Swan Lake-Sam CHALLENGE

@bluemoon started a new challenge recently! 'SOMETHING ABOUT ME' and the rules are here. SAM

Use the tag #sam-saturday.

When I was 1 year old my grandparents bought a cabin on Swan Lake. It was a hundred miles north of the small town that we lived in and in the 1950s driving there was an adventure and felt like we were going into the deep Northwoods.

image

I was lucky enough that I got to spend most of my childhood summer's here with my much-loved grandparents!

image

My grandfather taught me how to fish, I became a great swimmer, and my grandmother taught me how to prepare meals for a hungry crew! I learned to build fires in the fireplace and clean the day's catch and prepare a marvelous fish dinner. It's where I heard all the old family stories and learn to water ski. They were the best summers ever.

image

There was no indoor plumbing and one of our projects was to cut comics out of magazines and newspapers and plaster the walls of the outhouse with funny reading material! We washed our hair in the lake.

image

My aunt and uncle bought the cabin after my grandparents died, so it was always available, even though it wasn't quite the same! I could still take my children there and let them swim. It remained in the family until after my uncle died and even though my aunt tried for 10 more years, it just became too hard for her to maintain alone. Just keeping the grass mowed was a challenge. But I count my blessings that I got to enjoy that wonderful place for 50 years of my life.

image

It has since been torn down and a huge year round home has been built there and it is barely recognizable to me these days, but all my marvelous memories are clear and treasured!

Shadow Photo Contest Round 39- Duo Shadows



Posted with eSteem

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

image

Sort:  

I loved this memory you shared.

Enjoyed seeing the photos too. It's so nice that you got to enjoy that happy spot for so many years.

It was a happy spot! 50 years worth of great memories... Rather amazing.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

What a wonderful place to spend your summers @melinda010100. it sounds idyllic.

What a shame you weren't able to keep it in the family and the cabin was replaced with something big and modern. 😢

This sounds like a fun challenge. 😁

Rumah yang sederhana tapi terasa spesial

It was only used in summer to spend time at the lake.

hi mom @melinda010100 i really like your post.

a very beautiful house thank you mom @melinda010100

hi mother @melinda010100. nice to meet you again :)

mother @melinda010100, I want to ask a little, what's the bluemoon challenge about something from myself?

from what I saw in the post @melinda010100 like that. Am I right?

You are exactly right. It is to get to know each other better. Something About Me. I hope you join in and tell us something about yourself!

I think so too because it will be useful to know each other. I am interested in this. and I will join mom @melinda010100.

should it be posted on Saturday this challenge?

It is best on Saturday, or early on Sunday I think.

Maybe tomorrow night I will immediately make it. Thank you very much, mother @melinda010100

Our time zones are so different that you can easily get away with that. It is still Saturday afternoon here.

in Indonesia Sunday at 4:00 a.m.

What a wonderful post! It's always so cool learning more about the folks here on the Steem blockchain! That looks like a great cabin (except for the outhouse part 😆 LOL) and your summers there sound so productive and wonderful! So, the cutie in the last photo is you...? Sweet! 💖

Thanks! Me... In 1975! God, I'm old!

there is no other word for you @melinda010100, keep up the spirit and success always ..

Indeed, this was an amazing place. Thank you for sharing with us these nice family photos. I like the 1975 Melinda but I love the 2018 one. 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14