Loupe 40X25 mm - Shine

The Loupe was a bit of a struggle again. After being able to crop so much from one picture from the macro lens, I am considering scrapping the loupe part altogether. Originally it worked since I didn't have a macro lens, but now having one, I may just not need the loupe anymore. We'll see. I do still enjoy when the loupe gives me a good shot.

DSC_0172crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0177crop.JPG

How Big is it?

DSC_0180scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!

Flashlight SettingsISO 100 35 mm f/4.5 1/100 sec
Settings both Lights Off & OnISO 800 55 mm f/5.6 1/50 sec
CameraNikon D3400 24 MP
LensAF-P DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
LensAF-S Micro NIKKOR 60mm 1:2.8 G ED
LocationSuperior, WI

Fun Fact: I took a total of 185 pictures of this rock bring you the best quality! It takes me about 45 minutes to take the pictures, another 45 minutes to pick the best ones and re-scale them, plus another 20-30 minutes to make the post!

I didn't struggle with the settings too much even though it's been 16 days since I shared some rock pictures. The only difference was, as usual, the lighting. With all my flashlights having brand new batteries in them, they were shining extra bright so it took a little tweaking. I am really glad for the tip I received last month to crop the pictures to get more detail. This is working quite lovely!

I share my rock and agate photo's exclusive with the Steemit community! Feel free to share your thoughts!

Almost forgot to include a moon picture! I took a few last month, but we did have a lot of cloudy days. Because why not share a picture of the glowing rock in the sky too? Enjoy!

DSC_0016crop.JPG

Thanks for stopping by! God Bless!

@bitfiend

Previous Rock Posts

None

Older than 7 days

good for viewing, not for voting!

April

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - April Rocks

March

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - March Rocks

February

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - February Rocks

January and Beyond

Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - January Rocks [and 2017]

When I joined Steemit I made the decision to always Power-Up my earnings. For now, payouts are set to 50/50 but you bet I will convert & Power Up! Besides internal transfers, I have never cashed out and don't plan on it! Power-Up only!

Sort:  

Amazing! Lots of thought and work went into your photos. I've been craving a rock hunting day too!!!

Thanks, sorry for the late response! I am glad you enjoy the pictures. I actually got to find some agates today in a bed of rocks outside my wifes work.

That made me chuckle. It is hard to walk by landscaping rocks or rocks in a parking lot and not stop to look.

Even when I drive down a gravel road I feel like stopping every now and then to look.

The you agate is very beautiful,
In my place is aceh, there are many agate,
This is my collection.

IMG_20180508_172905_BURST1.jpg

Hey those are pretty nice! and polished! Thanks for showing me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17