Sadsunday #5: Okkervil River - Westfall

in #sadsunday5 years ago

Bei @kadna und @lichtblick habe ich diese tolle Reihe entdeckt. Ins Leben gerufen wurde das ganze von @flipstar. Vielen Dank dafür!

Als großer Fan trauriger Musik möchte ich mich natürlich auch diese Woche wieder beteiligen.

Okkervil River - Westfall

Dieses herrlich traurige Lied habe ich vor einigen Jahren auf dem Soundtrack zum Red Bull Snowboard Film "The Art of Flight" entdeckt. Veröffentlicht wurde das Lied von der texanischen Independent Band schon im Jahr 2002 auf dem Album "Don´t Fall in Love with Everyone You See".
Ich hoffe es gefällt und wünsche noch einen wunderbaren Sonntag!



Text

I'm surrounded, each doorway covered  
By at least twenty men  
And they're going to take me, throw me in prison  
I ain't coming back again  
I ain't coming back again

When I was younger, handsomer and stronger  
I felt like I could do anything  
But all of these people making all these faces  
Didn't seem like my kith and kin  
Didn't seem like my kith and kin

Colin Kincaid from the twelfth grade  
I guess you could say he was my best friend  
Lived in a big tall house out on Westfall  
Where we would hide when the rain rolled in  
Where we would hide when the rain rolled in

We went out one night and took a flashlight  
Out with these two girls Colin knew from Kenwood Christian  
One was named Laurie, that's what the story  
Said next week in the Guardian  
Said next week in the Guardian

And when I killed her it was so easy  
That I wanted to kill her again  
I got down on both of my knees and  
She ain't coming back again  
She ain't coming back again

Now, with all these cameras focused on my face  
You'd think they could see it through my skin  
They're looking for evil, thinking they can trace it, but  
Evil don't look like anything  
Evil don't look like anything

Evil don't look like anything  
Evil don't look like anything  
Evil don't look like anything  
Evil don't look like anything

Evil don't look like anything  
Evil don't look like anything

Songwriter: SHEFF WILL ROBINSON

Songtext von Westfall © Joundsongs

Magister Ludi/kanrat

Sort:  

Schöner Song - man kann fast gleich mitsummen. ;-) Traurige Geschichte, aber die Musik hat auch durchaus "fröhliche" Facetten. Danke und lieben Gruß Kadna

Es soll am #sadsunday doch auch ein wenig traurig sein. :)

Ich finde, dass das Lied gerade durch diesen Kontrast besonders wird.

Genau diese Mischung macht's. That's life! ;-) Lieben Gruß Kadna

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87