Running Check-In, Plus a Combo Running & Body Weight Workout

Hey there fellow fitness enthusiasts!  I've been struggling a little bit with getting my runs in lately.  Between the uncomfortable summer weather, a bummy back, and then taking a few days off after having a slightly suspicious mole removed, I've definitely gotten thrown off my usual routine.  Such is life, though, so sometimes you just have to accept that setbacks happen and start moving forward when you can!  Luckily all the great folks that are part of the @runningproject are excellent motivators. :)



The weather was also very nice at the beginning of the week, so it was pure heaven to get in a run with slightly cooler and less humid conditions.  I shared our fruit-picking excursion (another lovely shot from the farm above), but before we went I got in a quick 30-minute run.  Nothing fancy, yet it felt awesome to just get out and enjoy the morning.



Tuesday I kept it indoors for a strength workout and some solid mobility work to keep trying to stay on top of my tight hips and back.  I have a massage this coming Monday which I am super excited about.  Wednesday was back to usual Atlanta summer weather, so it was time for a short interval session to try to get a bit of speed work in.  I have a bit of time before my September 5k goal race, so I know I have to keep on it as it will be here before I know it.  I kept it simple with .10-mile repeats, with a minute of recovery in between.



Again, not my best effort.  However I'm hoping to springboard into a better week this week!  I did finish out the week today with a great combination workout.  The weather was a bit iffy today, making it a great afternoon to stay inside and use the treadmill.  This was a variation on a 5x5 strength workout that is quite common in the fitness world.

Complete 5 Rounds:

5 minute progressive run (start at a moderate pace then bump up by .5 on your speed every minute so that the last minute is pretty challenging)

5 Reps Push-ups

5 Reps Pull-ups

5 Reps TRX Skullcrushers

5 Reps TRX Bicep Curls

5 Reps Leg Matrix (5 squats, 5 left leg lunge, 5 right leg lunge, 10 cycling split squat jumps, 5 squat jumps)

*Each round includes the run followed by the circuit of exercises.

I thought I would give @evecab some motivation and try to take a picture while I was doing my pull-ups since I know she has been working on hers.  That was a whole lot harder than I thought!  Especially since I waited until the end of the workout.  Definitely a great way to work on getting stronger at them.  Haha!



As usual, feel free to modify any movement based on your ability level and available equipment.  I've been doing more body weight work so that I can continue to focus on my core and form while I am still increasing my functional strength.

After a wonderful visit to the farmers market, work and my workout I am definitely feeling quite...


What's everyone else doing for exercise this weekend??

Sort:  

Nice work...was the song on your stereo "Alive"?

Yep. A little Pearl Jam as I drove in to work. :)

I love that song

Oh my goodness I LOVE Pearl Jam! Been in love since I was 16 and my heart still leaps at their sound!

Yes! I was totally a girl of the grunge era, so they are one of my faves!

*Don't listen to your mind: open your heart and run for sensations.
@amico

Resteemed by @runningproject

looking STRRONNGGG girl =) Thanks for the motivation =)

Thanks! Been working hard on my upper body again, so happy it's showing! Gotta represent for us long-limbed ladies. 😆

exactly =) I'm focusing on core these days, I really want to have a 6-pack one day. Now I have a 2.5 pack lol

Always good to have goals! ;) I'm pretty happy with a 2-pack, though I'm working on my core strength to try to help keep my hips and back in line. I joined in on a corporate core class I teach this past Thursday and realized just how mean I can be, haha. I was sore for a few days. Apparently I need to join and do the workout with them more often. :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33