We Have A New Guest!

in #ruthphotostories5 years ago (edited)

Look at what Hera found in the garden today...

A panicked baby owl!!!

Trumpman and I were having dinner on the balcony, my sister was walking in the garden towards the exit when we suddenly heard her shout:
Hera found an owl!!

We rushed to the garden and saw the poor thing lying on the grass with Hera barking above its head. She must have scared the shit out of it.

We then placed it in an old carton box and called a group that takes care of wildlife in need: Δράση για την άγρια ζωή / Action for wildlife

We mailed them a couple of shots so they can tell us what to do...

The instructions were to keep it in a covered box with a small hole on the side and then place the box on the roof so that the parents will be able to find it. This might take 2-4 days.

Fingers crossed this baby gets back with its family soon!


Mommy! Daddy! Come pick me up please! I'm lonely and scared!

@mathowl are you sure it isn't one of your cousins?

Thank you so much for your time!

Until my next post,
Steem on and keep smiling, people!


ruth-girl signature gif banner.gif



Original photos (free for re-use if crediting the author) by @ruth-girl - 2019
Also shared on my Whaleshares blog

Sort:  

Looks tasty

It was!

Owl my gosh!! Don't tell me you ate the poor owl :(

Yep, it tasted like chicken.

That's so owl-ful :(

oh god...


The owls were called by @dexterdev

Sexy owl!

Hey there cutie owl!

Thanks for the smile! I loved your posts and of course the comments...too funny!

Maybe you have to accept the fact that you just found an owlsome pet ;)

Ahahahahaha! It is owlsome for sure!

Teach it to pose properly and you gonna make a lots of monis...

Or else it will be a great soup... :)

Hmmm... not a bad idea! I'd better train it before it tries to fly away again soon!

Those lucky animals in your neighborhood. Lost, abandoned, in trouble. There you are!
That is the most beautiful, frightened baby owl. It will be fine (boy, girl? Can you tell?)

Well, we try to help the neighbors no matter if they have paws or claws, you know how it's like. And it feels so nice to see them get stronger!
We can't tell the sex to be honest. Today it tried to fly again, Hera found it in the garden and we placed on a tree branch. We will wait to see how it does today :D

😇
May the baby fly away and have a long and happy life.
owl paint3.png

I hope it does, as it has left us on the same day we found it in the garden again. It tried to fly past the fence and we never saw it again...

Then it's alright 🙂.

It looks so frightened D: I think it is your national owl, Athene noctua, also called little owl. Maybe a couple of weeks old? According to wiki they leave their nest after about 7 weeks. So they become independent pretty quick. Hope its parents will find him.

Thanks for sharing :o)

It is frightened the poor guy, it's their first flight season now and it's common to find babies around. We had it on the roof for 2 days, the parents found it (we saw one from inside the window) and today the baby tried to fly again... unsuccessfully though. I believe in a couple of days it will be able to fly again freely.

Oh my god I love owls.. but yeah it looks so scared :( did the parents find him/her ?? I hope so.. poor thing..

The cute thing flew away... The parents found it on our roof and fed it for 2 more days before it made another attempt to fly, we found it once again in the garden but then it disappeared, let's hope it's safe now and growing to be a healthy owl!

Oooh my G.... Sooo cute.

Posted using Partiko Android

I know! I just want to stand there looking at it...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11