Rewarding the Undermined Gems Episode 3: @iamjadeline Support Rally and the Science of Kindness

in #science6 years ago (edited)

Today, I want to combat the myth of "Humans are generally selfish" and want to propose that kindness is in our intuition. However, this is not the universal truth and yes it is situational. I am NOT saying there are no selfish people out there or selfishness exhibited. This is based on one of my case study of rallying support and funds for @iamjadeline and family who went through a difficult time.

Hence, this post serves 2 purposes:

  1. Investigating on the science of kindness within humanity
  2. Showing a proof of transfer from my wallet to @iamjadeline for the upvote from my Discovering Undermined Gems #4: @iamjadeline's Family and #motivateme Quote of the Day Challenge from @theluvbug post
    and thanking all the generous souls whom I have met on Steemit

Can Kindness Be An Instilled Instinct Within Humans?

Celebrate our nature!.png
Created using Canva App

I checked on myself and realized anytime I decided to show acts of kindness, it comes first with an intuition or an instinct. It would suddenly just overwhelm me and sometimes "takes over" with a lot of enthusiasm, even if I may not be comfortable doing it and sometimes a little reluctant to step out of my comfort zone. But you see, I know myself too to be honest with myself. This is a promise I made to myself to always be true and real with myself and God. Of course I aim and target to be a kind person like Jesus but I know I can be really mean and even cruel sometimes, especially when I am angry or pissed too. It makes me wonder even more, how can kindness still sprung out of me (and you) as and when the situation arise?

Kindness is the act of trying to help others when they are in need and in difficult times. I started my Discovered the Undermined Gems series with just a leading in my heart and I obeyed it, without too much thoughts. If I do all the thinking especially on the discomfort of stepping out, I will probably won't even start the series until now. That is why I suspect that kindness is an instinct inborn. When I did the post to invite Steemit users to join me on a support rally for @iamjadeline, I bet many of you did not even hesitate even though you are technically strangers to us. It just happened the way human nature is wired to be!

In this article by Melissa Dahl titled Kindness Is Intuitive — It’s Overthinking That Leads to Selfish Behavior, she mentioned that self-centeredness only happens when we overthink. In general studies, we humans would choose to be kind rather than selfish.

What’s more, further tests of this finding have revealed that when people are in a time crunch, they tend to act with greater generosity. And the opposite is true, too: When given time to think it over, people tend to choose the option that serves themselves over the one that would best serve others. “Most people think we are intuitively selfish,” Yale psychologist David Rand told Nautilus, “[but] our lab experiments show that making people rely more on intuition increases cooperation.” Source

In a research conducted by David Rand, Martin Nowak and Joshua Greene, they collected data from 10 experiments when people were divided into groups of 4 and be tested with some money in hand. They are allowed to put some money into the pool or keep all of their money to themselves without sharing. The result was most people gave something. This was used to conclude that our "default" seems to be generosity over selfishness. Later, half of the subjects are given a time frame to make their decisions whilst another half of them can make their decision without time constraint. This time, those who were under time pressure, they responded faster and the amount given was even more than those who were given time to contemplate. By deducing that lesser time is given is equated to being instinctive, kindness is inferred to be magnified when we do it without much thinking, suggesting it can be part of our natural default mode.

tenor (21).gif
GIF Source

Randoms acts of kindness like helping a stranger even to the extent of risking lives are commonly reported on news when a tragedy hits. We just automatically would not ignore when circumstances arise. It is just not HUMAN. Having said that, I am sure all of us here have also been treated unkindly one way or another. Just because of that one or two or even frequent mistreatment, we cannot say kindness does not exist within us and it is no longer instinctive because it will be tested in intense situations and it may just "pop" up again. Our attitude of kindness is not determined by how others treat us, if we choose to remain to be powerful people who can choose our response in difficult times. Here are some wonderful stories of what a stranger can do in distress times.

