Run For Steem: Back to Short & Speedy

Hey guys!  I'm trying to get back into some type of running routine again now that I am fully recovered from my half marathon and vacation. ;)  I am not quite sure of any major new goals yet, but I do have a local 5k race I am doing at the end of the month.  I've done it a few times before and alway seem to be in the 23-minute range.  I am going to try to get in some really solid speed sessions over the next few weeks to see if I can stay in the same range, if not better for this year's attempt.

Now that the weather is heating up around here, I am very much happy to drop back a bit on my distance running.  I'll still keep some longer runs in, but the bulk will be shorter with more interval training thrown in.  I enjoy using summer to work on speed.  Then we'll see if I want to build back up on distance again once the weather cools off.

For my #runforsteem (thanks @jumowa!) entry this week I did some impromptu speed-work.  Yesterday morning was beautiful, so when I got out and started going I decided I would add in a few blocks of sprints.  I didn't feel like setting my Garmin specifically for intervals, so I just kept it running and used landmarks for my distances.  A bit of a Fartlek speed session, I suppose. ;)


I warmed up easy for about a mile then proceeded to do 5 bridge sprints.  I like using this one bridge as it is just shy of 100 meters, so it's great for busting out some really fast bursts.  I haven't really turned it on for such a short interval in a while.  Fun to really let my legs fly!

After that quick block I recovered for about another half of a mile, then threw in 4 slightly longer sprints.  There is a good flat straightaway in front of the stadium, so it's a nice spot for speed work, too.  These ones were closer to the 200 meter mark.  I used fire hydrants to mark my distance for these.  Since they were longer I sprinted one way, then recovered with an easy jog on the way back.


Always fun to see the ups and downs in pace.  It is hard sometimes to get excited to go run intervals because they can be pretty brutal, but it always feels good when you are done.  Even better when you see the results in your race times improving. :)

Check out @jumowa's original post here for rules on how to join our growing #runforsteem community:  https://steemit.com/runforsteem/@jumowa/weekly-run-for-steem-challenge-may-3rd-may-11th-and-payout-for-last-week

And don't forget about the @runningproject, as well!!  Lots of great rewards for just lacing up those running sneakers and sharing your experiences on the streets.

Happy running!

Sort:  

Congratulations! It's hard to get back in the running routine especially after vacation ;)

Once you get started, it will keep you going forward. Thanks for sharing this.

Thanks! Yes, any interruption in normal routine can throw you off for a bit, but as long as you get back to it quickly you can get into the groove again. :)

Did you miss your run? It's not too late... go and run!


Source for gif
Vote for your running author of the week 15!
Resteemed by @runningproject

Congrats on getting back out there after vacation. I find that that's my hardest time to push myself back. I do have managed to throw myself back into it however I do not track it someone else around here had a problem with that. Not to be creepy or any of that.

Good luck in maintaining and I'll be rooting for you.

Thanks Denise! It is tough to switch gears after chill vacation mode, but after a few days I get right back in the routine. It helps having something else to train for! :)

There are unfortunately too many creepy people out there. I hate that I've seen a few folks recently have to really pay attention to how much they share online due to stalkers/hackers. :/

Exactly. I no longer track my runs. :/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63900.26
ETH 3063.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.21