#RPGADay2018 Day 10

in #rpgaday20186 years ago

RPG-a-Day 2018 High Contrast.jpg

How has gaming changed you?

I've always been an introvert and a shy person, and I don't like leaving my house much. So I picked up D&D online via roll20 and that, certainly, has changed me. I'm still introverted and shy, and social interaction for long periods (like a 4+ hour game session) makes me stressed and feel like puking. But to a much lesser extent now, as a sort of 'exposure therapy' from a place where I feel safe to do so.

And I've made a lot of friends. Almost everyone I've played with has become my friend in some way or another. We joke around, we have fun outside the game because of the discord servers, and we all just get to know one another. Some of them are a little more funny than others just depending on the group of people, but they're all great.

I've become more sociable since starting tabletops, and more open to people. I still have zero tolerance for rules lawyers and generally nasty people and I've had to kick a few people for being jerks or ghosting, but that's kind of always been a thing for me with having no tolerance for people just being plain stupid.

Honestly I'm still full of anxiety and it takes a lot out of me to play the games, but I'm learning to enjoy it more and I find each one takes less and less out of me as the months have gone by while I've been doing this so that's really nice. It's giving me more energy in general as well and a schedule to kind of since I have to manage when I sleep to be up on time for games and get enough sleep in between.

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73