Sex, Drugs and Neurotransmitters

in #science6 years ago

Picture

Drugs. In one way or another, they’re a part of everyone’s life. Some take illegal drugs, some legal ones, some take drugs that are not necessarily considered drugs. But be it cocaine, alcohol or sugar, it all has an effect on our body, good or bad.

@techslut asked me to write a post about the endocannabinoid system and cannabis. I thought I already knew plenty about this and wouldn’t need to do much research. I was wrong.

The endocannabinoid system is incredibly complex. It influences cognitive processes, fertility, appetite, pain, memory, mood and might even contribute to what is known as “runner’s high”. At first, it was believed that there are only two receptors for the system, CB1 (found mainly at presynaptic sites) and CB2 (mainly found on immune cells). And then … they discovered more.

Isn’t biology great.

To simplify this post, I will try to concentrate on CB1 and CB2 with emphasis on CB1. CB1 is, as already mentioned, located at presynaptic sites. What does that mean? @suesa

A synapse where neurons are in contact with each other and transmit information. Usually, the order is neuron 1 releases neurotransmitters via the presynaptic side, those pass through the synapse and enter neuron 2 at the postsynaptic site. Neuron 2 then transmits that information.

For CB1, the transmission is the other way around! The transmitter, endocannabinoids, comes from neuron 2 and enters neuron 1 through the receptor. The result is that neuron one takes up less calcium, which plays a significant role in the release of neurotransmitters.

Long story short: endocannabinoids cause neuron 1 to transmit less information. That can cause pain relief. It’s no surprise that the endocannabinoid system can be found in most, if not all mammals.

Now, endocannabinoids are produced by your body (endo comes from the Greek endon which means within or internal). But they’re not the only cannabinoids, which you’re probably aware of. I’m talking about the well-beloved plant marijuana - or cannabis.

I can’t count how many times I’ve been told: “cannabis is completely harmless!”. While I agree that there are drugs much worse than cannabis, I can’t agree that it’s completely harmless for everyone. It affects the endocannabinoid system and you shouldn’t trust anything that influences a system that controls so many things in your body.

Want an example?

There have been studies that suggest that cannabis might have a negative influence on male fertility.

Sperm production and maturation are influenced by the endocannabinoid system, which means excessive use of cannabis can lead to damaged or just generally very weak sperm. And while low doses of cannabis might increase libido, higher doses are associated with a total loss of it and even erectile dysfunctions.

One study found a link between marijuana and lower testosterone, but a different study didn’t. Some studies suggest a link between the use of cannabis and more breast tissue in males (“man boobs”). None of this is certain, but it should be enough to be careful.

But what else does cannabis do? Why does it feel so great? Why are people taking it?

Like most drugs, cannabis increases the amount of dopamine released in your body while you’re consuming it. As dopamine is part of your “reward and pleasure” system, it makes you feel good. But it also affects higher cognitive functions, learning, eating habits and other important bodily processes.

And when you stop consuming cannabis, your dopamine level drops - but not to normal levels.

Significantly lower dopamine levels were found in those who use cannabis a lot, which has negative effects on everything I just named. That can lead to memory and concentration problems, just as to more impulsive behavior.

Additionally, a case study with a 38-year-old patient suggested that cannabis can cause psychotic states similar to schizophrenia in vulnerable people.

Do you know how vulnerable you are to cannabinoids? I don’t.

The amount of THC in marijuana has been increasing a lot. In 1972, it was about 1%, 3 - 4% in 1990 and in 2010 it reached almost 13%! Because of this, you can’t compare a joint today with a joint 40 years ago - and it’s almost impossible to predict the effects.

But what conclusion should we draw from this?

The human body is a complex and delicate system, especially when it comes to drugs. There is great potential for medical applications although we have to be careful, as there can be many side effects.

If you’re using marijuana or are planning to use it, you should always be reasonable. You can’t know how your body will react. You might one day accidentally consume a higher dosage than before and be left with psychological issues. You could harm your body in a way that can’t be reversed.

Or nothing might happen, and you’ll just have a good time.

I hope this post wasn’t too dry for you, there was a lot of good information I wanted to share - you can see how much I read by checking my sources.

I’m here for your questions in the comments!


Sources:

Endocannabinoids and the Cardiovascular System in Health and Disease

The role of the endocannabinoid system in pain

The Endocannabinoid System and its Modulation by Phytocannabinoids

Marijuana, phytocannabinoids, the endocannabinoid system, and male fertility

Endocannabinoid system

Marijuana: Effects of Weed on Brain and Body

Cannabis induced dopamine release: an in-vivo SPECT study

Heavy cannabis use associated with reduced dopamine release in brain

A Brain on Cannabinoids: The Role of Dopamine Release in Reward Seeking

The Effects of Dopamine on the Brain


Pictures taken from pixabay.com


Today I started mentoring @melanie00 for a week! We’re working on her science posts, so it’d be great if you’d drop by at her profile during that time (and after it too) 😊


Got a scientific topic which you want to see as a story? Leave me a comment!
You want to support scientists on Steemit? You are a scientist on Steemit? Join the #steemSTEM channel on steemit.chat and connect with us!
STEM is an acronym for Science, Technology, Engineering and Math

SteemStem

Monster GIF was made for me by @saywha and @atopy

Sort:  

Great information!

Yes it's a very interesting artikel

Wow! I am finishing a Master's in addiction counseling and I've got to say that this article is on point and well written! It isn't judgmental at all and simply states the facts all the while keeping things interesting! Simply well done! I have a professional Facebook page for high school addiction counselor's and I will definitely post this article. Everyone (users and non users) should read this! However, I live in Québec, Canada, and most of my readers are french. Would you be open to translating this article? I could help you with that and more people could get this information! Let me know what you think please!

