Do Electronic Cigarettes Help Quitting Smoking?

in #science6 years ago

Smoking electronic cigarettes (vaping) is generally considered less unhealthy compared to smoking classical cigarettes. But do they actually help to quit smoking?


By TBEC Review CC BY 2.0], via Wikimedia Commons

Depending on what you expect from vaping you might get what you want. If you expect that you will not inhale tar and other things that can be produced while smoking you will get exactly what you expected. But if you expect to quit you may be disappointed. A recently published study shows that people who vape may have higher tendencies to quit compared to regular smokers but in the end, both groups seem to be (un)successful at about the same rate.

It is even worse for people who combine classical smoking and vaping. Those have even a lower probability of quitting. About 30 % of people said that they combine both ways of smoking when the study began. About a year later 90 % of them still said they use both products and they haven’t even lowered the number of classical cigarettes smoked – leading to an increase in levels of nicotine consumed.

Smokers are primarily addicted to nicotine but the addiction is often also combined with a habit of manipulating with a cigarette and the scientists want to continue in their research to see whether other factors play a role in quitting. Like potentially the taste of the vaping fluid. But so far it seems that e-cigarettes haven’t really made quitting much easier.

Sources:


  • If you like the content I’m producing about science maybe you will like the content I produce about gaming as well! Be sure to check out my other blogs!
  • @gaming-trail Where we are your everyday source of gaming-news!
  • @kralizec Where I review video games and make commentaries about video games
Sort:  

I think at the end of the it is your motivation to quit. All products including vapes are mere tools to meet the end. I have failed so many times in my attempts to quit. And all that failures happened even though fibrosis is what I work on. I would not attribute my success in quitting to cape either. Even though it helped me control withdrawl symptoms. But taking help from an addiction expert counsellor is what helped me a lot. I think people should consider this option along with whatever aid they choose - gums, cape, patch or cold turkey.

It helped me quit traditional cigarettes. Though now I'm stuck with a "vaping addiction". On the other hand, I do think (and hope) that it is less unhealthy and at least now I and my apartment don't smell like an ashtray anymore.

Indeed, it is still a better option that conventional smoking. At least prelim 2017 study found it to be safer.

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

It is decidedly so

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97