Ruth Cooks: Let's Make Tυροπιτάκια (mini cheese pies)!

in #ruthphotostories5 years ago (edited)


Hello hello! How have you been? Today we had no power supply for almost half of the day and it has been quite boring. When the electricity came back I didn't know what I should blog about and I thought I could give the @cookwithus' contest a try. You can find the contest post on Whaleshares:

Cook with Us #6 - Snacks.

Snacks it is and my mini cheese pies fit perfectly here, are you ready to follow an easy recipe step by step through mediocre but original images taken with my phone?

Come on!

First the recipe, Ruthie!

Right, I forgot!

For the dough we need:

  • 2 packets of dry yeast
  • 1 glass of warm water or milk (I used milk)
  • 2/3 of a glass of vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs
  • a pinch of salt
  • a pinch of sugar
  • flour as much as it takes

For the stuffing:

  • feta cheese
  • 1 egg
  • pepper

For the topping:

  • 1 egg
  • a little water
  • sesame
  • rock salt

If you got everything, we can start. In a big bowl you put the yeast and the warm water or milk and stir very well.

The water/milk needs to be warm but not hot, otherwise the yeast will not work properly.

Then it's time to add the eggs.

Yes, yes! The oil!

Turn that flamingo cup upside down and all inside our purple bowl (I love purple).

Flour? Did I mention that we're going to need flour?

Add the salt and sugar and stir well! The dough needs to be nice and soft, if it is still too sticky you need more flour. But be careful, you shouldn't make it too firm.

Is it ready?

Cover the bowl and let it rest inside the warm oven (I turned it on to 100 °C for 5' and then turned it off before I put the dough in).

Now it's time to prepare our stuffing: feta cheese, pepper and an egg. Mix it all together and you're ready.

After half an hour or so (you can leave it to rest even longer if you wish), our dough is ready.

Stuff your little pies, roll them up and place them on your baking tray.

Beat the egg yolk with a little water and wash your mini pies. Sprinkle some sesame and rock salt (it gives an interesting crunchy texture) and off for the oven.

Bake at 180-200 °C for about 20-30' and they are ready!

Longing to see the light
Beyond my hunger
My stomach's delight
My diet's anger

Bon apetit!

Alternatively you can use any stuffing you like. We usually make sausage pies and the round pies you see in one of the photos above are stuffed with feta cheese, oregano, some tomato sauce and olives. You can also avoid the eggs if you like, the dough tastes good without them although I like eggs and I use them whenever I make such snacks.

Thank you so much for your time!

Until my next post,
Steem on and keep smiling, people!


ruth-girl signature gif banner.gif


Original photos (free for re-use if crediting the author) by @ruth-girl taken with Moto G6 - 2019
Post also shared on my Whaleshares blog

Sort:  

Η καλή νοικοκυρά, είναι δούλα και κυρά...!!! Πάρα πολύ ωραία και λαχταριστά !!! Συγχαρητήρια !!!

Αχαχαχαχα, ακριβώς! Ευχαριστώ!

I didn't know you could cook! :-)

Oh I can and I find it really relaxing sometimes!

Greasey Greecey pies :p

Posted using Partiko Android

Exactly! LOL!

Hi @ruth-girl!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.153 which ranks you at #943 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 945).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 192 contributions, your post is ranked at #26.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97