Sort:  

Thank you, molometer. For this post and also debunking supposed debunkers. I do get allergies and could probably get my hands on some local honey. It would easily cost me more than ten dollars but then so does the allergy medicine and it doesn't work all that well. Vancouver has really worked hard at maintaining our bee population. The truth though, I do not have much a sweet tooth and I find honey too strong tasting for this reason ... but ... I like mead. Do you think mead would work? We have a great local meadery.

From my research I have a formulated this theory.

Locally produced honey contains the pollen that you would be exposed to in that location and so your immune system has a chance to create antibodies by identifying the weakened pollen that has been through the gut of several bees.

In the process of partial digestion maybe the pollen spores are damaged and easier for the immune system to defend against.

Unfortunately this theory doesn't include tree or weed pollen?

It's a work in progress.

There is a precedent. Wherever I travel in the world. One of the first things I try to eat is the local yogurt.
It contains all the local bacteria and by doing this; you never get an upset digestive system.

There are so many charlatans, pseudo scientists and crooks on the web.
You can spend years trying to help and educate the public.
I know.
I have been doing it for years.

That is clever ... I am curious why wouldn't it work with tree and weed pollen?

I should qualify my statement.

"Unfortunately this theory doesn't include tree or weed pollen?"

(A)"It is to do with the pollination method used by some" trees

(B)"Agricultural intensification has led to the decrease of the diversity of wild and domestic pollinators"
Weeds

Thanks for your interesting question @prydefoltz I hope this data clarifies my theory.
The use of weedkillers has changed the amount of weed pollen captive bees can access.

That would make sense with some trees ... but it is worth a try for sure ... I am think honey, lemon and ginger tea ... will hit the spot:)

I never heard that about the local yoghurt. That’s a tremendously advantageous bit of advice!

It works a treat as your immune system gets a boost from the new culture.

As you indicate, the allergy medicine costs add up and quickly exceed the cost of that $10 jar of honey. My son eats honey on his pancakes and with his peanut butter, etc. The jar that costs you $10 Canadian dollars probably costs around $14 here, but lasts around three months or more. But, the bottle of allergy pills costs $12 for 60 once daily generic pills – the same quantity of the brand name is over $20 USD.

Also, if you use with hot foods, not only do you need less to get that sweet taste, but the taste is smoother when it’s hot. It’s also terrific with cinnamon (and ginger and lemon, especially in tea). I make cinnamon toast for Gray by just spreading honey on the bread and dusting it with cinnamon, then toasting it on the low setting, under the broiler for a couple of minutes. We like it better than butter and brown sugar cinnamon toast (the standard in the South).

Alright, you two ... I am sold. I will seek out some lovely honey:)

An easy-peasy recipe for fruit compote: Just dice a cup or so of your favorite fruit into a saucepan, add a tablespoon of honey, a pinch of salt, and simmer until the fruit is the mixture is bubbling gently. Taste test for your desired sweetness about half way through and add a bit more if desired.

Honey is much better at enhancing the natural sweetness of fruit than refined sugar, I think. While nice and warm, the compote is perfect on English muffins, French toast, pancakes, waffles, beignets, ect. And, if you cook it down enough and refrigerate it, you can even use it instead of packaged jams and jellies on PB&J sandwiches or toast. It’s never lasted more than a couple of days in my house, but I’m sure it would keep a couple of weeks in the fridge.

Sounds heavenly but for someone else ... never been a fan of sweet compotes, jams and jellies. The only jam I can somewhat tolerate is raspberry jam because it has a lots of texture and is a bit tart ... I'll just put it in my tea I think. I wonder also if the honey can't be cooked to a high temperature because that would denature the proteins that help with the allergies.

IDK if heat does that to the honey

You have nailed it @momzillanc the economics alone makes honey the clear winner.
Local honey contains naturally produced antihistamines and more appropriate for local pollen conditions.
The toast sounds lovely :)

I have to give this a try! My hay fever acts up quite a bit at this time of year!

I'm feeling much better already. Nose has stopped dripping and my eyes are not so sore.
Make sure you get pure honey and not the other crap.

@keithboone Have you ever tried nettle tea for hay fever?

Not yet but I have heard that this works too @keithboone thanks for the suggestion.

This spring I had the hay flue symptoms, my eyes were burning and other flue like symptoms. This tea has helped me. Worth a try.

Thanks I'll give it a try next time too. My 'flu' like symptoms have subsided with the honey and lemon with hot water.

I haven't tried this, I'll check it out, thanks!

