May Training Review

in #running5 years ago

I've Lost Track of Time And Missed A Month Or Two

Screen Shot 2019-03-22 at 2.25.25 PM.png

I don't want to be one of those people who are always saying they are too busy but the past month has been a little crazy. Home life takes precedence, then training, then work, then being able to write and work on side projects. Work has taken me away from everything and am struggling to even read a lot of posts on Steemit. Fortunately curation channels like the @runningproject and @exhaust help me find a lot of the posts I am more interested in. IN all the crazy, its been good to get out and train as it gets me back to my routine and keeps me sane.

What Has My Training Been Focused On


I'm going to list them off pretty rapidly, so if you have any questions, shout them out:

  • I've been taking part in a scientific study through the University of Auckland testing the effects of a health supplement on endurance, specifically trained cyclists.
  • My reading has been focused on Brain Training and muscle potentiation to improve athletic performance...There is still a lot more for me to learn, so I won't say much more, but watch this space as I should have some more information coming.
  • I've been working hard on my VO2Max deep dive which trying to improve my 10km and 5km race times.
  • The Gold Coast Marathon is approaching very quickly, so I've been working hard both on my training and working up a good "marathon mustache" for race day.
  • Finally, I have recently started working on a Strava app to help people connect their activities with Steemit when using Strava.

Screen Shot 2019-06-03 at 3.14.07 PM.png
For more details on my training and my month, feel free to checkout Strava

Up Coming Races

How The Month Went


Another great month of training and even though the weather has been getting a little cooler, the rain has held off and it has been a great month for running and riding. Hoping that I can continue to push hard over the winter as they say, summer gains are made during winter.

The Gold Coast Marathon is fast approaching and I know I will be ready for the race, I think I will not be at my best. My mind has not been in it 100% but I know I won't let that stop me trying to push for a personal best.

About the Author
Hey I'm Vince, an Aussie living in New Zealand, trying my best to make the most of the time I have. I work as a Software Engineer but love to run and all aspects of it, including geeking out on the latest science to help get the most out of my body.

For my latest article for the @runningproject, checkout part 1 of my 3 part VO2Max deep dive:
https://steemit.com/runningproject/@runningproject/runningproject-vo2max-deep-dive-part-1

If you're interested in getting rewarded with Steem for your activity make sure you check out:

Sort:  

Wow! A very busy month of training man.
Keep on running!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks mate...hopefully the times will also improve

So many interesting things. Can’t wait for that Strava app!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah, hopefully it all comes together and should have some more information soon

You're doing great! I'm building myself back up after having some health problems

Thank you...good luck with your build up @chelsea88 look forward to hearing about it

There are no excuses for a consistent runner, you just have to adapt yourself to the conditions of your surroundings with the available resources.
@runningproject quote

*Resteemed by @runningproject

Check more about @runningproject at this post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61585.79
ETH 3005.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68