Tree tuesday - also a record player that plays slices of wood

in #science6 years ago (edited)

tree.JPG
Image explanation at the bottom of this post.

A record player that plays slices of wood. Year ring data is translated into music, 2011.
Modified turntable, computer, vvvv, camera, acrylic glass, veneer, approx. 90x50x50 cm.

Listen to the music of trees

German artist Bartholomäus Traubeck created Years

A tree’s year rings are analysed [sic] for their strength, thickness and rate of growth. This data serves as basis for a generative process that outputs piano music. It is mapped to a scale which is again defined by the overall appearance of the wood (ranging from dark to light and from strong texture to light texture). The foundation for the music is certainly found in the defined ruleset of programming and hardware setup, but the data acquired from every tree interprets this ruleset very differently.

Is nothing that a tree cannot do? It sounds so wonderful. The rings of the tree are translated into music.

Credit for image at top: Photo by me with my Canon EOS Rebel
This tree is very special my husband planted it a few years ago, it is back again look at the leaves; before you know it we will be able to play music with it. For now the birds singing is enough for me.

Thanks for reading my post.

upvote, comment resteem

@rebeccabe

Sort:  

That means tress also sing like us as you wrote about tree's talking ability in previous post. Though it's converted to music but I appreciate this great creativity.

thats true ..thanks

Wow, it really amazing. I like it @rebeccabe. Tree and music really wonderful

wonders never cease

Wow, fantastic music from tree rings! Who would have thought it!? I always thought the tree rings just spoke of how old the tree was. Now trees are speaking to us thru music....how great is that?

Trees come in a lot of ways. Fruit, flowers, woods, shades and many other things come in handy.Plant trees, save the environment.

So fascinating! That is the beauty of nature, expect the unexpected, beautiful music indeed!

nice science post
upvote done

What a fascinating and totally bonkers idea. Why am I not surprised the inventor is German? ;)
Nice tune but difficult to dance too. lol tip! Resteemed.

Hey, thanks and also for the tip.

I have a German car and love it. You know my maiden name is a German name.

very nice post and nice friend of my @rebeccabe and I really like the same wood and leaf, let alone the kind of cool wood like this I really like it, I will share your post you friend, I am happy to share his gratitude know from me @kabil

thank you :)

Maybe bartholomaus creates music inspired by the tree philosophy..
Have a nice day @rebeccabe

Thats pretty cool to know. I will waiting for your next post. God bless you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34