🏃 Running Log [Afternoon 13km] | 144 days until my first Marathon! | #runningproject #runforsteem

in #runningproject6 years ago

Earn Steem & SBD for running at #runforsteem
Be sure to follow the @runningproject for everything Running-related!


It was a lot cooler today so I decided to go ahead and do my long-run effort; I was planning to run around 12km, but I actually felt so good after the 10km mark that I decided to run an extra kilometre on top. I wanted to run at a pace of 4:30m/km and that's exactly what I did! I set a new 10km PB with a time of 44:29 (and I probably wasted around a minute at traffic lights and dodging the plethora of kids coming out of the local school, so it was a big improvement!).

I'm so happy with how my running is developing and with every single passing week I feel fitter and fitter. My hard work & dedication mixed with good diet and nutrition is definitely proving to be working! I am even seeing healthy declines in both my resting heart rate and heart rates when I'm out running, and it gives me the motivation to go the extra mile even more! This time last year I was in a rut of poor diet, poor fitness, alcoholism and incredibly poor mental health; but picking up running was probably the best decision I'll ever make in my entire life, and I bet you wouldn't recognise me now against who I was last year.



Today's goal was, ultimately, to break my 10km PB (which sat at about 46:30 before this effort), and as I don't enjoy continuously stopping and waiting at traffic lights when out running, I decided to just do the Eaton Park route I normally do but a few more laps (quite a few, actually). It took me a while to set into my desired 4:30m/km pace and, the 2nd kilometre especially, I did run a little faster, but it didn't take too much out of me and I was still able to complete my effort at 4:30m/km.

I must've lapped every single dog walker that entered the Park at the same time as me around 10 times, and at one point I was given some encouragement with a compliment about my power. It definitely gave me even more motivation to smash that 10km PB...

I would normally be aching a LOT right now, but thanks to the extra cushioning of the Clifton 4s, and after an extensive massage session with a Lacrosse Ball on my feet & legs I feel really quite fresh. I reckon I'll be able to do another effort tomorrow (although probably just 4 or 5km). I'm also confident that this will be the week I hit my target of a sub-20 minute 5km at Parkrun on Saturday, so I'll probably keep that in mind if I do end up doing an effort tomorrow.


Thank you for reading!
Follow me for more Running Updates

Sort:  

Well done in coming all this way in only 1 year! Perhaps there’s hope for me too. 😄

Our running shoes have magic in them -
the power to transform a bad day into a good day;
frustration into speed; self-doubt into confidence;
chocolate cake into muscle.

- Mina Samuels

Source for gif
Vote for your running author of the week 16!
Resteemed by @runningproject

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

This post has received a 25.46% upvote from thanks to: @harryp3.
For more information, click here!!!!

If you use our Robot before your post has 1 day and get an Upvote greater than 1%, you will automatically receive Upvotes between 1% and 10% as a bonus from our other robots.

Do you know, you can also earn passive income after every bidding round simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper?
you can delegate by clicking following links: 10 SP, 100 SP, 500 SP, 1000 SP or Another amount

Help support @minnowhelper and the bot tracker by voting for @yabapmatt for Steem witness! To vote, click the button below or go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and find @yabapmatt in the list and click the upvote icon. Thank you.

Voting for @yabapmatt

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25