[Vlog] Cryptocurrency prices - "It's a madness!" The bitter-sweet Steem Dollar rise.

in #sbd6 years ago (edited)

It's been a while since I've done a vlog. In today's video I discuss the volatility in crypto prices and how difficult it is to do business with Cryptocurrencies that are purporting to be mediums of exchange.

I read that Steam is no longer accepting Bitcoin and I get why. Whilst I don't run a busy that accept crypto I do (where I can) try to transact in cryptocurrency. However it is increasingly difficult.

I like to use Steem Dollars (SBD) where I can as it is typically a soft introduction. People tend to understand the value of the dollar and until recently SBD has be well pegged to USD.

Of late that SBD has lost its peg dramatically, it is now trading at x5 more than USD. While this is fantastic for authors - An author that opts for 50/50 payout and receives $10 in Authors reward can trade their 5 SBD portion for $25 worth of Steem or Bitcoin.

However the pump is not such good news for people wanting to transact in SBD.

Boxing clever

A few weeks ago, I paid for boxing lessons in SBD. It was great. Coach knew what he wanted in terms of USD and I was able to pay him that SBD. It took 3 seconds and no fee. Perfect.

Now when I pay him for the next batch of lessons rather than paying the same amount of SBD, we'll need to renegotiate an SBD rate. Good job I didn't agree to pay in instalments else I'd have needed a lawyer to agree the terms!

Exchange delay

To compound the issue of agreeing an exchange rate is the behaviour of the Crypto exchanges. I’ve already posted about the issues I and others are having with Bittrex. However last night I sent some SBD to Poloniex and it still hasn’t been credited 12 hours later. There is a similar issue with withdrawing Steem/ SBD from Poloniex.

12 hours is a long time in crypto, particularly when there is a pump. What is to say Poloniex aren’t dumping mine and other deposited SBD at these tops and credited depositors after they have bought back at a lower price? That aside, how can I agree a fee with Coach, if there is no certain around when/ whether he’ll be able to exchange it when he wants to?

Could be worse

I cannot imagine what it is like to transact in Bitcoin and other crypto, where the protocols themselves are super slow (on top of any Exchange delays). Not to mention fees!

More likely I’ll just ask for Coach’s bank details and pay him in GBP.

Steemy negotiations

I'm currently trying to buy another service from a Steemian with SBD. They are negotating based on 1 SBD being worth 1 USD. As they have no certainty around the SBD price staying where it is; it's supposed to be pegged. I, of course, and not going to pay a 500% mark-up just to pay someone in SBD. The likelihood is that deal won't be done, not in SBD at least.

Sweepstake slicing

On a lighter note; I'm going to have to reduce the 500 SBD jackpot for Soccer Sweepstakes. Heaven forbid someone actually predicts 5 games correctly next week. I'd have to fork out $2500 usd just to pay out the prize money! Talk about buying at the highs! It's unlucky someone will hit but you cannot be too safe.

Bar humbug

With all the craziness in crypto at the moment (likely to get worse with the uncertainty surrounding Bitcoin Futures trading, it’s tempting to step away from cryptocurrency and just enjoy a relaxing Christmas with the family. What will be, will be. These are the kind of teething problems we should come to expect until this technology settles down. In the short term, I should bunker down and see where things stand in January.

However this cryptocurrency madness is strangely addictive. No doubt I’ll be having a healthy serving of crypto news with my Christmas pudding this year!

Sort:  

I feel like who know actually cared about SBD until they saw the price at $8 last night and I was shocked myself but the idea of being able to use cryptocurrency in a lot of places is awesome . I feel like Steem is slowely going to rise so it might be a good idea to Steichen sBD to Steem and get more in return . Overall with the rise of bitcoin a lot of currencies also fell after rising

It is what it is......
Yes indeed!

I really like your Vlogs. Even when your talking about craziness you have a sparkle in your eye and your voice is very pleasant to listen to.

Glad your still on the boxing training! I knew it was in you ;-)>

Next time we meet I will have to watch my self or u may throw a quick left hook hahaha

SteemOn Brother~*~

Awesome post, we need to start using SBD more in real life, I must start charge steem dollars for my personal training 💪🏼💪🏼💪🏼

Yep I will certainly try to pay for PT lessons in SBD if the USD peg comes back. Else it may be complicated!

@ivargereiko Obviously you are right speecch, i agree with you, need to SBD for real life. @nanzo-scoop

The peg is pretty good for preventing SBD going too low. It hasn't really dropped that far below $1 in a long time. The problem is the other side of the peg is super weak. In theory the high value of SBD will flow into Steem (because Steem Power entitles you to issue the SBD which is of higher value), increasing the Steem price and resulting in higher SBD issuance, higher supply will bring down the price.

It's a double edged sword. It definitely hinders commerce. However our upvotes are worth what, 5 3.5 times what they say on the page now?

I wasn't aware of the issues getting SBD onto Poloniex. I've been getting decent prices on internal exchange despite that.

I have SBD 'stuck'on the way to Polo too. I tried Bittrex today....it was worth the risk at these prices and it worked. Sold 20SBD for 116USD. Also bought some STEEM at the internal markets.

Kicking myself that I didn't just use the internal market. I'm starting to accumulate Steem again for under 10k sat.

I am still small, but I have been going to the internal market to trade SBD for Steem. Double and triple lately, quadruple this morning. An interesting time to be alive and on Steemit.

I always use the internal market! Works so great, so FAST!

I traded most of my SBD when it was like $4 because I thought THAT WAS HIGH hahaha now its over $18 hahahaha

Take a look at changelly. I've used them several times over the past few days and they're very fast. Msg me on steemit.chat if you want more info.

always a higher fees with changelly/shapeshift/blocktrades etc. but it is fast :)

paying in SBD for Boxing lessons sounds awesome.

Was your coach a Steemian already or did you convince him?

My coach is @colossus39, I introduced him to Steemit so he was open to the idea of being paid in SBD. I hope he held onto it!!

Ah..I think I saw the article even. Fit with 40 or so right?

SBD went even crazier last night....

If I'm ever in London, let's have a meg-friendly spar! I took lessons too though never actually boxed in a ring. And we are in different categories - [ i'm probably half a fly? ]

oh you took boxing lesson by sbd? is it common to have business with sbd at where you live?

Not common however if I have an opportunity to show people the value and power of crypto, I try to take it.

This crypto stuff is getting nuts lol... We need steem debit card lol

Its total madness, sir i believe there is no smoke without fire steem and sbd rise must have just triggered something. However i believe this christmas will be a blast

This is a crazy jump, why Steem does not grow as a SBD ?

It doesn't automatically follow that the Steem price should rise with SBD. SBD is not supposed to pump (in theory).

Thank you for your explanation @nanzo-scoop

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85