Mineral Mondays #38 Durango Amethyst Lace Agate

in #science5 years ago

There are so many amazing gems & minerals in the world. We collectors are always stumbling across new, beautiful material, Durango Amethyst Lace Agate is one such mineral I just discovered recently. 

I don't know much about the material other than it comes from Durango, Mexico and it's an agate with amethyst. It looks to have grown like many other agates, layer by layer, but with a final layer of amethyst in the center.

Mexico produces a lot of awesome minerals from crazy lace agate to opals to aurichalcite to turquoise. We find ourselves getting more and more specimens and material from Mexico these days.

From what I was told by the dealer the material differs from other amethyst lace agate because the Durango material has red banding in it. It really gives the material an additional wow factor.

Since I have just gotten my hands on the material I haven't done much with it. I did cut a few slabs for our Etsy shop if you are interested. I will be listing them this week. I may list some rough as well depending on if the specimen is too cool to cut into slabs like this one.

If you know anything about this material I would love to hear from you. Please leave a comment. Also, if you have any similar material please show us in the comments below.

That's it for this week. We'll be back next week with a "Gems of Pala" post. We went to the Ocean View Mine this past weekend to dig for tourmaline, morganite, aquamarine and more and came away with a lot so check back next Monday!

Thanks for reading!

https://www.acuitas.app/

Sort:  

Very pretty! I really like the bands of amethyst. I don't think I have ever seen anything like this one. Thank you for sharing it.

Thanks Nat. I really want to find a piece in which the amethyst is cleanly terminated. That would be an awesome specimen to have.

Yes...that would be very cool!!

Stunning! There are so many amazing rocks and what I find crazy is how some are only found in specific regions across the world. It makes finding one a very rare occasion!

It's interesting to think how small these pieces of rock are in relation to the planet and then the galaxy. Of course each one has its own character, but there is a LOT of rock out there.

Thanks!

Your post has been read and you did great! You received a 40.0% upvote from us for your post with the geology tag since you are a member of the geopolis community.
Keep on writing and stay curious!

So beautiful :)

Ya, very cool material. Nature knows no better artist.

Love those wavy patterns in the rock. Looks like those layers of colored sand people put in jars.

Ya, they are mesmerizing aren't they?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63202.55
ETH 3085.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85