The SBC Dispatch (May 04, 2018)

in #sbc6 years ago (edited)

sbc.png


A week ago I wrote The Final SBC Dispatch thinking that the developments in the Sports Betting Community will be taken care of by our Discord server and the @sbcbot account. I was wrong.

Since that dispatch, the development has slowed down.


Our resources are scarce. Time most of all. I have trouble staying on top of this account with all the conversations, comments, and posts that are requiring my attention.

I simply can't run the second account (publishing, commenting,...). For now, I'll put up these dispatches here as the new developments occur in order to inform all of our members about what's going on and to call for an organized action as the need arises.

Now, let's get to the business!


The Adrian's Troubles


Our new member Adrian ( @professionaltips ) got flagged for using the polish tag by some group called @polish-cleaners.

Instead of warning a new steemian, they've flagged his post and left a smug comment so I've left a nasty comment of my own. Luckily, @fullcoverbetting was more levelheaded than me:


polish.png
source


I'd like to thank @fullcoverbetting, @stimp1024, and @costanza for showing up and giving the support to our new member from Poland.


The Love Taxi Drives On


Our own Asian representative ( @lovetaxi005 ) got tired of waiting for a new account that he planned to use for posting the tips in the English language, so he repurposed his original blog. Go check out his latest post:


The Big News


Peter ( @fullcoverbetting ) is hosting the World Cup competition and we are 100% behind him. @stimp1024 is giving 25 SBD for the prize pool, we (as a community) are giving 10 SBD from the @sbcbot's funds.

The contest will need some promotion (resteems,...) from our members. We'll coordinate that activity with Peter and when he calls for action do answer the call.

There's gonna be some limitation on who can enter the competition for the general public, but our members can enter no matter their SP or reputation.

Here's a teaser:


U5dsY1rRfJu47rMEgCa2b5XCk4WTU8D_1680x8400.png
source


The Bot Update


I'm working on the bot today. So far I've done two things:

  1. Changed the upvote weight to 1200/(number of members) since there're members not publishing the sbc tagged posts at the moment.

  2. Added the @acelad rule - since he's publishing one post per week the bot will vote with 100% on it. Considering what he's done for our #live-betting channel I wish we could do more.

Don't be alarmed by the strange behavior that our bot may exhibit today. I'll tame the beast by the end of the day.


That's about all, for now. Good luck!


Sort:  

Nice work - thanks - nice to see the community getting off to a good start!

@shutthefrontdoor come and join us on discord: https://discord.gg/SAEf6nV

Your statistical analysis of the horse races would be very much appreciated. Did you see the Bloomberg article that @numpypython has posted in the comments here?

Good stuff, @beat-the-bookies. Community is coming along swell :)

Was just reading about someone who 'cracked the horse-racing code' on his way to a billion dollars on Bloomberg today. Hopefully that will be the SBC next season haha. For anyone who's interested:

https://www.bloomberg.com/news/features/2018-05-03/the-gambler-who-cracked-the-horse-racing-code

For sure it will!

We're on the right track with the stats models. :)

His had something like 120 different inputs but i guess it's worth it since he's going for those million dollar (and 100 mil dollar) jackpots.

You are doing great things @beat-the-bookies. Where would be without you.
It is good to see that we are becoming a real community with helping members, supporting contest and above all a great discord channel!
Let's go to the moon!
Next season we will be the bookies nightmare! No doubt about it, with all the stat models we are creating, all the tips we are spreading around!
Glad that I am member of this community!
During the summer we will work out all other plans! We will prosper!

We are going places Peter :-)

Great stuff, it's nice to stay updated on what's happening in the steemit betting community this way. I showed some support to Adrian to counter the flag he got. We are really starting to have some combined power to make a positive influence.

Just saw your comment there, so I've updated this post.

I've sent to Adrian dm with the link to your Getting Started on Steemit (Sports Bettors Edition) and a few tips on how to improve his posts (tables + images)

It is great that we are all doing this. Combined we are very strong!

Pumped for the contest!

And there's a Polish community? And even more, there's Polish police? I had no idea. I think my favorite part though is they commented in English and referred to their intro post which was in Polish, dammit I can't read Polish!

Strange things are happening my good sir :-)

Hello! Good article! I'm interested in the them of ICO and crypto-currency, I'll subscribe to your channel. I hope you will also like my content and reviews of the most profitable bounties and ICO, subscribe to me @toni.crypto
There will be a lot of interesting!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39