Lies I was told as a kid

in #sankofa6 years ago (edited)

images-20.jpg

source

I was told many lies as a kid by my parent and then I used to believe those lies as it create lot of fears within me, it was later on I started letting go of some when I realised it wasn't true after all, they told the lies just to make sure we didn't do some certain things or probably they just want me to get my own share of the lies their parent also told them.....

images-21.jpg

source
My parent once told me that if there is rain and sunshine at the same time, only one thing has happened, A lion has given birth to a king, lol, so funny, out of all the lions in the world, this normally occur once in a blue moon does it mean all the lions give birth at the same time, so hillarious.....
images-22.jpg

source
Another lie I was told was that I must not put my hand in the water dropping from the roof during rainfall as If i do and thunder strike, the thunder will strike me, this really scared me as I like to play with water very well, since I heard that , I used to caution myself, later I stopped doing it totally as I don't want to die yet.....

Another great lie I was told was that If I sit down on the passage Way, no matter the Food I eat I will never be satisfied, because ghost will eat the food with me, one day I actually tried it, I was surprised as I couldn't finish the food before me, it was a lie after all, no ghost anywhere..

The greatest of all is this I am about to share, it wasn't long after I lost my grandpa, it is always after lotta shout from my parent before I fetch water in the house, my mummy called me one day and told me the reason why she always tell me to fetch water at home is because every Friday, my late grandpa would always visit and whenever he does that, he will surely drink water, but if there is no water at home, he won't be happy with everyone, this really got me, I couldn't stay indoor alone at night anymore, for fear that my grandpa will come, I am scare of ghost... It was later on, when I grew up I realised it was all a lie, those lies made my childhood tho....

GOD BLESS

Sort:  

The lion part got me. Heard that growing up as well. I grew up in Abeokuta. The weaher can be funny here. It happens alot that it will be sunny and some rains will pour say for 5 minutes.

So yeah...

Good one fam

Dante is Here No fear

Cheers

Yes o,i actually believed it till later on when I get to sEcondary school

Though we use to listen to those stories as kids that we were, we are now more exposed and reasonable...

Exactly, I hope we won't tell our kids the same

Exactly, I hope we won't tell our kids the same

Lolz, funny you @sonkofa. Sometimes I wonder if the carriers of these superstitious beliefs don't ponder on them before disseminating.

Just kidding though, but it's fun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13