Monosodium Glutamate MSG: Latest Marketing Video for idiots...

in #science6 years ago

DON’T BE FOOLED. This video was obviously created to save a dying industry. A dying industry that cares less about your health and previously profited off of your ignorance. That is the industry of those in business to sell you and restaurants MSG. Restaurants buy MSG to assist you in becoming addicted to their food...because the best customer is one that keeps coming back for more and more and more.

Ok I gotta slay this one RIGHT here... RIGHT now.

The Short Version: is MSG toxic?

  1. Put MSG on an open wound...do you feel a sharp pain? (yes)
  2. Swallow a spoon-full of MSG...do you get a mucus response in the throat within 10 minutes? (yes)

If one answers "yes" to either question, the substance is toxic. And those are the basics 🙂 Get as complex with science as you want; those 2 tests will help save you time and mental energy.

Check out the video, and following is a response for anyone that needs help seeing through this video’s lies.

MSG isn’t toxic. No, really, it’s not. It isn’t an evil chemical that gives people headaches, or asthma, or healt palpitations.

Oh good, I’m glad that a toxicity expert came around to inform me about MSG. I’m listening.

How do we know? SCIENCE!

Honestly, I’m getting skeptical already... “appeal to science,” eh?

This is what I think about every time I hear, “Science” or “it’s science” to add further substance to any piece of information:

Science (noun) - a systematically organized body of knowledge on a particular subject.

Basically, it’s just information, and there’s no degree of whether or not it is truthful or misleading. It’s just information.

Continuing...

MSG stands for monosodium glutamate, which is a naturally-derived compound of sodium and glutamic acid.

Ooooh, “naturally-derived”. Keep in mind, this absolutely, positively, does not mean that it is, “naturally occurring in nature.” Which is more important:

  1. Derived in some “natural” way (without special help or intervention), or
  2. Naturally occurring in nature?

Either way, MSG is what is known as an “isolated substance”. This means it will have some degree of imbalance—and any imbalanced substance will rob materials from your own body for the sake of balance. Isolated substances drain you, toxify you, etc.

...but you probably know it best as... or from the ubiquitous social media campaigns that warn you about how horrible it is.

Personally, I haven’t seen any social media propaganda specifically aimed at MSG being toxic. However, I do see this pro-MSG video that obviously had a lot of production time put into it. There’s even a credit screen at the end with executive producers...

...definitely not a work created by the love of an honest, sincere YouTuber who only wants to help his fellow man achieve better health.

...it’s just a combination of “sodium” and a naturally-occurring substance that’s already inside your body.

Ok, and crude oil is also a naturally-occurring substance; however, it is not “already inside your body”, so that example I use purely as humor. I’ll use another example :) Alcohol is “naturally-occurring”, and you can easily find it already inside your gut from foods fermenting (and pseudo-foods putrefying) inside of your body. This does not mean that alcohol is not toxic....because clearly, it is.

So why is everyone afraid of it? Because there was this one time when one uninformed person questioned it.

I have little to say about this comment. And I do have the question: do people today still listen to information structured to insult or talk down to other individuals?

...MSG was first developed in 1908 by Japanese chemist — .

Wait a second! What happened to that “naturally-occurring” part? What happened to convincing the listener that MSG was perfectly fine, safe, and natural? Well, there you have it: MSG is a processed, developed item.

At best, MSG is an isolated substance. And like most isolated substances, it is toxic for the human body.

The rest of the video is history, feel good stories, and no-substance or “science”.

However, it has since been found that many of those initial studies [against MSG] had critical flaws...

...and the biggest flaw this video mentions is that “people knew they were having MSG”. This is indeed a flaw, but surely there’s some other flaw that cripples all of this research the video producers are talking about. Considering this serious flaw was neglected, apparently there are no other serious flaws, eh?

But recent research has found no ...

...I’ll just stop the quote there, because that last quote basically communicates:

“MSG is awesome, so keep eating it, get yourself addicted to it, and make sure your local restaurant keeps buying MSG so that we can keep selling MSG to restaurants.”

Is MSG Toxic?

Yes.

And here’s how you can find out yourself!

  1. At your own risk: Make a small incision with a pocket knife on a discrete area of your leg. Now cover it with MSG powder. Do you feel pain?

  2. At your own risk to your health and possibly your life: take a tea spoon of MSG, put it in your mouth, and swallow. Do you have mucus production in your throat within 10 minutes?

