The Underrated #1; Today's Pick List

in #science6 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone,

It is a lovely morning, here in Malaysia. Today, I'm going to list out some of the articles which I think have the potential to become a great STEM-related article. The Underrated is an effort made by @chloroform in order to promote @steemstem community on the Steemit platform. If you would like to know more about the @steemstem project, you can click here to find out. @steemstem promotes a well-written content related to science, technology, engineering and mathematics on Steemit. @theunderrated was created to recruit the other STEM authors (who I assume didn't aware regarding the existence of @steemstem project) to join the @steemstem community.

There are no specific criteria for the articles I have chosen. I simply list out any articles which seem interesting, didn't use the #steemstem tag (I assume the one who did, knew about @steemstem project) and have the potential to succeed in the steemSTEM community. Please note that @theunderrated is not in any way connected to the @steemstem account. Whatever listed out here is just my personal pick and any suggestions made, were by me and me only.


@astronomyizfun: The 9 Biggest Misconceptions About Space




Picture Source - Pixabay (CC0)

Well, I'm not educated enough to judge whether the facts presented in the article made by this author is true or not, but it is quite an interesting read. I have of course a few suggestions that I can give to make this article good in my opinion:

  • Cite the images' sources.
  • Cite some references related to the content of the article or put up some link which redirects to any interesting source related to the topic for further reading.
  • Fix some of the syntax errors (The mini title which is the author wrote in a bullet point).
  • Ensure all of the images used doesn't violate the law of using copyrighted material.
  • Use the tag #steemstem

Are you interested to read some of the misconceptions about the space? Click here to find out.


@frankcalvo: How Children Affect Violence in School Performance



Picture Source - Eglin Air Force Base (CC0)

Well, in my opinion, the title was miswritten. It should be "How violence affects children in regards to their school performance" but I could be wrong. English is not my primary language. I really hate violence. When I was a child, my mother was abused by my father on a daily basis, so this article, kinda caught my attention to it. There is no denying that family abuse does affect children in terms of their psychological development. Anxiety and low self-esteem are some of the consequences of a pathological family relationship that could be imposed on children. Some of the suggestions that I could make is:

  • If I was right and the title is wrong, maybe you would want to change that
  • I think all of your images were copyrighted by the original websites. Use a non-copyrighted picture to avoid any unnecessary future complications. Please refer here if you're not familiar with what I was talking about.
  • Cite some references or any website which can be a good further reading material for readers.
  • Use the tag #steemstem

Are you interested to read the effect of family violence to a child's school performance? Click here to find out.


@blinks: The Reason Why Keyboard Layout on Computers and Smartphones are in QWERTY Instead of in Alphabetical Order



Picture Source - Pixabay

Have you ever wonder why letters on the keyboard that we owned are not in alphabetical order? Well, @blinks explained some of the historical events which lead to the decision of making the arrangement of letters in QWERTY order instead of alphabetical order on a keyboard. Believe it or not, the first typewriter ever invented resembles the piano which I have no idea, how difficult for people to use such keyboard. Some suggestions for the article are:

  • If possible, don't use all-caps letters as the title. It seems like you are shouting at me.
  • You need to know how to align an image either to the right or to the left, to accommodate a small-sized image into your article.
  • I know it is difficult to search for an image which is marked "reusable" in the Google search, but try your best to use non-copyrighted images. Please refer here if you're not familiar with what I was talking about.
  • There are some typos in your article. It would be best for you to read it through before clicking the "post" button.
  • Use the tag #steemstem

Overall it is a good article. Are you interested to read regarding the reasons a keyboard was designed with a QWERTY instead of alphabetical letter's order? Click here to find out.


That's all I can find today. I would try to keep my list to a minimum of 3 as I have to fulfil my obligation to the steemstem community as well (as a mentor). All of the article I've listed above are interesting (for me) to read through and might have the potential to succeed in the steemSTEM community. Please take note that, no one is guaranteed an upvote in the steemstem community, not the management, not the honoured member and not the rest of the community. Your best bet is to write a good quality article consistently. If you would like some tips regarding how to structure your article according to the steemSTEM criteria, you can click here to find out more.

Thank you for your attention and I hope all of you will succeed in your future endeavour. For those who are interested in writing a STEM-related article, use the tag #steemstem.

DQmdEhYBwAGZDsmgdeDywfrba4DRJvaPFToR4HvSKjY8rim.gif

SteemSTEM is a community project with the goal to promote and support Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics on the Steem blockchain. If you wish to support the steemSTEM project you can:

Contribute STEM content using the #steemstem tag | Support steemstem authors | Join our curation trail | Visit our Discord community | Delegate SP to steemstem

Convenient Delegation Links:

50 SP | 100SP | 500SP | 1,000SP | 5,000SP | 10,000SP | 50,000SP

Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29