Something About Me (SAM) Challenge

in #sam-saturday5 years ago

gecdpzmlog.jpg

Image from Pixibay

SAM - ‘Something About Me’ is a #SAM-Saturday Challenge initiated by #bluemoon. The aim of this Challenge is to let people talk a bit about themselves, so that we all get to know each other better.

So, here goes… mmm.. where do I begin? Surely not from the beginning. It will take too long. I think for this post, I will talk about my passion in Quotes.

My 'love affair' with quotes began when I was in primary school. Every now and then, my form teacher would write a proverb on the board, and explain what it meant. Where possible, he gave examples, or draw parallels to situations where the proverb applied. I was impressed that there could be so much information, knowledge, and meaning behind a few words. I was captivated from then on. Whenever I came across a proverb, or axiom, or idiom, or aphorism, I would take a note of it. Later on, I extend the collection to things like Points to Ponder, Food For Thought, poems, parables and anything that interest me. Till now, I am still diligently collecting, as passionate about them as before.

Quotes are my surrogate educators. They are my teachers, guardians, and friends … always there to patiently motivate, encourage, advice, counsel, console, enlighten, educate, and at times to egg me on when I am feeling down, discouraged or disillusioned.

Quotes play an important part in molding the person I am today. You see, I was not academically inclined. I hate studying. However, I love to read. I was able to appreciate the beauty of words and literature. I read book after book in my younger days. (Reading is still very much my hobby and pleasure now.) It was through reading and quotes that I gained my worldly knowledge, and learned about Life. So, I will always be eternally grateful for quotes.

I chose the ID #quotes-haven on here to reflect my passion in quotes. Most of my posts would be of, or abour quotes. If you are interested in quotes, do drop by and have a look.

So, just a quick introduction for now. Please feel free to ask any questions. I will write more if there is interest.

8romh4y6ks.jpg

Thank you for stopping by. If you like the post, please give it a vote. Resteem it if you think it worthy. Follow @quotes-haven if you like humour, quotes and reading about Life.
Cheers!

Previous post: -

Steemitcentral Lyrics Challenge 4/60

0mhkwoioii.png

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you for the support and encouragement.

I love seeing you join in @bluemoons SAM challenge. I have enjoyed it from the beginning and have loved learning more about my friends!

Thank you Melinda. Some challenges are fun, but some I am just not into. This one seems interesting. Let's see. Have a great weekend. :-)

It's nice to learn a little more about you and how you became interested in quotes. !tip

Yup. If not for my love in reading and passion in quotes, I would have been the village idiot for sure.
Thank you for the tip. Much appreciated, but you mustn't spoil me.

🎁 Hi @quotes-haven! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @kunschj!

@kunschj wrote lately about: Takin' Out The Trash Feel free to follow @kunschj if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

I love your passion because it's one that definitely improves education and quality of life. Welcome to this challenge.

Thank you for the initiative. I think it is a great idea. Let's hope more will participate.
I think if not for my passion in reading and quotes, things would have turned out very differently for me, and not in a good way.

I'm glad you agree. Too many participants in this challenge will not be because many do not want to talk about them. Many are not honest about their life and identity.
I understand from this first post how these quotes helped you.

Maybe they don't feel comfortable revealing too much of themselves to strangers.
I consider myself an open book. If anyone wants to know anything about me, all they need to do is ask. But I would expect the same honesty and openness in return. :-)

A correct attitude! I don't think anyone will ask ...

I think you are right. :-)

Howdy sir Vincent! So you DO have a favorite thing, your favorite topic is quotes. ahha! This is a very cool and interesting post as well as well written!

Maybe I don't understand the meaning of 'Favourite', or what it means to have a favourite.
I am passionate about quotes, I enjoy talking about life, but are they my favourites? Not really, I enjoy other things too - just as much. Maybe I am a firm believer of not limiting myself. Enjoy all things. :-)
A simpler example. I like a drink now and then. It does not matter what you give me. Beer, gin, whisky, brandy, wine ... I drink them all. If beer is my favourite and you don't have beer for me, I will have to settle for something that is not my favourite. Bummer. But if I like them all in the same degree, then I am not, will not be disappointed. Understand what I am saying?

lol. howdy sir Vincent! yes, I understand. Is your brother and sister that way also. Like if you ask them where they want to go eat they don't have an answer because they don't care because everyplace is the best? This has to be very unusual unless it is a cultural thing. If it is then we need to adapt that over here!

As far as I know, they are. :-) I don't it's a cultural thing. I think it's more just the way we are. lol

then you guys are all very unique and would be a very peaceful group. No arguments about what to eat or where to go because no one has any favorites! There are some good advantages to that philosophy!

I guess we all eat to live. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61122.11
ETH 2972.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66