Tilia Stem under the Microscope 🔬

in #science6 years ago (edited)

Tilia.JPG

Checking out the Tilia stem under the microscope, it reminds me of the woody dicot stem we had checked out some time ago. The beautiful Mandela like colours and patterns just looks magnificent under the microscope. Although with this particular microscopic view, doesn’t the middle section look like a brain? Or even a maze?

~~~~🌿~~~~🌿~~~~🌿~~~~

So what is Tilia?

Tilia is a genus of about 30 species of trees, or bushes, native throughout most of the temperate Northern Hemisphere. In the British Isles they are commonly called lime trees, or lime bushes, although they are not closely related to the tree that produces the lime fruit. Source

How funny is that, trees being called lime trees but do not produce lime and are even not closely related. Actually, it is not funny, just confusing.

~~~~🌿~~~~🌿~~~~🌿~~~~


Image Credit: Wikimedia Commons, by user:Salvor, public domain

One common thing with all Tilia species are their heart shaped leaves which are really pretty. They are a little large looking too which is a given considering they are medium sized trees. The Tilia tree does not only just provide shade; it has fragrant flowers which are used to make tea. Due to such fragrant flowers, they are important to beekeepers to help make beautiful tasting honey.


~~~~🌿~~~~🌿~~~~🌿~~~~

The linden is recommended as an ornamental tree when a mass of foliage or a deep shade is desired. The tree produces fragrant and nectar-producing flowers, the medicinal herb lime blossom. They are very important honey plants for beekeepers, producing a very pale but richly flavoured monofloral honey. The flowers are also used for herbal teas and tinctures; this kind of use is particularly popular in Europe and also used in North American herbal medicine practices. Source

Considering how fragrant Tilia flowers can get, I now know not to take shelter under one if I don’t want to end up sneezing and puffy eyes.

~~~~🌿~~~~🌿~~~~🌿~~~~

Unless cited, all other images & gifs belong to @supersoju
References:
Tilia
Tilia cordata

Sort:  

Wow that's very informative. First time I'm hearing of this type of tree. It seems I've noticed a tree like this but can't quite remember.

Very interesting! On first glimpse looked like section through an amethyst or other gem in its natural shape.
This tree is very popular in (old) Polish natural medicine, we still drink tilia flower tea when we get a cold and the leaves are edible (you can make a salad). The honey is great too:)

😵 The leaves are edible?? It is not bitter?
This tree has everything.

I'm not sure how they taste but I'm pretty sure the generation of my grandparents used to eat them. :) i think lots of greens that we don't think about are edible - a lot of people I meet are surprised that I eat strawberries with the green part :)

🙀🙀 You eat the green part of strawberries!!!??? You're the first person I know who eats that part.

It doesn't taste bad and has lots of vitamins, I kinda like it. I think that if we eat all kinds of lettuce and other leaves I think we can eat those too :) I remember i read about it somewhere online and started eating it like that a couple of years ago. Interestingly I used to be allergic to strawberries but I'm not any more, maybe it alleviates the allergy? Who knows :)

😲 woah lucky you. I wish that would happen to me, eat more and say bye bye to allergies. That would be the best thing ever! My sister was only slightly allergic to fruits, but she kept eating them and now she is fine. But if I keep eating them, it gets worse each time and I start to become allergic to a new vegetable/fruit and even products 😭

Wow, the colours and patterns are amazing.

These look great, immediately i thought organic tree.
That would look good on a black shirt screen printed with the name of the tree.
I will take one please

😂😂😂 Sure thing, I'll let Soju know you've placed an order. She will organise it for you.

Ok, I just caught up on your postings but can’t comment on all. Another lovely microscopic experience, but to be honest, I was smiling that a science post of yours actually included the words ‘fragrant’, ‘beautiful’ and ‘honey’. Hehe

I’m shocked...I finished this post without thinking ‘omg....that odd woman!’ and just thinking about going outside to enjoy some nature. But too busy: work, work, work!

lol. Maybe it is time to post one up on an insect then. kekeke
Maybe you ought to take work outdoors at times and get some vitamin D

‘kekeke’ Is that like some evil version of hehehe I’ve never heard of?!

Only you!

LOL it is the lesser evil.

hehehehe = giggle
kekekeke = cheeky giggle
hahahaha = laugh
Bahahaha = louder laugh
Wakakaka = even louder laugh
Muahahaha = evil laugh

Omg... I’m simply too old for this ...

Wakakaka?

LOL I was just messing with you.
The Bahahaha and Wakakaka are something a couple of other people have used on me and that was how I interpreted them. I don't believe it is a common thing, just their way of laughing louder.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-07T08:02:12
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 234.70/200.00
Total Photos: 41
Total comments: 10
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34