🏃 Running Log [Evening 5.1km] | 150 days until my first Marathon! | #runningproject #runforsteem

in #runningproject6 years ago

Earn STEEM & SBD for running at #runforsteem
Be sure to follow the @runningproject for everything Running-related!


I wasn't sure if I would have the time to run today with two Uni Coursework deadlines in the mid-afternoon to plan around, but I luckily had time in the evening to go for a quick 5km. Analysing my previous runs, I need to work on pacing and more specifically sticking to a set pace for the whole run. I went out there today with that in mind; giving myself the target to run 4:25m/km every kilometre, with no more than 10 seconds fluctuations either side of that pace. I actually found it much easier than I expected, and although I was looking down at my GPS watch every few minutes to check whether I was on time, it felt good. The biggest issue in my upcoming Half Marathon that I will probably face is the various inclines, and being able to stick to those set paces after getting to the top will be a struggle. I might look to doing repetitions of hill reps that are immediately followed by, for instance, a kilometre of 'recovery' where I have to stick to a set pace and fight against any drop in pace. Hopefully, this will get my legs better used to uphill running without affecting my pace.

On a better note, I'm not sure what's happened to the typical British weather, but it seems that Summer is getting closer and closer and the weather was yet again beautiful today. Half of my run was out in the sun whilst the other half was under the trees of the trails, so I got a good mix of temperatures and a good change from the exhausting heat of Tuesday's effort.



As you can see from the Splits in the first photo, my paces were relatively steady - not fluctuating much (or too dramatically) from the 4:25m/km goal. The 4th kilometre was a bit slower than the others, but the trail was a bit overgrown and it was hard to keep it up, so I simply picked the pace up for the remaining kilometre.

I'll still be at home until early next week before I go up to Norwich again for my exams, so this Saturday's Parkrun will be at the Andover course. Only a little stretch of hard surface but with the good weather I shouldn't find any issue with the mud/dirt, and there's less cornering to do so I might be able to set an ever faster time! My eldest Brother set a sub 20-minute time for the first time last week, so I'll probably just stick to his heels and hope I can replicate his effort with his pacing.


Thank you for reading!
Follow me for more Running Updates

Sort:  

That is a good pace. Happy to hear that the sun has discovered Britain too. :)

You are doing great, congratulations.

What is your goal for the half marathon?

Thank you!

I'm aiming for 1:30, but I wouldn't be too disappointed if I ran it in 1:40.

Sub 1:30 is a great goal, respect. Now I see why your projected tempo is 4:20 something. I thought so :)

A suggestion if I may. Try to keep your race pace at 4:10 for the first 10K. This way you'll have a buffer big enough to roll through the remainder to the finish and sprint down in style :)

Good luck!!!

Thanks for the suggestion, I'll definitely keep that in mind! :)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

This post has received a 32.36% upvote from thanks to: @harryp3.
For more information, click here!!!!

If you use our Robot before your post has 1 day and get an Upvote greater than 1%, you will automatically receive Upvotes between 1% and 10% as a bonus from our other robots.

Do you know, you can also earn passive income after every bidding round simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper?
you can delegate by clicking following links: 10 SP, 100 SP, 500 SP, 1000 SP or Another amount

Help support @minnowhelper and the bot tracker by voting for @yabapmatt for Steem witness! To vote, click the button below or go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and find @yabapmatt in the list and click the upvote icon. Thank you.

Voting for @yabapmatt

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30