Steve McQueen Rolex is Going to Auction

in #rolex6 years ago

If you're looking for an antique watch worn by a former Hollywood superstar that many from my generation don't really know about..well how about this?..

1400x-1.jpg

That is a Rolex Sub Mariner 5513. The watch was purchased by Steve McQueen back in the 60's as a gift for a stuntman and friend. It's engraved on the back with a message stating Loren Jane's, "the best stuntman in the world."

The watch survived a California wildfire that devastated the area in which the watch was stored. Jane's wife recovered the watch from the ashes and now it's going up for auction.

The last Rolex sold by McQueens estate fetched nearly a quarter of a million dollars.

1400x-1 (1).jpg

Rolex watches seem to never lose their value, while this one will be sold at an inflated price due to its provenance, anyone lucky enough to purchase one for themselves is very lucky.

I've always wanted one but I'm content with my G Shock 😂

Thanks for stopping by,

@goldenarms

DQmW9YxeSqqsKR2yv7ZHMGvhUtoR4zRVQeGYDCRVhpegSTE.png

Sort:  

That's a pretty cool piece of history. I went shopping at a Rolex store, and a Breitling store in Geneva a couple years ago. To my surprise, they didn't immediately toss me out!

But I actually didn't like the Rolex I tried on as much as the Breitlings. I think they make cooler watches. But you can pick up a Rolex Pepsi, from time to time for not much more than an a few ounces of gold, and watches are a great thing to stack as well.

Madness, even for a superstar like McQueen.

Yeah, I think I'd rather have one of his old cars. Thx for checking bout my post MC! 👊😎

I wonder if that German motorbike from The Great Escape is still kicking about. That'd fetch a pretty penny.

Rolex's are dope and McQueen is even cooler, but 250k for a watch is just crazy talk hahaha

Yeah, some ppl have too much money. Wish I had that problem! Haha

I think I prefer a G-Shock to a Rolex, one of them has a prayer of surviving me XD

I'm guessing those Rolexes are really well made but at those kinds of prices I'd be too scared to look at one even if I could afford it XD

goatsig

Oh u can get a nice base model for 10 grand 😄

Gorgeous watch! I like it all simplified as it is shown, and i love the history!

Bullitt

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11