Monthly Training Breakdown From October

in #running5 years ago

vincerunning.jpg
Only 14km to go in the Taupo Ultramarathon

Things are starting to get a little real as even though the weather seems to be staying the same as it has over the past few months, the race season has definitely started in my part of the world. I've had two races in the past few weeks including my first Ultramarathon and next month is looking kinda similar with my first bike race on the cards.

So this is my update for my last month(October) of training.

What Have I Been Focusing On


Basically the theme of October has been "Recovery". Trying my best to recover before and after my first ever Ultramarathon in Taupo. I guess you could say I was trying to minimize the impact of the race and make sure I was getting back to 100% as quickly as possible. You'll be able to see from the breakdown of my training for the month, I have covered about 100km less than normal and I am happy with the fact that I am feeling like November can defiantly be back to 100% training again.

I did try to see if I could bounce back a lot quicker than normal with a 5km run planned, two weeks after my Ultramarathon. Fortunately, I did not get injured but it was clear I shouldn't have been running back at that intensity so soon.

Swim Technique And Flip-turns/


By now you probably know I do a lot of my training with my girlfriend and this month as well as putting the usual focus on swim technique, we have also been working on her flip turn. If you can see the video below, I am pretty impressed with the progress she's made:

The following is a breakdown from Strava on my October training with a total: 415.0km Run/Swam/Biked for the month

octobertraining.png
If you would like to see my training or follow me on Strava, please see the link below:
https://www.strava.com/athletes/1778778

Upcoming Races


My focus for the coming months now turns to the bike as I have my very first cycling race happening this weekend, which we are not planning on taking too seriously but will be a good hit out almost 4 weeks before I take on the bike leg at IronMaori.

  • Fred Ogle Memorial Ride - November 2018
  • IronMaori Triathlon 70.3(Bike Leg) - December 2018
  • IronMan NZ - March 2019

How The Month Went


The month was good and bad, I am proud of myself for taking the time out to recover and be fresh for my race, but at the same time I have been itching to get back to full training again. I wouldn't say I am back to being 100% but I am feeling strong and ready for the months ahead which are going to be touch

Interested In Fitness And Steem


If you want to get involved in the Steem communities that are helping people earn Steem by keeping fit and active, here is a list of the groups I know of:

  • The Running Project: Approved running authors get upvoted by a growing community of like minded users. To join the fun see the channel: https://steemit.com/@runningproject
  • EXHAUST: this has now taken over from Fitnation With Run Burgundy and is a newer channel to get you more active, you don't just have to be a runner, for more information check the daily posts at: https://xhaust.me

My latest post for the @runningproject is all about "Quick Recovery From A Race", so feel free to look it up below:
https://steemit.com/runningproject/@runningproject/quick-race-recovery-from-the-runningproject

If you have found this post useful or interesting, please consider Commenting, Upvoting, Following and/or Resteeming @run.vince.run

Sort:  

I would include @adventureready and @actifit in the list of communities encouraging active lifestyle.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Actually, your right about @actifit, but I have not heard about @adventureready. Thanks for letting me know. I will have to check it out.
Regards @run.vince.run

@adventureready runs a contest called #automaticwin. The idea is to encourage morning activity. Entries must show proof of 10,000 steps before 10AM.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Recovery is essential buddy, especially masters runner like me, recovery is not as fast like 10 years ago when I was still at my 20s. Keep it up💪💪

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for that, it has hit me hard over the past couple of years...Can't change it though, you just have to work with it.
Regards @run.vince.run

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by run.vince.run from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

No matter how high your peak is: what matters is to commit yourself to reach it?
@amico

Resteemed by @runningproject

I think that's such a great shot from your race! If only all race photos turned out that good. 😉 Way to be smart on the recovery end. I'm sure you will ramp it back up for some great racing coming up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79