Leaf of Ficus Carica T.S under the Microscope 🔬

in #science6 years ago (edited)

ficus carica.JPG
right image credit: Wikimedia Commons, by Amédée Masclef, public domain

Before we check out the transverse section of the leaf of Ficus Carica under the microscope, let us learn what is a Ficus Carica first. Looking at the above right image, the leaf is big and slightly odd shaped. The fruit looks like figs…well it should because Ficus Carica is the scientific name for common fig.

Our neighbour use to have a fig tree growing right next to the fence between us. With their permission my brother would pick some at times to eat. Before I became allergic to fruits, I did have a taste of fig once and I didn’t like it. It has this odd creamy rough taste and feeling. That is one fruit I don’t mind not eating anymore.

~~~~🔬~~~~🔬~~~~🔬~~~~

SmartSelectGIF_2018-05-09-21-01-58.gif

Remember our last post on how we learnt about plant trichomes? Check out the trichomes on the leaf of Ficus Carica sample we have here! Amazing! If we didn’t explore the last post on Branched Stellate Hair of Leaf Epidermis (w.m) under the Microscope, we would have missed this structure completely. Well I wouldn’t say completely because look at huge they look.

SmartSelectGIF_2018-05-09-21-03-47.gif

~~~~🔬~~~~🔬~~~~🔬~~~~

I like how ‘ScienceDirect’ described the leaf as ‘heavily armed with trichomes’ hehehe

Heavily “armed” with trichomes, the hypostomatic leaf of Ficus carica L. is investigated with light and scanning electron microscopy. Source

Hypostomatic leaf? This is interesting, the word ‘Hypo’ usually refers to something lower. Hummm stomatic, are they referring to stomata? Eeek it is too! Hypostomatic leaf means a leaf that has stomata on the underside of the leaf only. Wow, amazing at the little things you learn if you just search it up. Stomata is something I have yet to cover, I also have an awesome drawing of one which I drew in class. Wait, I think I may have taken a photo of it back then too. Ok stay tune for a post on stomata and other plant tissue explanations. Hopefully soon.

~~~~🔬~~~~🔬~~~~🔬~~~~

Unless cited, all other images & gifs belong to @supersoju

References:
Ficus carica L.
Leaf structure and histochemistry of Ficus carica (Moraceae), the fig tree
Hypostomatic

Sort:  

You’re going green! With all this plant life lately, I’d have mistaken you for a botanist. ;)

Also, not sure how you can become suddenly allergic to fruits. I adore figs! Especially, freshly plucked from a tree.

hahaha I thought I would look at some green things to get away from insects for a bit lol

This is really amazing! I did a post tonight on seaweed, and learned that its made up of single cells of colonial algae that come together to look like a big plant. I though this might be interesting to put under the microscope. Just an idea anyways😊

lol I read that in your post, I was thinking, oooo I wouldn't mind checking that out under the microscope

That's so cool. I used to have a series of postcards I bought at the NGV which were these really pretty patterns that were like this - macro shots of blood cells and the like. So cool.

That would be really cool. But you said you use to have, what happened to them?

Life and blu tac and moving house!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99