In a different set of studies, Joshua Greene and Jonathan Cohen of Princeton University found that when subjects contemplated harm being done to others, a similar network of regions in their brains lit up. Our children and victims of violence—two very different subjects, yet united by the similar neurological reactions they provoke. This consistency strongly suggests that compassion isn’t simply a fickle or irrational emotion, but rather an innate human response embedded into the folds of our brains. Source

Neuroscientists James Rilling and Gregory Berns fromthe Emory University also found out that there is a triggered brain activity when we help others in the portions of the brain which is switched on when we experience pleasure or rewards, called the caudate nucleus and anterior cingulate. It showed the same activity as the fulfillment of our own personal desires. Hence why there is a saying in Chinese, 助人为快乐之本 (translated as helping others bring happiness to our own selves too), though we do not help others in order just for ourselves to feel good, and not using that as the motivation. People who smile more, friendly gestures and being more helpful are also recorded to have higher levels of oxytocin (the hormone responsible for commitment and uplifting the mood). Being kind may compel our body to a chemical reaction in our body to want to be kind again.

On the other hand, kindness can also be learned. I have expounded on learning kindness in one of my older series, Fruits and Values Series here. It is an attribute that keeps humanity going. I may not be kind all the time, and I know I cannot be emotionally manipulated to be kind too. I do not take it well when people come to show off to me the need of sympathy or pity. It has to come out from me organicly and sometimes deliberately. Well, that's me.

I love it that there are many scientific evidences that say that kindness is natural to be shown by us mankind. We are by nature kind, which explains why you and I sprung into action when you read my post and other posts, motivating you wanting to help. I hereby thank you for listening to your instincts!

tenor (22).gif
GIF Source

DQmU39Kmcj8jaYzHRBS2JKL3Daj8sZqH2ZFj82hLNCgfR4c.jpg

Rewarding The Undermined Gems Episode 3: @iamjadeline and family

If you missed my Discovering Undermined Gems #4: @iamjadeline's Family and #motivateme Quote of the Day Challenge from @theluvbug post
, I featured @iamjadeline in this post and rallied a support from Steemit. Boy and oh my, the response was overwhelming and honestly, I was stunned by it when I read my post the following day when it exploded beyond $100. I almost could not believe it and quickly dropped a messaged to @iamjadeline to ask her to check her wallet. Of course, I am ever so thankful to @jaynie who rallied the whole family of @steemitbloggers, @giantbear as well as @steemiteducation who helped me to expose my posts and not forget to mention, all the 57 resteems from you too. Your resteem and tagging of some people have helped me gained the exposure that I alone can never get.

IMG_20180508_171012.jpg
Screenshot of the payout received after 7 days, for both author and curators.

IMG_20180508_170931.jpg
I redeemed 48.609SBD to my wallet with 12.78 SP before I transferred to @iamjadeline.

Since I initiated some funding through my post, I think I SHOULD also create a post for the same purpose. Whether you are following a curation trail or not, every of your upvote counts and contributed to the final payout which was $48.609 in SBD and the rest came in as SP. I double checked with @iamjadeline if she wants the SP to be converted and how I can do that for her but she being a generous person too, asked me to keep the SP for myself (hope you all don't mind about this).

Here is my proof of transfer to @iamjadeline as the upfundme rally collection from all of your upvotes:

IMG_20180508_171042.jpg

Thanking All the Generous Kind Souls

tenor (5).gif
GIF Source

I know many of you have also upvoted @iamjadeline's posts and here is her thank you post to you if you missed it:
💖 THANK YOU to you & you & you 💖 | Jansen's 7-days Hospital Admission | Steemit is beyond just blogging.

Thank you for giving your time to read and also send SBDs /Steem into my or @iamjadeline's wallet. I am very touched by this great kindness from all of you all over the world and we have not even met. I'm very thankful for this wonderful community we have on this platform. May your great and kind hearts be rewarded too as kindness begets kindness.

