Huge quartz crystal.

in #science6 years ago (edited)

ECB426E9-2E2A-4224-A99B-A8A943928B90.jpegFBF17E6C-9244-46C5-A65F-ADFAA08A6B87.jpeg64DDEA6F-34E6-4691-A8E2-874691538808.jpeg
Quartz is an very abundent mineral on the earth’s surface. It has piezoelectical properties; meaning it turns mechanical movement into electrical signals. If you are wearing a watch, there is a good chance that it has quartz inside of it.
This nice specimen was given to me as a gift by my aunt when she went to Arizona; whom a mutal friend gave to her.
I took this picture using my iPhone. I had to darken it to show the details of the crystal,it was dark when I took the picture. The problem is, when I took the picture the light of the flash made the photo kinda white due to the crystal reflecting the light back at the camera.

Sort:  

Wow! That's an awesome cluster! Very cool.

Thank you. I’m so lucky that I have a generous aunt that gives me neat stuff lol.

what a lovely aunt you have , it looks awesome , bit like kryptonite x

She is nice. Shes very smart too. First of the women in our family to leave the area to go to a university and she worked for the Department of Defense for years. She sat a good example for women. I m so proud of her.

you have a cool aunt then : ) do you still see her ?

Once in a great while. She lives far away.

What an amazing specimen, there is a lot of quartz veins around where I live, but they're all made up of just plain white quartz, nothing this clear, at least not this size. Funny, I just drove my trailer over a quartz piece sticking out of the ground today, that was at least 3-4 feet across and who knows how big in was under the ground, but it definitely didn't look this pretty.

Aww man you should have dug it up. People sell crystals on ebay. If I was there I would have dug it up for you.I am quite strong.

Those things are way too big, I'm telling you. Also, when I go kayaking, on our lake, there is a nice spot where big rock is sticking out and right through it there is a quartz vain going for at least 20 feet or so.

Oh man that’s nice! I never see crystals like that in my neighborhood.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62777.23
ETH 3059.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81