Sadsunday #1 - Boysetsfire: My Life in the Knife Trade

in #sadsunday5 years ago (edited)

Bei @kadna und @lichtblick habe ich diese tolle Reihe entdeckt. Ins Leben gerufen wurde das Ganze von @flipstar. Vielen Dank dafür!

Als großer Fan trauriger Musik möchte ich mich natürlich gern beteiligen.


Boysetsfire - My Life in the Knife Trade (Berlin Sessions)


Das Lied wurde im Jahr 2000 auf der After the Eulogy veröffentlicht. In dem Song geht es um enttäuschte Freundschaft.
Hier hört ihr es in einer sehr schönen Version im Rahmen der Berlin Session. Für Freunde von Unplugged Musik überhaupt sehr empfehlenswert (Bastille und Milky Chance).
Boysetsfire haben sich 1994 in Newark, USA gegründet und sind in meinem Freundeskreis vor allem durch den Song Rookie bekannt geworden. Ich hatte das Glück sie mal im Hyde Park in Osnabrück zu sehen. Ich habe damals auch kurz mit Nathan gesprochen und konnte sogar einen Drumstick der Band erbeuten. Das könnt ihr in diesem Beitrag nachlesen.

Nun aber zum Lied. Unten habe ich noch die Albumversion verlinkt.

Text:

How many times Have you noticed that our eyes Hardly ever meet
From your judgment seat I feel the anger for my very being Fill me
in On when you became such a big part of my life That I should
bother With all your lies designed to bring me down Wrong again
Don't depend On any reaction again

I remember the icy walls That shot up from nowhere And I can see
every lie that you've ever told yourself You bleed me dry and I
don't ask why But I'm left with the dust Judas kiss I dismiss
Thank you all for this I am untouched Wait again I'm not through
with the screaming I contend That you've got nothing better to do

Trade my life for a barrel of gold Find someone else before I get
too old If I live my life for aesthetic gain Will you repay me
with all your shame

I can see every light inside your brain Go on every time that I walk
by For nods and whispers Your comfort in my suffering Is no
longer disturbing I'm lost beyond your petty stopwatch In life's
real time Wait again I'm not through with the screaming I
contend That you've got nothing better to do

Trade my life for a barrel of gold Find someone else before I get
too old If I live my life for aesthetic gain Will you repay me
with all your shame

Don't get up I was slowly leaving the room And when the door Of
your judgment Swings back around again Maybe I'll stop to watch
And I'll go on my way I've seen quite enough Of too many childish
games I'm ashamed of every moment That I ever gave them the time
of day All the worst of enemies Are somehow always Friends that
used to be

Songwriter: Charles W. Istvan / Joshua Latshaw / Matthew Krupanski /
Nathan Gray / Robert W. Avery

Songtext von My Life in the Knife Trade © Reservoir Media Management
Inc


Album Version:


Magister Ludi/kanrat

Sort:  

Hey, Du wurdest von @altobot gevotet!

Sehr schöner Song - unplugged ist auch immer wieder eine schöne Abwechslung... Im Hydepark war ich einmal zu einer gothic party (wurde mitgenommen und ich war mal wieder neugierig... aber das war nicht so meins - nicht nur wegen derMusik ;-)

Ich war da jetzt auch schon seit Jahren nicht mehr.

Ja, ist schon ein sehr spezieller Laden. :)

Hi, @kanrat!

You just got a 0.27% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25