Incredible Magnetite Octahedron's

in #science5 years ago

I was going to save these for #Fridaysrock, but I have plenty of other rocks to share on Friday and these are so special I really wanted to show everyone.

As I mentioned yesterday, I picked up a bunch of magnetite specimens from a member of my old Gem & Mineral club. I normally wouldn't be attracted to magnetite, but these pieces were really unique. If they caught my eye then I am sure they would catch other people's eyes too. 

The first set are these small, but impressive. The growths form these perfect triangles one on top of the other. I've beed doing a little research, but I have yet to find how and why this magnetite forms this way.

They measure about 3/4" or 2cm across.

Next up is this amazing mini cluster. I was so stoked to find this small specimen full of octahedrons. BTW, and octahedron is 2 four sided pyramids connected at their base, forming an 8 sided double pyramid. Fluorite and sulphohalite also form octahedrons.

My pictures really do not do this piece justice. It was difficult to photograph, but in real life it is stunning.

Next up the medium sized piece. One main crystal with two smaller ones attached.

Look closely at all the small triangles on the faces. Incredible!

And now the main attraction, the behemoth. I say that because the collector told me that these are very rare in this size.

These magnetite crystals are from Utah, just outside of Cedar City. They were found in a very small vein about 10' wide. From reading around the web they are very rare.

You can find smaller octahedrons, even some clusters, but this specimen's main crystal measures over 2" 5.5cm tall! And it was only the second biggest she had. There was one even larger and I am thinking I am going to have to buy that one from her too.

The more I dig into this gem and mineral world the more amazed I am. There are so many things to discover and learn about and so little time. I hope my gem and mineral posts are as fun for you to read as they are for me to research and write and can give you a nice peak into this wonderful, often unseen world of ours.

Thanks for reading! No back to binge watching The Expanse for the third time!

https://www.acuitas.app/

If you love gems and minerals you can visit our shops:
US - https://www.etsy.com/shop/Rt395Minerals
Japan - https://www.rt395mineralsjp.com
Sort:  

Whoa those are very cool!!
Caught my eyes, will any
be for sale? :-)

Aren't they amazing? all those triangles.

These will not be for sale in the US. They are all going to Japan. I will keep a few for my personal collection and sell the rest. However, I will meet up with the collector I got them from the first weekend of May and will definitely get more. Those I will offer for sale. You'll know when I have them!

Congratulations @rt395! You received a personal award!

DrugWars Early Access
Thank you for taking part in the early access of Drugwars.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

amazing photos... I'm impressed and you captured your rocks well!

Thanks @snowyknight. I'm just using my iPhone 7 with a macro lens. If I had our EOS they would look much better.

These are quite incredible! Such beautiful specimens. How fun to get to see these.

Good news, I will be getting more from the collector! I might put one up for sale on my Etsy shop and I am even thinking of taking a trip out to Utah to dig some up. Time will tell. Thanks!

I saw that @shasta was interested, so you may have to go digging!

Howdy sir rt395! I've never seen anything like these, they're amazing! Is magnetite used for anything, is that what they make magnets out of? lol I know nothing about rocks!

Magnetite and it's non-magnetic twin, Hematite, are iron ores. So, yes, it is used, but seeing this beautiful structure I don't know how someone could toss it into a furnace and melt it down.

howdy again sir rt395! oh I agree, the ore you showed were stunning! I take it that it is rare to find it in that form?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75