I usually don't like people translating my articles but if you're sharing it on Facebook and linking back to me I'm fine with it! My French is really bad so I can't do it myself.

Awesome! Thank you! I'll work on the translation tonight! I'm perfectly bilingual, so it will be well done!

Magnifique lecture. Je parle Francais, meme si c'est pas ma langue native. Je vais appuyer sur le button "follow" de suite.

I'm looking forward to it! Drop me a link when you posted it, reading French works half-ok :)

@suesa when I finish the translated document, how do I link you back to it? I am still new here and unfamiliar with certain things. Do you simply want me to state you are the original author in my post? I just want to be sure I am respecting your wishes...the entire article will be exactly as yours is except translated in french, I will include your english sources...just confirm if this is fine. Thank you.

A link to this post or my profile would be great :)

Alright perfect!

@suesa here is the translation!! (In case you haven't seen it yet ; ) Thanks again!!

https://steemit.com/fr/@parlonsdrogues/sexe-drogues-et-neurotransmetteurs

And you shared it on Facebook too?

In high school I was repeatedly told to not smoke pot because it was bad for me, I was encouraged to play football because I was good enough to get a scholarship. The amount of brain damage I received playing football from age 15-20 is ridiculous. Luckily I smoked enough back then to help with brain trauma & to help me see the cultural programming & quit that bullsh$t. I’m grateful for weed, also helped me quit chewing tobacco, cigarettes & drinking at a young age. Of all the drugs hi school kids will do, marijuana is the least harmful by far & much healthier than school & state sponsored brain damage that people support every weekend.

Although I am very happy to know you found a way to cope with difficulties and that you are happy. From my experience with students, cannabis use is not for everyone, but I am very aware it has helped many in different ways.

Yes, I wouldn’t recommend everyone use it, but it has been vilified for many years & more people could receive greater benefit from it without all the negative stigma.

Oh yes, I definitely agree!!

I suggest you look at the latest information on addiction coming from the legalized states. The truth is quite contrary to what your education consists of. :(

Everything is beneficial in the right dosage. Most of the times, you don't need more than what you can barely feel for your body to feel healthy. Weed is just like any other substance, a chemical that can give you euphoria in small doses and addiction or worse in large doses. Just like sweets, you don't need much sugar everyday because in large amounts you get fat from it.

Yep, intake of 1000 litres of pure water per second will kill you, alright.

Although sometimes, the right dosage is "none" :P But yes, moderation is key in most cases.

Couldn't agree more! The toxicity of a compound is always described qualitatively by the nature of its effect, and quantitatively by the dose at which the toxic effect appears.

I think even less does the trick xD

Really good explained. I would add the difference between THC and CBD and take a closer look at CBD in medical terms. Also interesting would be hear about differences between natural cannabinoids and synthetic ones. Nice post!

Very interesting article. While I’ve never physically taken cannabis in any form, I’ve been to enough rock concerts to know how it interacts with my body. MIGRAINE the next day EVERY TIME. It’s awful, so I just stay away from it. Also, a close friend of mine is bipolar and it send him into crippling depression for almost a week after. It has also sent him into a psychotic episode twice. While I am all for legalization, you should definitely use it responsibly and learn how your body interacts with it and LISTEN TO YOUR BODY!

Merci pour ces informations. J’ al resteemé ce message 👌🏼

I appreciate the sensibility of your article! Its very easy to jump on one side or the other of a topic and forget that there is much more to it. I was happy to learn from you about the potential connection between fertility and cannabis usage. Diving a bit deeper into that myself!

Cheers!

Huh, I learned something new. Didn't know these neurons go in reverse, which sort of explains how we manage pain in itself, come to think of it. Would it then, based on this information, be one of the variables that make some people more resilient to pain and, likewise, resilient to anaesthesia? I figure there are many other factors to take into account, of course.

Pain is the result of nerve stimulation. What mostly affects stimulation is the built-in chemical immunity some people are born with, as well as a lesser number of neurons. Those who feel less pain are most liking feeling less of everything else.

Might be? I'm not that informed about neurobiology, my studies focus mainly on genetics. That's why it took me a while to research info for the post ^^

Ah, I see. I'm still stalking... I mean looking through your posts. It's all so fascinating!

I hope you enjoy reading them ^.^ And if you feel like upvoting something, please check the post's age first. It wouldn't be the first time that someone upvotes something older than 7 days. While it's really nice, it's just a waste of voting power.

Yeah, I learned that the hard way in my first week. So far, I'm really enjoying everything, especially your at-work posts and your fiction.

This is one of those posts that leave you with more questions. Weed is still very illegal in Africa regardless of it still being grown. I have always been curious about it's advantages especially medicinal use. But Africa being the continent it is, I bet none of that will come to pass.

Thank you for laying out it's downside though. It is always an advantage to understand the disadvantages of anything :)

what are your questions?

Just overly curious if it's benefits are risk free. If one can be affected by it if they are living with a daily smoker. If so, how?

in small doses anything can be beneficial

Medical marijuana has been legalised here in South Africa, though the law will take about another year to fully come into effect, and it will be heavily regulated, which is a good thing I believe. Hopefully more African countries will allow it in the future, especially for those who suffer from chronic and terminal conditions and with whom the benefits outweigh the disadvantages.

Good news. I didn't know that. This can be a way out for so many africans but embracing it is a different struggle all together. It's best if its heavily regulated.

One of the most well researched, articulate and balanced posts on a fascinating topic I've seen in a long while. Read it with intense interest. How captivating the more you learn about the body and how it can be influenced for better or worse. Thanks kindly for such an engaging writeup @suesa!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63134.74
ETH 3052.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81