Running Journal #4: Phone, co-operate, #$@&%*!, damn you!

in #running6 years ago (edited)

OK so I learnt an important lesson today. Disable the screen lock on your phone BEFORE the start of your run. So my run was complete, and I was sure I had done better only to find my sweaty fingers were failing to pass the fingerprint test, and worse still I was entering my password wrongly in anticipation of my greatest time ever.

4ezq053bbi.jpg

Only after a concerted effort to slow down, I got it right. It took me FOUR attempts to unlock my phone. I was swearing and cursing.., and then:

‘Where is that damn app?’ - It was running in the background somewhere.

‘Where is the STOP/END/FINISH button? ‘

I’m sure I added 30 seconds of time on to my real time today farting around with this phone and still managed to JUST beat my personal best.

I will be more prepared next run for sure.


y4u9er7wbs.jpg

We planned to do a longer route today, more than 5km to improve my stamina. I have noticed that when I start a run that I have a limit of around 1km before I need to stop.

Having a big downhill at the start of my trail helps me, the momentum keeping me going. After my first stop I checked the distance; 1.09km, a little improvement.

As we approached the split on the trail where it would have taken us the longer route, I signalled to @bingbabe to keep on the shorter original route. Not because I was being lazy, but I felt like today’s effort was a distinct improvement.

wvmenz88pg.jpg

There were fewer stops, though my pace seemed barely better than a fast walk. We had to pass by the aggressive swans, but thankfully they were swimming around in the canal today. One veered my way when I ran past, probably in hope of some bread. Fat chance mate!

Speaking of Fat, I was reprimanded yesterday for eating a sneaky piece of chocolate by my trainer wife.

‘You’ve just had a massive trout’, she tells me.

What is this all about? I have a dietician now as well as a personal trainer?

Still, the scales tell me, I have lost 2lbs. Not so much but that’s after only 5 days. It can only get better.

2vn5q05qyn.jpg

I’m sure these Hot-Cross Buns laden with margarine and home made lemon curd are not the best reward for my run, but I’m eating them anyway.

So my time decreased ever so slightly and my pace is a little better too, thanks to that damn phone not playing ball earlier. Next run, Ill be taking a different route, but one I have done before a week earlier. I’m hoping to see more improvement.

So here’s a video for you before I go. I always think about it when running. This is an iconic commercial from the past that all would be runners should watch and heed.


Belly's gonna get ya!!


They don’t make them like this anymore!

jb1coes3he.png

cr6du7y3f2.png

svg2r2qx16.jpg

Running Man Icon courtesy of https://www.onlinewebfonts.com/icon/531817

This post was created in #esteem thanks @good-karma


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

I had a similar experience yesterday @slobberchops although I was only strolling around town rather than running.

I'm testing out the new @actifit app on my phone and discovered, when I got home, that there is a bug if you use the back button such that none of my steps were recorded. 😢

It's not a problem at the moment because it's fine otherwise and I'm not reaching 5000 steps yet which is the magic figure. 😁

Sounds like you're doing well though. Good for you!

I don't blame you eating the hot cross buns. I'm not keen on the margarine but I LOVE home made lemon curd.

If I'm going to start walking seriously I'b better get one of those apps that records all those fun stats too. Although I don't usually have 3G on so that might be a bit of a problem!

Haha - I'd forgotten about that ad! I've definitely found that when you do regular exercise you need to eat more. When I was training for the half marathon, years ago, my appetite increased massively, but I still lost weight. Unfortunately after the event was over, the weight went back on.
Your photo of hot cross buns inspired me to have hot buttered toast with honey. But I've just come back from the climbing centre, so I probably need it :)

a loss is a loss, even if it is small. keep it on, treat yourself once a week to keep the motivation up

Not much of a running myself, but the girlfriend is giving me some nudges to start running with her. It does look cool when you can keep track of all your stats like that, gives you an additional incentive.

Maybe it even makes you forget the pain for a while :D

You should, its really hard to start but you will feel better for it. Also you can join the #runningproject and get another vote even for non running posts. There's a decent running community on Steemit.

Well done, really pleased to see that you are getting out, and so far no problem with your calf, I guess. I had loads of problems managing the technology when I started using it. How many runs have you done now?
Oops, four, I guess

I have started naming them so I don't forget, this is #4. It's getting just a little easier every time, and I feel I want to do more too.

That's really good to hear - look forward to more of your adventures. I haven't caught up with all of the Scottish trip yet, slightly too much going on here.

That video is amazing. It's so grotesque! Great to hear that you're running again and seeing results already! I started walking/jogging again. Not sure if there's any improvement yet because I bring my dogs and we've got to make a few potty breaks along the way

Its an old one from around 2000 I think, I remember it well (the video).

That happens to me a lot too. I will be working in the back yard or garage and go to look at my phone and my finger print is too sweaty to unlock it. Then I need to enter the code and hope I remember it. I am glad that you are improving upon your time!

that is very annoying when it happen, but the run itself helped to increase your stamina. I need to more exercise for preparation solo mountain expedition next November @slobberchops

*When someone tells you that what you want to do is impossible, change the word in your head to hard. What you want to do is hard. Hard is doable – it just requires dedicated work and effort and you can make it happen.
@trevor.george

*Resteemed by @runningproject

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94