🏃 Running Log [Morning 10.8km] | 152 days until my first Marathon! | #runningproject #runforsteem

in #runningproject6 years ago

Earn STEEM & SBD for running at #runforsteem
Be sure to follow the @runningproject for everything Running-related!


This morning's effort was probably both the nicest run and most exhausting run I've ever been on! Yesterday we saw temperatures in excess of 26 degrees, and it was much the same story today with the temperature already exceeding 20 degrees when I put my shoes on and set out for a run this morning. I had in mind that I'd only run 7km when I did set out, but I wanted to make the most of the lovely weather before I have to put my head in my books for my exams starting in 2 weeks.

For the first time in a long while, I chose not to target a set pace at all and just went out there running free. I really enjoyed it and it was lovely change from the high-pace tempo runs that I tend to run most of the time! I saw a couple of runners (which is quite rare for these parts) and loads of dogwalkers too, all outside making the most of the beautiful weather.

The route I chose to run goes out of my village and loops through the neighbouring two villages before going down a wooded trail back into my village. It was pretty much 70% gravel or dirt track and it was really nice to have some softer surfaces underfoot for once, but the undulation of the course killed me. A couple of 10% inclines come in quick succession after the 4th kilometre, and they really undid me; my pace fell below 5:00m/km and only rose above it twice. It is definitely good practice to start thinking about adding in some inclines into my routes with both the Half Marathon and Marathon I am running later in the year both featuring some small hills.

For some reason, my TomTom GPS watch stopped working at about 9km and I had to restart the run but was able to combine the two files and upload just the one run (I think it also added about 2 or 3 minutes onto the elapsed time, but I don't care too much as I wasn't pacing myself today). I'm thinking about purchasing a FitBit Versa as an upgrade to both my FitBit Charge HR and TomTom Runner (and combine the two so there's no need for unnecessary extra weight).



If I have time I'll go for a run on Thursday, but depending on how much coursework I can get done tomorrow, I might have to just wait until Saturday's Parkrun.


Thank you for reading!
Follow me for more Running Updates

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

This post has received a 42.61% upvote from thanks to: @harryp3.
For more information, click here!!!!

If you use our Robot before your post has 1 day and get an Upvote greater than 1%, you will automatically receive Upvotes between 1% and 10% as a bonus from our other robots.

Do you know, you can also earn passive income after every bidding round simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper?
you can delegate by clicking following links: 10 SP, 100 SP, 500 SP, 1000 SP or Another amount

Help support @minnowhelper and the bot tracker by voting for @yabapmatt for Steem witness! To vote, click the button below or go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and find @yabapmatt in the list and click the upvote icon. Thank you.

Voting for @yabapmatt

It is quite enjoyable sometimes to just forget about setting specific marks and just run for pleasure, especially when you get a beautiful day to do it! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13