The saddest universtiy tennis program ever?

in #sadness5 years ago

Chiang Mai University is a big deal in Thailand. It is ranked as the 3rd in Academics in the entire country and is a highly sought-after university for higher education in the area. They attract world-class professors from around the globe and boast quite an impressive alumni roster including one of the most highly regarded reconstructive surgeons in the world and also an ex Prime Minister. They just don't see to care very much about their tennis program.

60354391_2021795134595965_1295567444500283392_n.jpg

To be fair, university is (and should be) primarily about academics and not so much for sports. Also, this country doesn't have sports team programs for the most part like they do in the USA. Don't get me wrong, there is SOME interest and also scholarships and what not, but not anywhere near on the level that you see in the USA where it seems that many schools are pretty much defined by their sports programs.

60321718_335807310701198_7290497695498633216_n.jpg

However, this is just pathetic and kind of leads me to believe that there is absolutely ZERO interest in tennis at all at the university (there were 3 other courts next to this one in equally abysmal states of disrepair. )

Thailand is exceptionally hot and humid, so I can say that I too would not be interested in playing tennis in direct sunlight in this country for the most part either. It is oppressively hot and likely medically dangerous to attempt to play a sport as cardiovascular-demanding as tennis is. There are other courts that are better maintained than these but yet again, they are uncovered in direct sunlight so no one uses them until the evenings. I think if this is the state these courts are going to be left in, it would be better to just tear them down.

I haven't played tennis in years, but the state of these courts just made me sad.

60023459_661251310979810_9152979635997245440_n.jpg

Sort:  

Just seems like such a waste and maybe floodlit courts would be more popular for playing in the cooler evening time. Those courts are shot and tearing them down would be the obvious thing to do. They need resurfacing and being totally revamped which would be close to just building new ones in cost.

Tennis is my favorite sport, I even had written blog on it initially. This is too sad that sports is majorly left out which should not be, because it is really important to have sports in life. I feel dishearten after seeing the condition of courts.
I hope this education system might realize the importance of sports.

I played tennis my senior year of high school. I was horrible but they needed people for the team, so my friend talked me into it. It was actually a great experience. As sad as it is to see the tennis courts in such disrepair. It is also refreshing to see a school that doesn't place such a huge emphasis on sports. I am not a very athletic person and working in public education it is crazy to me the value some people hold athletics over academics.

Why should a high school or university show interest in sport or specifically tennis? You will not find 1 university in the Netherlands with a tennis court. If you like to play tennis be a member at the tennis club (no idea where to find one).

Posted using Partiko Android

I have no idea why colleges put a focus on athletics at all. I can understand in the states where their football and basketball teams bring in tons of money for the university but other sports... not so much.

Crazy tennis courts!! They should just build indoor courts or transform them into badminton courts! People in Bangkok still play tennis in the evening with sports light on at night. Some sports clubs have indoor tennis court.

This raises a question about what the administration has been doing with the maintenance budget!?

Posted using Partiko iOS

overall (from what i have seen) CMU is actually a really nice campus. I guess there just isn't much interest in tennis :)

such a hip university and a neglected tennis court. That's incredible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78