Here is to thank all of you for you kindness and generosity shown, hopefully not missing any of you out:
@donkeypong, @justtryme90, @hanshotfirst, @analisa, @kachinhenry, @hopehuggs, @sportspodium, @steemiteducation, @ikrahch, @giantbear, @inciter, @hendrikdegrote, @velimir, @jaynie, @uwelang, @surfermarly, @ceepee, @kevinwong, @pharesim, @jacor, @tecnosgirl, @meanmommy33, @zord189, @perennial, @qurator-tier-1-2, @thekittygirl, @uniwhisp, @shuta, @sireh, @bluemist, @steemitbloggers, @edward-ong, @coloringiship, @fraenk, @byn, @asapers, @redrica, @raj808, @sweetpea, @meerkat, @minnowsupport, @corina, @curie, @jatinhota, @lynncoyle1, @borrowedearth, @hanbun, @derekrichardson, @yandot, @connie1018, @insideoutlet, @sam.hsuu, @nomadicsoul, @bafi, @teachblogger, @theluvbug, @rambai, @moonbot, @kushed, @elliebong, @littlenewthings, @erangvee, @shoganaii, @bigbear, @crosheille, @aurah, @damira, @cookntell, @joannewong, @raymondspeaks, @anwenbaumeister, @zhusatriani, @dylanhobalart, @shai-hulud, @metzli, @helenoftroy, @jusipassetti, @bobinson, @alvinauh, @andreajane, @bala41288, @prch, @elvielins, @bali-om, @chrismccron, @apanamamama, @soonmusic, @anneke, @arcange, @veenang, @frieda, @rwedegis, @kaerpediem, @viverridae, @myach, @papacrusher, @shuazir, @vanessahampton, @alishi, @yekrats, @gillianpearce, @inalittlewhile, @claudiaz, @coachmelleow, @thelovejunkie, @vinnu, @schoolforsdg4, @wdougwatson, @kimmiecfields, @maverickfoo, @rehanrhapsody, @poodai, @hitmeasap, @elizacheng, @spellmaker, @zapzap, @yourluckyphotos, @fataelrumy, @nanastraybutt, @cifer, @sbi2, @heartscally, @superoo7, @jiay, @bitrocker2020, @bobdos, @cikxaijen, @massivevibration, @serarious, @watersnake101, @roselifecoach, @joii, @nanawawa, @googlybot, @verasj, @azizbd, @frankabelle, @liberosist, @mutitum, @chloephuan93, @hooiyewlim, @abgmie, @khimgoh, @orangila, @gtpjfoodbank, @zhafiqkun, @poeticammo, @honoru, @liewsc, @broncofan99, @aaronleang, @crypto3d, @vincy, @kilathecla, @amarbir, @tadstrange, @joelai, @thinknzombie, @jamal.jeje, @ghostgtr, @technotroll, @michelleloh168, @davidke20, @superstarxtala, @diamondray, @affiedalfayed, @vaelriey, @afifa, @omitaylor, @brighttux, @arwine, @cindycam, @deisip67, @ariffashraff, @blinks, @howtostartablog, @hope-on-fire, @steem.curator, @chiboyzz, @fieza-hussin, @agrojaya, @hadebaryor, @onartbali, @ronyxoxo, @jasonwes77, @josephinengpy, @alimamasstory, @kweenbrand, @toby-l, @thebravesoul, @clik, @ardiy, @shaheerbari, @stahlberg, @orhem, @roseri, @turingtest, @matife, @superoo7-dev, @raphaelle, @fionasfavourites, @apteacher, @prfm, @meme-nexus, @gmaktub, @mashiliyanage, @smylie2005, @luissifontes62, @calebleejl, @blackelephant, @sintina, @bmotives, @adrianav, @markangeltrueman, @jinygoh, @cherryng, @girliepeters, @sayee, @yhchan0815, @beenathinkin, @arconite, @forgottendreams, @tngflx, @stevengoh, @cauac, @masterwu, @branlee87, @teammalaysia, @locikll, @jejangkit, @zipporah, @jacktan, @lasocia, @peaceandwar, @siren87, @positiveninja, @asherlee, @drawmeaship, @steemulator, @tighilt, @carmenl, @niouton, @sensation, @ejhaasteem, @skycae and @silviagoh.

I am also aware that some of you transferred SBDs to bid-bots to upvote the post too, thank you so very much!! I was targeting at only $35, thinking to cover her usual payouts when she was absent to write everyday like how she used to, but the overwhelming response went beyond that.

DQmU39Kmcj8jaYzHRBS2JKL3Daj8sZqH2ZFj82hLNCgfR4c.jpg

A Quick Update on Jansen

IMG-20180512-WA0000.jpg
Photo by @iamjadeline, Jansen on the right.

Here's a quick update on Jansen, if in case you missed @iamjadeline's post. Since I have told the story of how much hard times he has gone through, I feel I have the need to tell you too on how well he progressed. He is totally healed from RSV and now his lungs are recuperating to be strengthened again. He is off the bipap breathing machines and breathing normal on his own. He has been eating and drinking well. Not forget to mention, he is active and back to imagining he is "Spiderman", playing with his imaginary "Black Panther", his elder brother. It is just wonderful to see him back to his usual jolly self. You may read more on his updates, if you follow @iamjadeline. As for his mom, my sister-in-law, she is also regaining her strength to be as active as before on Steemit.

