Lies My Grannys Told Me

in #sankofa6 years ago

Thanks to @sankofa for bringing up a contest like this,to help remind and clear away fears we still hold from our childhood programming.

I have been told many lies when I was just a kid ,some among my peer and others by my parent. few have been mentioned by others here. So I will focus on the ones not mentioned.
images_3.jpeg

We have just finished watching the movie Titanic,about noon my mum sitting ,talking to herself. A big round water pot between her legs and a kitchen knife in her hand ,with this she was scrapping the narrow neck of the pot from the inside through the open mouth and beside her was me trying to shake dust from a bale of clothes I have not been able to take to the market. shem she called my name and I answered. do you know why Titanic sink in the ocean ? And as a child I sincerely answered "no" since I really did not understand why the Titanic sunk from the movie.

it was because jack in the movie had sex with his girlfriend and that's what happen if you have sex. You either die or you go blind. She said

I sincerely believed this lie and it kept me running from girls most of my life even though I now understand it really wasn't because of the love making that resulted to the ship wreck ,I still have a phobia for women.

Few days after my mum told me her part about the Titanic, my dad in the spirit of telling me a story for the evening added that "in the olden days ,the sky was very close to the earth that people could touch it if they climb a tree but it started to go farther as men sinned and the sins of the earth has become so much that's the reason the sky is 100,0000000m far from us." hahaha, believe me , I would have written this in the exam if I was asked why the sky is that far

Till today I still wonder why the lies I was told as a kid was focused on sin .maybe because I was so much of a bad kid or maybe they intended I live a good -boy life which they succeeded to a degree.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Congratulations!,@shemzy Your post has been upvoted by Reach Out, which is proudly sponsored by @eturnerx. Our goal is to support Nigerian minnows on Steemit.


Join our discord group https://discord.gg/NWAkKfn

Benefactor : @bleepcoin

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by free-man from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82