The Other Form Of Censorship

in #science5 years ago

The Lack Of Censorship


Those in the crypto-sphere are attracted to it for different reasons. Some are anti government, some are anti FIAT (regular currency), some are anti science and some are up to just plain evil acts. In fact, in the early days of Bitcoin nearly 90% of early adopters were using it for criminal activities. Thankfully, as more and more decent people started to embrace crypto-currencies, that percentage dropped significantly (there's still a long way to go). Steem Monsters being played by innocent kids should drop it a lot more. :D

One of the draw factors to crypto is the lack of censorship, especially on Steemit and associated venues like DTube, Dsound, VIMM, etc. You can largely publish whatever you want here, free from the fear of being banned and so forth.

I came here because YouTube decided that I didn't have enough subscribers nor was my content generating enough views for me to continue to have advertising attached to my videos.
I didn't care about censorship, just the unfairness of it all. In fact, I have made more SBD on DTube in the last week than several months on YouTube.

While there is no censorship here, you are not free of consequences of your very transparent actions. No one has to read your stuff, stay followed or watch your next video. If people are following your stuff, it's because they want to be there and that's a good thing.

But there are also the dregs and wastrels that come along with it, conspiracy theorists and a whole heap of pseudoscience along the way. Some of this stuff is not only sickening, but quite dangerous too (encouraging the stalking / harassment /bombing / killing of political opponents, rape apologists). Do you want your kids to see this stuff? Thankfully, there is an up and down vote system pushing this nasty stuff to the bottom and the hopefully the good stuff to the top.
I have seen the Steemit community go after con artists and it's reassuring to see.

The Other Censorship


I often find myself silenced in wanting to speak out against the darker nature of humanity, the ignorance, hate, not because I can't speak nor is it because I cannot find the words. It's because regardless of what I say, it will be either ignored, drowned out by sheer numbers or I start losing upvotes the moment I go against the grain of the Steemit-group-think. So, I will just not bother to reply to things that I know are wrong. Some of this stuff makes me very angry and it's the stuff that unfortunately gets the most upvotes.

This is a form of self censorship and it's one that I have to work on. But I also have to pick my battles and know that people cannot be convinced against their will, and that the lack of censorship means that I can still post whatever I want here and I will continue to do so.

For now though, my intention is to just create good content and hopefully making this a better place for everyone, shifting that percentage ever closer to 'awesome'.

Sort:  

You don't like conspiracy theorists? But Elvis is alive, I swear! ;)

I don't hate conspiracy theorists for the most part, I was once one of them. It would be hypocritical to do that.
I am referring to the darker stuff where people's lives have been put in danger because of the misinformation that gets spread. And Elvis... is definitely still with us. ;)

Everyone's lives are perpetually in danger. That's the kicker.
I have an Aunt who's scared of her own shadow. Every time I see her, she's on and on about how I should cut out gluten, or put bars on my windows, or stay off the internet.
She's timid and afraid and like all of us, she's getting older. Imagine investing your whole life in trying to avoid dying; then right at the end dropping dead anyway.
There are no preventable deaths; only postponable ones.

True, but we don't need to live in fear. I have wasted far too much of my lifespan doing that.
The trip to NSW for the Christmas Party is part of getting out of my comfort zone and creating the life that I want to make for myself. Now, there are no guarantees of anything, but I have to stretch myself a lot more mentally. Death may be certain, but I need to cram a lot more in before that happens.

Glad to have you along on this crazy ride, mate :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61618.64
ETH 3009.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78