This is a very, very basic way to determine if something is “toxic”, or will readily promote harm to your body.

I have to admit, the pain from #1 could also mean that your many tissues are “fusing closed” or “fusing together”. This has high potential to excite your nerves that are responsible for communicating sharp pain. Indeed, item #1 is a little more complicated...

Why was this video made?

To manipulate you.

“Glutamic Acid is also found in breast milk.” — yea, probably found in breast milk because the mother is eating MSG. Duh.

Thank you! :)

It is my wish that businesses supplying MSG flop; they have more creative things to do for humanity!

Some info about me: I've been involved with Bitcoin since 2010. By trade I am an expert on blockchain technology. I am the Project Director for Wall of Coins, and CEO for Genitrust, Inc. I eat primarily fruits and leafy greens ("fruitarian"). This is known as a frugivorous diet, which is the diet by design of the human species and most primates. I don't cook my fruits, so you may also call this "raw vegan". I have eaten virtually every food item and major cultural style on this planet. I have experienced long periods of many different diet regimens: acid/alkaline, ketogenic, vegan, etc. In my spare time as a child, and an adult, I truly relished reading articles, books, and research papers on nutritional observation. I also enjoy and frequently practice long periods of juice fasting, water fasting, and dry fasting.

Thank you for reading, upvoting, tipping, and re-steeming!
Robert Genito
Steemit | Instagram | Twitter | Facebook are all @robertgenito

Sort:  

The poison in spinach and other plants is WAY more toxic than MSG.
The LD50 for MSG is about 15 grams per kg
Oxalic acid dihydrate: is about 375 mg/kg

Overall though I don't think people should be eating MSG every day and it seems like there is too much salt and sugar added to foods. I don't think bread should have sugar added to it. It's very hard to buy sugar free bread in the USA. :(

Not to mention that it is equally as difficult to not find bread with MILK added to it. Sheesh :D the worse thing about MSG is the addictive nature... this ensures you’re always bringing in that micro acidity :D good info, btw !

Interesting! I'm going to have to check the bread labels some more although I'm mostly upset about the sugar and would probably be ok with the milk. Salt probably helps the bread last longer so there is some justification for salt. I thing msg might give me headaches so I personally don't consider it addictive although I'm sure it is for a lot of people. I hate headaches! lol I do like Doritoes though but I only eat a few bags a year.
You can google LD50 values for various stuff.
Rhubarb is pretty high in the oxalic acid poison so you might not want to eat too much of that in a setting.

Processes sugar is surprisingly pretty bad, yet I will still have that to consume any day before milk! That’s some evil stuff. Did you check the bread labels? :) it’s surprising how many breads have milk in them...!

I think processed sugar is a lot worse than milk. I just finished a loaf and forgot to check the label. I need to get some bread soon though. I don't like eating bread but it's very useful and cheap. I'm not sure humans should be eating grains though.
FYI
https://steemit.com/community/@dustsweeper/ann-introducing-dustsweeper-a-new-service-to-turn-dust-into-profit

Here’s an idea: eat some bananas instead of bread. More useful, costs less per weight, and has every nutrient known to be needed by man.

And bananas do not contain milk or processed sugar :)

That's a good idea but I can't make a sandwich out of bananas. :(
I did buy some bread recently. No milk but it does have sugar. I'd rather have bread with milk in it than sugar.
Have you heard about @dustsweeper?
20180513_132312.jpg

Is MSG Toxic?
Yes.

I had never known about this substance. Thanks @robertgenito for the enlightenment about this subject matter. With this am going to labour to take keen attention and care of which restaurants i go to for a meal.

I wish I could tell you which restaurants to go for a meal! When I go out to eat, I generally get a salad mixed with raw ingredients from their entrees :D you’d be surprised at what amazing salad potential these restaurants have!!

dddd.PNG

Some time ago it had been talked about that this was in Mexico, and even many people had done tests like the ones you mentioned and all the answers were some consequences for health. Grateful for this information that you share for your friend blog it is really important to make known to avoid extreme cases. Regards!

Hello friend enchanted with your post, very interesting and beneficial for us, we need to see many more content dedicated to health and human care. Greetings from already following you friend.

El vídeo esta realmente fantástico, El MSG es toxico? diría que si, me agrada mucho la información sobre la salud que publicas, saludos amigo mio :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72