The joy of connecting the dots

in #school6 years ago

For the longest time I didn't feel like I want to learn new things. It can be explained by the current mainstream education system. It's a common thing. You want to be done with learning as soon as possible. Get your diplomas and be done with it. But I found out that life is a never ending learning process. Or to quote the american philosopher Fred Durst: "Life is a lesson, you learn out when you're through". ;) And how can you live a fulfilled life you you cannot enjoy the journey? 

Ever since I was a child I was told to do things I didn't want to do in the first place. Compliance resulted in good grades. Rebellion resulted in bad grades. Our education system nurtures the notion that you are not good enough. The main aim is not to be your best, but to not to fail. Energy flow where attention goes. Consequently you are focused on the possibility of failure. The feeling of a lack of worthiness is therefore closely tied to the learning experience which then as a consequence results in a reluctance to even wanting to learn new things.  

I worked as a teacher and I simply couldn't back up a system that took the fun out of learning. If there's one lesson I aim to teach then it's to do what you do with joy! You will automatically learn faster since generally it's the opposite aka fear that restricts our brain's capacity to process information. You will also have fun learning new things. And as a positive side effect: You will never stop learning because it's so much fun. By the end of your life you will be knowledgeable AF! ;)

Today I consider myself recovered from the fear-driven school indoctrination. I love to connect the dots. I love to discover completely new connections. In other words, I love to discover the new in the old as much as I love to discover the old in the new. 

However occasionally the old patterns pop up. I hesitate to admit that I don't know something when asked a question or I hesitate to ask for clarification when I don't get something. The old conditioning requires constant observation to be recognized. I guess realizing and letting go of the old and harmful pattern is a learning process in itself. It's another fun experience to become aware of your blind spots and slowly but steadily realizing that the old conditioning of your mind looses its grip. You move more and more towards a fully conscious and empowered being. And the reward is priceless: A life of daily joyful learning. 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76