Friday's Rock! - Apache Dendritic Jasper

in #rockhound5 years ago

Happy Friday! Here is a jasper that will stop you in your tracks. This is Apache Dendritic Jasper. 

I acquired a few pieces from the mine owner who is a friend of mine. The material comes from New Mexico and looks like a "picture jasper", but this material has these amazing dendrites in it. 

Dendrites are manganese inclusions in rock that form tree-like structures. Dendrite the word comes from the Greek word Dendron meaning tree.

What I love about these jaspers is they look like nature's canvas, like nature was painting scenery.

Hope you enjoyed this and have a great weekend. I haven't been doing my Mineral Monday's series for the past few weeks because I have been so busy and I want that series to be high quality posts. I'd like to say I will be back Monday, but I am going rock hounding for tourmaline Sunday so probably not. I will have some free time in May so Mineral Mondays may not be back until then. There is so much going on with our gem & mineral business it's keeping me swamped at home and out in the field. That's a good thing right? Anyway, I'll keep posting these small blogs about material I am finding! Thanks for reading!

If you love rocks, gems and minerals check these tags & Steemians out!
#rockhound by @bitfiend
#bouldersunday by @shasta
#mineralmondays by @rt395
#fridaysrock by @nat-expressions

https://www.trontables.com

https://www.acuitas.app/

If you love gems and minerals you can visit our shops:
US - https://www.etsy.com/shop/Rt395Minerals
Japan - https://www.rt395mineralsjp.com

 

Sort:  

Oh my word! When I saw the image on my feed, I really thought it is a painting. I saw a bridge and fields and trees. Unbelievably what nature has created! The others too are like paintings. Amazing find!

Thank you @nelinoeva, they really are special. The mine owner wants me to sell the material for him, but I only have 3 samples right now. Too many rocks to love!

Yeow and wow what beautiful stone!!! :-)
I'd sure love to get a piece of this wonderful rock!
The top one looks like inside a vast cavern with
stalactites and stalagmites! Awesome colors!

Aren't they cool? Everyone can see something in them and that show you they are unique in the rock world.

Hey, @rt395.

Simply amazing. I know I couldn't have intentionally painted anything resembling landscapes like that, so the whole idea that it's just happening out there in nature is mind boggling. :)

I especially like the last image. It's the like scene just rolls right into the rougher outer rock.

What do you do with them? Do you have a room at home where you put them up like paintings? Do you leave them where you found them? Ever sell any of them?

Really awesome stuff. There must be all kinds of those just waiting to be discovered. :)

Hey @glenalbrethsen, humans create amazing things, but so does nature. These rocks are a little different than regular picture stone jasper because these have the dendrites in them which really adds to the "scene". It really is mind boggling isn't it.

Personally, yes, we have our display cases with our special gems and minerals in them. I keep a few on my desk, especially opals, to keep me positive. Looking at something beautiful can relieve some of that everyday stress.

Think, humans have just scratched the surface on most minerals. There is so much more buried underneath us and out there floating around in space. I'm glad I am alive right now because I still have the opportunity to go out and dig some of it up. I'm not sure that will be the case when my kids are my age. Governments just keep closing off prime collecting areas and soon there won't be any left. Sorry for the rant!

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98