You got a 20.34% upvote from @upme thanks to @molometer! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

This looks interesting. I'll take a look and thanks for the upvote.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I work at a local grocery store and this time of year is when we get the most requests for that local honey. Luckily we offer a few good choices. Good luck with the allergies. :)

Are they all locally sourced single producer honey? We have a few here too. Small batches but delicious. You can taste the local fields and hedgerows. It's very distinctive.
My hay fever is gone. It worked fine.
Thanks for asking.

Cool! Glad it worked.
They are locally sourced but large enough to keep our region of grocery stores stocked.
That's at least 20 stores.
Here is one of them called My local Honey

That's a great idea for a online business. Nice website @doctorcrypto

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

Should try this ; )

“This is a case of bad science and super lazy vested interest journalism trying to sell antihistamine drugs to an unsuspecting public.” – Spot on, and – again – all about corporate interests.

BTW, most of America hasn’t seen that fake news item – only the one third or so watching the anti-science, anti-facts media sources like “FOXNews” a.k.a. Faux News.

Around here, we have not problem getting local honey. You do have to be careful that it clear states clover honey or wildflower honey, etc, to be sure it’s not a sugar-started product. That’s a bit more difficult – a lot of honeys are sugar-started here. Interestingly, though, the biggest honey seller in the country – Sue Bee Honey – is a sugar-started, blended honey.

As to the benefits for your allergies, the conventional wisdom is that you have to use it some time to see the benefit. If you use it regularly from now on, you will likely see better allergy response next year.

Oh, BTW, another help with allergies: Wash your hair and face before going to bed at night. These most exposed parts of your body acquire pollen deposits throughout the day and then you go to bed and leave spread those deposits to your bedding.

Luckily we still have some good sources for unbiased data here in the UK. For how much longer is another question as the race to the bottom continues.
Thanks for the input on washing off the pollen and cleaning clothing and bedding. I am aware of it but some readers may not be.
Faux news etc have a lot to answer for with their misleading commentaries. You can't call it news just propaganda.

It’s kind of scary the way the conservatives are so willing to be misled. But, haven’t you found that those who are mendacious by nature are the most likely to be misled – nay, deluded – by mendacity?

There are many deluded people out there of all political leanings.
People need to develop their critical thinking skills but it is too easy to just follow the herd.

"Ignorance is bliss" is no justification or excuse when they know the true facts.

You’re spot on about critical thinking skills. Our schools don’t really help kids learn critical thinking anymore. They’re bogged down by the system, with no room to do more than teach to the tests.

I never liked that “ignorance is bliss” colloquialism. Ignorance is just ignorance – period.

I have local natural honey and lemon for colds and sore throats much in in the same way as this, particularly soothing for sore throats.

I don't really get hay fever, fortunately for me I suppose - but I can see the theory behind this idea - and to be honest honey and lemon is a really refreshing warm drink just to enjoy!

Fascinating to read all the information about the shop bought honey, we are lucky to have a few bee keepers locally that sell jars of honey - comb and all!

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

That's good to hear @c0ff33a that you have access to locally produced honey. It has many health benefits.
I developed hay fever in my late 40's whilst living in Cape town. I'd never had it before that.
Using antihistamine drugs has many bad side effects including depletion of serotonin which can lead to depression. Amongst many other things.

"most of the Bee populations in America are dead". Don't get me wrong, I'm not trolling here, just want to say that if that's true, the planet dies, If there are no bees, there's no pollination and without pollination ... should I go on?
"dying or contaminated" that may be, I don't know, I'm far from America.
Buying local honey is not always possible. Bee owners often travel a lot to get a good spot for the bees. I live in Romania and we buy honey from someone in the village where my dad lives but I know the man is away with the bees most of the summer. Situation might be different in the US, where people have more land.

You can check out the data for yourself. I do check my facts before making statements.

"Non-CCD winter losses as high as 50% have occurred in some years and regions (e.g., 2000–2001 in Pennsylvania). Normal winter losses are typically in the range of 15–25%"
Source

Don't you think the bees and the planet need our help? @erikah

"as high as 50%" that means half and you've said "most of the Bee populations in America are dead".
On the other hand yes, bees and the planet need out help and I'm doing what I can.

I'm assuming that English is not your first language? @erikah

Respectfully I would suggest that you really must read more carefully. I actually stated that:-

"most of the Bee populations in America are dead, dying or contaminated"

Which is an accurate description of the real situation.

Thank you for your contribution. It is of great value if it helps to clarify the information for a wider understanding.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63706.21
ETH 3073.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76