Thank you again to all of you for reading and contributing. Kindness has no end, let's see how we can pay it forward again! Kindness energizes us, doesn't it?

Wherever there is a human being, there is an opportunity for a kindness. ~Lucius Annaeus Seneca
Source

Lists of References:

  1. https://www.thecut.com/2016/06/kindness-is-human-nature.html
  2. https://greatergood.berkeley.edu/article/item/the_compassionate_instinct
  3. https://www.utne.com/mind-and-body/random-acts-of-kindness-ze0z1405zjhar
  4. https://greatergood.berkeley.edu/article/item/the_compassionate_instinct
  5. https://www.psychologytoday.com/us/blog/feeling-it/201306/compassion-our-first-instinct
  6. http://nautil.us/issue/37/currents/selfishness-is-learned

RoundPhoto_Feb152018_181213.png

81FB41B346924EE8233F0B6EC8D6624C2.gif

U5dtwrEWanaYvPSm2U9SjyrS9wcQH4t.gif

DQmepDz9DNUfgHYWZCABVYVEL9zjdbe9tnHWBXH2abTYx13.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

SB-Marvel-Family.gif
created by @zord189

SMbannersmall.png


Asapers.gif

Sort:  

interesting study. even for me in business , i find that using kindness will often help make future thing easier.

This is great @happycrazycon. Am glad @iamjadeline's son feels much more better. Thanks for initiating this act of kindness, you are an awesome person.
Thanks for the shout-out too. I feel so loved!

Kindness is in every person. Only some use, but others do not.

wow! excelent, really awesome post! thanks for share your good will with a lot of people :D

Thank you for the shoutout @happycrazycon ! It has been an honour to meet great people who tapped into their original design - Agape and live out the very thing we humans are created for - love.

A love that is not driven by mere emotions, but filled with compassion and strength , were kindness is its fruit of every human spirit.

It is truly awesome to know that the community came together to just help out, with the little they have, with teamwork and unity it became a mountain of blessing to anyone in need.

Keep smiling, and steem on!
God bless you!

upvoted and resteemed

Perhaps deep down we have a kindness gene...is it masked by a more powerful "survival" gene? I don't know...then again...as you eluded and as I have discovered some of my most powerful feelings inside come from helping someone...

Perhaps those strong positive feelings are a survival mechanism as they trigger positive chemical reactions within us...

I also realize we are what we learn...if one grows up in a mean and troubled environment...its what they learn...it can lead to anger and resentments and inability to be kind due to the hurt inside...then again other people go the other extreme in such situations...they become "super kind" in reaction to what they experienced and in some subconscious way make up for it...

The human species is influenced in many ways...its a balancing act in terms of where that leads in our behaviors...

Regardless I came to this conclusion a while back to help me get through all the "negative" stuff that seems to take front and center in all we hear and see...if the world overall wasn't at least 50% good...I don't think it would survive...frankly...the fact that the earth has over 7 billion people living on it...something must be going right!

Such a beautiful story of a community rallying together. I am so delighted for @iamjadine and her son. I cannot believe I have missed all this unfolding as I have been away from Steemit.

You are a very kind and beautiful person inside and out @happycrazycon, yet you still reflect on how you can employ even more ways to be a better person in your everyday living. You inspire me!!!!

Such a beautiful story of a community rallying together. I am so delighted for @iamjadine and her son. I cannot believe I have missed all this unfolding as I have been away from Steemit.

You are a very kind and beautiful person inside and out @happycrazycon, yet you still reflect on how you can employ even more ways to be a better person in your everyday living. You inspire me!!!!

Such a beautiful story of a community rallying together. I am so delighted for @iamjadline and her son. I cannot believe I have missed all this unfolding as I have been away from Steemit.

You are a very kind and beautiful person inside and out @happycrazycon, yet you still reflect on how you can employ even more ways to be a better person in your everyday living. You inspire me!!!!

So glad to hear Jansen is doing well! I agree, we are innately good and kind, and yes, when we over think then selfishness or perhaps just fear for one's own survival creeps in. Very well written posts with sources! Good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83