Wellington Marathon Race Review

in #running6 years ago

marathonimage.jpg
Another Wet Marathon in Windy Wellington

Before I go on with my discussion, if your not interested in reading too much, a great video has been posted by @trevor.george which shows exactly what the day brought: https://steemit.com/running/@trevor.george/the-wellington-marathon-video

Heading into my fifth race in four months, I was due for a break, but wanted to check off Wellington to get complete my "4 Marathons in 4 Months for my 40th Birthday". Wellington is the Capital City of New Zealand and the 2018 event occurred on 1 July, making up Wellingtons largest fun run with thousands taking part in the race around the city's waterfront.

Race Expo and Registration


The major race sponsor was a local car dealer and the registration and race expo was held at the dealership close to the center of Wellington CBD. It was easy to get to and even though this race is a little smaller in size to some, still had a lot on offer including, product samples and cheap race kit on offer. The registration was quick and didn't leave you waiting if you needed to get out of there quickly.

Race Location and Course


The course has a lot of potential as it starts at Wellingtons Westpac sports stadium and runs out along the waterfront of the city through seaside suburbs, past the airport and out of the city. Its a winding course, but reletively flat, but it is exposed to the elements meaning that a windy day would cause a few problems as it did for this years race. All events were an out and back course, except the marathon which needed an extra loop at the far end of the course. It was well marked with lots of officials and aid stations to make sure you were fueled for the event.

Transportation, Extras and Finish Line


The start/finish was close to the main central business area of Wellington meaning it was easy to get accommodation for the event. The event also had buses from the city center moving people to and from the event. With the start and finish being at Westpac Stadium, it made for a nice cozy environment to be sheltered from the elements before and after the event.

Running the Race


The wind, rain and cold made for an eventful day. I thought I paced the run well but my last 10km heading into the wind was not that great. I struggled and although I think I was set up and wearing appropriate gear for the conditions, the weather still took it out of me. the one good thing is that due to the wind and rain you couldn't see my crying.

marathonstats.png
Here is how Strava saw my day:
https://www.strava.com/activities/1672828873

Summing It All Up


Everyone tells me this race has great weather every second year, and I am sure they are correct. The the weather was a little better, even a little less windy I am sure I would have had a better time as the course is a flat course one a good surface. The race is organized and supported well and might consider running it again.

My latest post for the @runningproject is a descussion on Stride Rate for runners, so feel free to look it up below:
https://steemit.com/runningproject/@runningproject/stride-rate-for-runners-plus-week-four-of-the-runningproject-10km-training-plan

If you have found this post useful or interesting, please consider Commenting, Upvoting, Following and/or Resteeming @run.vince.run

Sort:  

Urgh, looks a bit cold and miserable there. So perfect for running long distances. Good time too. Well done.

Na, it was not fun at all, even for running

Hmm, that's a shame then. When I lived in Scotland I could run for ages. Now I live in the tropics and I'm good for about 15 mins.

Man, despite the weather conditions, you managed to get a good time!
It's a pity you didn't meet with @trevor.george

I know...It wasn't until half way through the run that I remembered he would be running. Especially before the race it would have been great to have met someone from the community in person.
Regards @run.vince.run

*When someone tells you that what you want to do is impossible, change the word in your head to hard. What you want to do is hard. Hard is doable – it just requires dedicated work and effort and you can make it happen.
@trevor.george

*Resteemed by @runningproject

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by run.vince.run from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85