On marathons, camaraderie and post-race food

in #running6 years ago (edited)

I have been following Brian Reynolds on instagram for a while now. He's a double amputee distance runner who attempted to break the 3 hour barrier at the Chicago marathon yesterday. Given his current PR before the marathon of 3:03:35, I was sure he was going to make it and become the first American amputee to break 3.

He was running a consistent 6:45-minute mile pace and on track to his goal when he fell. Then suffering a concussion. At mile 22.

The crazy thing is, despite the concussion and nausea and dizziness, Reynolds still finished the marathon. In 3:03:22.

I am so grateful for @mikewardian, Phil, and @stanbluejay for coming out to help pace me. I spent the last four miles fighting to stay upright through dizziness and blacking out. These guys were my rocks and helps pull me through thick and thin. I wouldn't have made it without them!

Screen Shot 2018-10-08 at 4.54.14 PM.pngPhotographed by @duffys.lens
If this camaraderie and determination doesn't melt your heart, I don't know what does.

I don't have an incredible stories like this one, but most of my humble races have been wonderful experience. The most recent was the Global Energy Run #ger2018 that I ran with the coolest people I know about two weeks ago, a few days after I returned from California. I don't know how I was able to persuade them to get up at 6a on a rainy Saturday to run this race with me, but look how happy we were to complete it:

image.png

Guess who was excited to find some food:
image.png
(In that box was only my jacket, a few tiny chocolate chip muffins and half a dozen bagels.) I do have to comment that Tulsa post-race food is better than Philly. Depending on the race, but we would have beer, protein milkshake, coffee, pizzas, pasta, sandwiches and even banana pancakes. In Philly, @dhimmel waited in line for 15 minutes for a sad half grilled cheese sandwich (not pictured). Nonetheless, I enjoyed being companied by my wonderful running partners before, during and after the race. Strava obviously knew who I was running with:
image.png
And check out that negative split!!! Overall, I ran this race at approximately the same effort at the Tulsa 15K at the end of October last year, which is a great surprise to me! Oh and I placed 3rd in my age group, which is an even greater surprise! I know we still have a lot of work to do, but a sub-4 marathon seems so possible now.

Philly has been waking up later and later, but as usual, I'm psyched for 7.5 miles at 6:30a tomorrow!

À plus tard!

Sort:  

yummy, the Little Bites box looks so big. I crave the everything bagel and the creamcheese bagel. Congrats on your 3rd place in your age group. It seems to me that you always go beyond your limits.

Unfortunately, they only had regular bagels. You should come back to visit soon while the visa is still valid lol. I'll take you to many new scrumptious places I found in Philly!

People like Brian Reynolds are true heroes and are huge inspiration for all of us. Would love to see @dhimmel's face, after he waited in line for 15 minutes and then realized he's going to get just a half grilled cheese sandwich. :-) Wonderful story, @trang.

I said "please ma'am may I have some more?" as an homage to Oliver the Twist.

LOL .. hope she was merciful and you got some more. :-)))

Thank you, @zorank, and thanks again for featuring me once again on your pifc! We knew about the tiny half grilled cheese but it still looked so good after the race so @dhimmel bit the bullet and waited in line so that the four of us could share it.

Wouldn't be happy about waiting 15 minutes for a half of a grilled cheese...sorry @dhimmel that sucks.

Must say people like Brian Reynolds prove that challenges in your life can either be road blocks that stop you or speed bumps that you run over...the choice of how you handle each challenge is up to you.

Was brought here as @zorank featured you in his entry to the Pay It Forward Curation Contest.

Wow what an incredible performance by Reynolds and hopefully he can break the wall of 3 in the future. On the bright side, it looks from the picture that he's immune to shin splints.

The 10k was a fun race for me... Sent me back to the old cross country days. The only thing missing was my short shorts. Thanks for letting me tag along as one of your +3!

@actifit are these races the sort of thing we can post on your platform?

Oh he definitely will! And lol you're correct - no shin splints! Just the prosthetics leaving him blistered and bleeding after long runs :P.

Will need to get you short shorts for the Philadelphia marathon!

Should I change the main tag to #actifit then?

I'm not actually sure how to use @actifit, but I've seen @harkar do it.

Most certainly @dhimmel !!

Awesome to see you @trang and @dhimmel taking part in this running events. I'm not much of a runner myself, but like walking a lot.

Nice post.

I only run when someone's chasing me... or when I'm chasing the Metro or the Bus. Other than that, these legs weren't made for running long periods of time. :-P

PS: I've found you because @zorank featured you in his entry for the Pay It forward Contest

LOL thank you for stopping by @trincowski! I used to think marathoners are insane until I starting running myself. If nothing else, I hope you enjoyed the post and thank you for stopping by!

Hello there @trang 😉 do you remember when someone featured you in the pifc contest few months ago? I think I remember reading you preparing a race or something at that time.. now I'm so proud that you're featured again by @zorank on the pay it forward contest this week.. and you still shared us the amazing positive story about running and more..

It just so awesome when people keep consistant doing what they like and you are one of those great people😉 I hope that you'll keep steeming and have more fun everytime you join the running race.

Thank you for sharing this story. It shows how human will is the driving force and how strong we can be no matter what the circumstances are.

Would you join @runningproject and @actifit initiatives? Welcome 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

hi @ervin-lemark thanks for stopping by! I would love to! Could you let me know what I'll have to do to join these initiatives, please?

Of course.

Calling @toofasteddie to help me welcoming you to the @runningproject initiative.

For @actifit, download the app and start using it 😉

And jump to https://actifit.io to see your progress.

Good luck!

Posted using Partiko Android

@ervin-lemark @toofasteddie Thank you both so much for the info! Following both of you now! Looks like you have got incredible track record on @actifit!

Thank you.

Consistent more than incredible and @toofasteddie more than me. 😀

Looking forward to seeing your @actifit reports.

Good luck!

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh chào chị😍 em mới tìm dc ng vnam nữa trên Steemit là chị rồi. Chị năng động quá 🎉🎉

Chao ban @a-alice. Thi thoang hinh nhu minh thay ban tren discord ma ^_^. Cam on ban da ghe tham blog linh ta linh tinh cua minh :D.

E ít hoạt động rồi ạ, tại bận thi cử quá
Linh ta linh tinh gì chứ ạ, rất chuyên nghiệp nha😄

Thanks for sharing about Reynolds! I definitely need to start following him on Instagram, as well. Happy to see another awesome person join @runningproject! I look forward to following your running stories, as well. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22